DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Ishiguro (JP-2021081048).
Regarding claim 1, teaches a front fork (Paragraphs 10 and 16) comprising:
an upper tube 4 (Paragraph 10);
a lower tube 1 that is relatively movable in an axial direction with respect to the upper tube 4 (Paragraphs 10-11); and
an axle bracket 2 screwed to an outer periphery of a lower end portion 1a of the lower tube 1 (Paragraphs 15-16, Fig. 2),
wherein the lower tube 1 has a screw thread 1b formed on an outer periphery of a diameter-reduced portion at the lower end portion 1a of the lower tube 1, and the axle bracket 2 is screwed to the screw thread 1b (Paragraphs 11, 15, and 29; see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Applicant's claim of a “diameter-reduced portion that is reduced in diameter by plastic deformation by rolling” is a product-by-process claim. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, and not dependent upon the method of production. See MPEP 2113. The product of Applicant’s product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant of the process in Ishiguro.
Regarding claim 2, Ishiguro teaches wherein an outer diameter of the screw thread 1b in the lower tube 1 is equal to or smaller than an outer diameter of a portion above the diameter-reduced portion in the lower tube 1 (See annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 3, Ishiguro teaches wherein the axle bracket 2 has a cylindrical portion 21 into which the lower end portion 1a of the lower tube 1 is inserted (Paragraph 29, Fig. 2), and the cylindrical portion 21 covers from a lower end of the lower tube 1 to a position exceeding the diameter-reduced portion (Paragraph 17, Fig. 2; the portion 21c of the cylindrical portion 21 exceeds the diameter-reduced portion.
Regarding claim 5, Ishiguro teaches the front fork further comprising:
a seal case S sandwiched between a lower end 1a of the lower tube 1 and the axle bracket 2 fitted to an inner periphery of the diameter-reduced portion, and fixed to the axle bracket 2 (Paragraphs 19-20, Figs. 1-3); and
a seal ring 6 provided on an outer periphery of the seal case S and brought into close contact with the inner periphery of the diameter-reduced portion of the lower tube 1 (Paragraphs 20-23, Figs. 2-3; seal portion 6 is hollow and lines the inner wall of cylindrical member 21, giving it a ring-shape; annular sealing lips 6a and 6b are part of the seal ring and come into close contact with the diameter-reduced portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiguro in view of Kagami (JP 2011085212).
Regarding claim 4, Ishiguro does not teach the radial thickness of the diameter-reduced portion being thicker than a radial thickness of a portion above.
However, Kagami teaches a damping bicycle front fork consisting of a lower tube and 2 an upper tube 1 (Abstract, Paragraph 21, Fig. 5 of Kagami), wherein a radial thickness from an inner periphery of a diameter-reduced portion (of the lower tube) to an outer periphery of a screw thread is thicker than a radial thickness of a portion (of the lower tube) above the diameter-reduced portion of the lower tube (Paragraph 32, See annotated Fig. 5 of Kagami below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the diameter-reduced portion of Ishiguro to be thicker than a portion above as Kagami teaches in order to advantageously provide extra structural reinforcement to the reduced-diameter portion.
Additionally, and in the alternative, see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)
Regarding claim 6, Ishiguro teaches a front fork (Paragraphs 10 and 16) comprising:
an upper tube 4 (Paragraph 10);
a lower tube 1 that is relatively movable in an axial direction with respect to the upper tube 4 (Paragraphs 10-11); and
an axle bracket 2 screwed to an outer periphery of a lower end portion 1a of the lower tube 1 (Paragraphs 15-16, Fig. 2),
wherein the lower tube 1 has a diameter-reduced portion of which an inner diameter is reduced from an upper side at a lower end portion 1a (See annotated Fig. 2 below), and
a screw thread 1b provided on an outer periphery of the diameter-reduced portion and to which the axle bracket 2 is screwed (Paragraphs 11, 15, and 29; see annotated Fig. 2 below), and
Ishiguro does not teach a radial thickness from an inner periphery of the diameter-reduced portion to an outer periphery of the screw thread is thicker than a radial thickness of a portion above the diameter-reduced portion of the lower tube.
However, Kagami teaches a damping bicycle front fork consisting of a lower tube and 2 an upper tube 1 (Abstract, Paragraph 21, Fig. 5 of Kagami), wherein a radial thickness from an inner periphery of a diameter-reduced portion (of the lower tube) to an outer periphery of a screw thread is thicker than a radial thickness of a portion (of the lower tube) above the diameter-reduced portion of the lower tube (Paragraph 32, See annotated Fig. 5 of Kagami below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the diameter-reduced portion of Ishiguro to be thicker than a portion above as Kagami teaches in order to advantageously provide extra structural reinforcement to the reduced-diameter portion.
Additionally, and in the alternative, see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiguro in view of Noguchi (JP 2016200256) and Levey (CN-1508450).
Regarding claim 7, Ishiguro teaches a method for manufacturing a front fork (Paragraphs 10 and 16) including:
an upper tube 4 (Paragraph 10);
a lower tube 1 that is relatively movable in an axial direction with respect to the upper tube 4 (Paragraphs 10-11); and
an axle bracket 2 screwed to an outer periphery of a lower end portion 1a of the lower tube 1 (Paragraphs 15-16, Fig. 2),
the method comprising:
a diameter reduction step of reducing a diameter of the lower end portion 1a of the lower tube 1 (See annotated Fig. 2 below; the lower end portion of the lower tube has a reduced diameter from an upper portion of the tube); and
a screw forming step of forming a screw thread 1b on an outer periphery of the diameter-reduced portion (Paragraphs 11, 15, and 29).
Ishiguro does not teach the method for manufacturing a front fork comprising “reducing a diameter of the lower end portion of the lower tube by plastic deformation to form a diameter-reduced portion”.
However, Noguchi teaches a method for manufacturing a reduced diameter portion 3c of a cylinder 3 comprising forming the reduced diameter portion 3c by plastic deformation of a part of the cylinder 3 (Paragraph 34 of Noguchi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of manufacture of Noguchi for the undisclosed method of forming the small diameter portion of Ishiguro and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and advantageously reduced the number of parts and the number of assembly steps (Paragraph 48 of Noguchi).
Ishiguro does not teach the method for manufacturing a front fork comprising “forming a screw thread on an outer periphery of the diameter-reduced portion by rolling”.
However, Levey teaches a method for forming a threaded fastener by rolling (Paragraph 7 of Levey).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of manufacture of Levey for the undisclosed method of forming the screw thread of Ishiguro and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and advantageously allowed the axle bracket to mount to the lower tube.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20180087594 teaches a tubular damping bicycle front fork.
WO 2025158869 teaches a bicycle front fork with a tubular member that has a thicker small-diameter portion and a thinner large-diameter portion.
/N.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617