DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 8-203769. The Office notes that JP ‘769 was submitted as part of an IDS filed 01 July 2024. All citations herein are taken from the translation submitted with the IDS.
With respect to claim 1, JP ‘769 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (see paragraph [0001]) comprising: a multilayer body including a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of internal electrode layers alternately laminated (see FIG. 1, elements 22 and 23-27and paragraph [0018]); and external electrodes each on a corresponding one of end surfaces opposed to each other in a length direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to a lamination direction of the multilayer body, the external electrodes each being connected to the plurality of internal electrode layers (see FIG. 1, elements 28/29 and paragraph [0020]); wherein each of the external electrodes includes a stack including: a base electrode layer on a corresponding one of the two end surfaces (see FIG. 1, element 28a/29a, and paragraph [0021])); a Ni plated layer on the base electrode layer (see FIG. 1, element 28c/29c, and paragraph [0023]); and a Sn plated layer on the Ni plated layer (see FIG. 1, element 28d/29d, and paragraph [0023]); and each of the external electrodes includes a region in which Sn is deposited between the base electrode layer and the Ni plated layer (see FIG. 1, element 28b/29b, and paragraph [0022], noting that element 28b/29b are formed of Sn or an Sn alloy).
With respect to claim 5, JP ‘769 discloses that each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3 as a main component. See paragraph [0018].
With respect to claim 7, JP ‘769 discloses that each of the plurality of internal electrode layers includes Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, an Ag-Pd alloy, or Au. See paragraphs [0004] and [0018].
With respect to claim 10, JP ‘769 discloses that the base electrode layers includes an electrically conductive metal and at least one of glass or ceramic. See paragraph [0012].
With respect to claim 11, JP ‘769 disclose that the base electrode layer includes the electrically conductive metal and the glass. See paragraph [0012].
With respect to claim 12, JP ‘769 discloses that the electrically conductive metal includes at least one of Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, an Ag-Pd alloy, or Au. See paragraph [0012].
With respect to claim 14, JP ‘769 discloses that the region in which the Sn is deposited protrudes from a surface of the base electrode layer at a height of about 0.1 µm to about 3.0 µm. See paragraph [0022], noting a thickness of 0.5 to 1.0 µm for layer 28b/29b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 8-203769 in view of Dozen et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2021/0193386).
With respect to claim 2, JP ‘769 fails to explicitly teach that a molar ratio of Sn to Ni (Sn/Ni) in the region in which the Sn is deposited measured by energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) is about 0.2 or more and about 0.4 or less.
Dozen, on the other hand, discloses a Sn/Ni alloy layer disposed between a base electrode and a Ni plating layer, wherein a molar ratio of Sn to Ni (Sn/Ni) in the region in which the Sn is deposited measured by energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) is about 0.2 or more and about 0.4 or less. See paragraph [0019]. Such an arrangement result in increased adhesion between the base electrode and the nickel plating layer. See paragraph [0006].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify JP ‘769, as taught by Dozen, in order to increase the adhesion between the base electrode and the nickel plating layer.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 8-203769 in view of Harada (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2019/0355518).
With respect to claim 3, JP ‘769 fails to explicitly teach that the multilayer body includes an inner layer portion, outer layer portions sandwiching the inner layer portion in the lamination direction, and side gap portions sandwiching the inner layer portion in a width direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the lamination direction and the length direction.
Harada, on the other hand, teaches an inner layer portion, outer layer portions sandwiching the inner layer portion in the lamination direction, and side gap portions sandwiching the inner layer portion in a width direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the lamination direction and the length direction. See FIG. 4, inner layer portion C, outer layer portions MM1/MM2, and side margin portions SM1/SM2. Such an arrangement results is known in the art for forming a ceramic capacitor body having increased protection for the inner layer portion. See FIG. 4 and paragraphs [0005] and [0050].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify JP ‘769, as taught by Harada, in order to increase the adhesion between the base electrode and the nickel plating layer.
With respect to claim 4, the combined teachings of JP ‘769 and Harada teach that the inner layer portion includes a plurality of sets of the plurality of dielectric layers and the plurality of internal electrode layers. See Harada, FIG. 4 and paragraph [0051].
With respect to claim 6, JP ‘769 fails to explicitly teach that each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes at least one of Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, and a Ni compound as a subcomponent.
Harada, on the other hand, teaches that each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes at least one of Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, and a Ni compound as a subcomponent. See paragraph [0061]. Such an arrangement results is known in the art for altering the dielectric to produce desired characteristics. See paragraph [0061].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify JP ‘769, as taught by Harada, in order to alter the dielectric to produce the desired characteristics.
With respect to claim 8, the combined teachings of JP ‘769 and Harada teach that the outer layer portions includes a same material as that of the plurality of dielectric layers of the inner layer portion. See Harada, FIG. 3, element 11, and paragraphs [0050], [0061], and FIG. 9, steps S2/S4/S5/S6, which indicates that each of the inner layer portion C, outer layer portions MM1/MM2, and side margin portions SM1/SM2 are formed at the same time, using the same ceramic material.
With respect to claim 9, the combined teachings of JP ‘769 and Harada teach that the side gap portions includes a same material as that of the plurality of dielectric layers of the inner layer portion. See Harada, FIG. 3, element 11, and paragraphs [0050], [0061], and FIG. 9, steps S2/S4/S5/S6, which indicates that each of the inner layer portion C, outer layer portions MM1/MM2, and side margin portions SM1/SM2 are formed at the same time, using the same ceramic material.
With respect to claim 13, JP ‘769 fails to teach that the glass includes at least one of B, Si, Ba, Mg, Al, or Li.
Harada, on the other hand, teaches that the glass includes at least one of B, Si, Ba, Mg, Al, or Li. See paragraph [0064], citing at least Si. Such a modification results in improved bonding properties between a sintering aid in the first base electrode and the dielectric. See paragraph [0064].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify JP ‘769, as taught by Harada, in order to improved bonding properties between a sintering aid in the first base electrode and the dielectric.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kanzaki et al. (US 2023/0223198) discloses that the base electrode includes both Ni and Sn as metal components, but fails to specify that the Sn is located in a region between the base electrode and a Ni plated layer. Doi (US 2023/0207214) discloses that a metal group at an interface between the first and second external electrode layers may include Sn.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848