DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwob (DE 27 23 728).
Regarding claim 1, Schwob teaches an outer net blade member 2 that forms an outer net blade provided on an electric razor, the outer net blade member comprising:
a cuttable region configured to cut hair in a state where the outer net blade is provided on the electric razor,
wherein
in the cuttable region, a plurality of blade holes (4, 4a, 4b) that are each in a substantially hexagonal shape defined by bars 5 are formed in a state of forming rows in a first direction (D, D1, D2) and in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction,
the first direction is a direction in which an inner net blade moves relative to the outer net blade when the outer net blade is provided on the electric razor,
the second direction is a direction of shaving when the outer net blade is provided on the electric razor,
the plurality of the blade holes are formed in such a manner that two of the plurality of the blade holes adjacent in the second direction form a row in the second direction in a state where the two of the plurality of the blade holes are shifted from each other in position in the first direction, and
at any position between one end and other end in the first direction in the cuttable region, at least one of the plurality of the blade holes exists within a distance of five rows of the plurality of the blade holes in the second direction;
the bars comprise:
first bars extending substantially parallel to the first direction;
a second bar connected to corresponding one of the first bars; and
a third bar connected to the second bar, each of the plurality of the blade holes includes an end in the first direction, the end being provided with a corner that holds hair introduced into the blade hole in a state where movement of the hair is suppressed,
the corner is formed at a connection part between the second bar and the third bar, and
each of the plurality of blade holes includes the corner on a side close to one end in the first direction and the corner on a side close to the other end in the first direction, the corners being formed at respective positions shifted from each other in the second direction.
See Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 2, the density of the holes 5 is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 3, the holes having identical shape are best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, the orientation of the holes is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 5, an equal gap between two adjacent holes in the first direction is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 6, the holes arranging in overlap in the second direction are best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 8, a blade bar defining a first blade hole and a second blade hole spaced apart in the second direction is best seen in Fig. 4. Two adjacent blade holes spaced apart in the first direction (D1) are best seen in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 10, a second bar and a third bar forming an angle at 3 o’clock position are best seen in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 12, Schwob teach the outer net of claim 1 as explained in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Schwob teaches an electric razor comprising the outer net blade of claim 1 as explained in the claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwob (DE 27 23 728) in view of Shiba et al. (2013/0125401), hereinafter Shiba.
Regarding claim 14, Swob teaches an outer net blade member 2 that forms an outer net blade provided on an electric razor substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts, the outer net blade member comprising:
a cuttable region configured to cut hair in a state where the outer net blade is provided on the electric razor,
wherein in the cuttable region, a plurality of blade holes (4, 4a, 4b) that are each in a substantially hexagonal shape defined by bars 5 are formed in a state of forming rows in a first direction (D, D1, D2) and in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction,
the first direction is a direction in which an inner net blade moves relative to the outer net blade when the outer net blade is provided on the electric razor,
the second direction is a direction of shaving when the outer net blade is provided on the electric razor,
the plurality of the blade holes are formed in such a manner that two of the plurality of the blade holes adjacent in the second direction form a row in the second direction in a state where the two of the plurality of the blade holes are shifted from each other in position in the first direction,
at any position between one end and other end in the first direction in the cuttable region, at least one of the plurality of the blade holes exists within a distance of five rows of the plurality of the blade holes in the second direction,
the bars comprise a pair of first bars, a pair of second bars, and a pair of third bars,
each of the plurality of the blade holes is in a hexagonal shape defined by inner sides of the pair of first bars extending substantially parallel to the first direction, the pair of second bars connected to the pair of first bars, and the pair of third bars connected to the pair of second bars,
each of lengths of the pair of first bars is longer than each of lengths of the pair of second bars and each of lengths of the pair of third bars,
each of the lengths of the pair of second bars is longer than each of the lengths of the pair of third bars,
each of inclination angles of the pair of second bars with respect to the second direction is larger than each of inclination angles of the pair of third bars with respect to the second direction, and
an angle of each of corners formed at connection parts between one of the pair of second bars and one of the pair of third bars is in a range from 135 degrees to 160 degrees inclusive.
See Figs. 1-6.
The limitations in the bolded texts describe a stretched hexagon.
Shiba teaches an outer net blade member 70 that forms an outer net blade provided on an electric razor having a plurality of stretched hexagonal holes 73. See Fig. 6 and 7A-B.
The outer net blade members having regular hexagonal holes and stretched hexagonal holes in Swob and Shiba are art equivalents known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the outer net blade member having the stretched hexagonal holes in Swob since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP. 2144.06.
As to the angle of the corners of the stretched hexagonal holes between 135-160 degrees, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the angle of the corners of the stretched hexagonal holes between 135-160 degrees for smooth cutting hairs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, the density of the holes 5 is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 16, the holes having identical shape are best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 17, the orientation of the holes is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 18, an equal gap between two adjacent holes in the first direction is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 19, the holes arranging in overlap in the second direction are best seen in Fig. 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is allowable for setting forth the thickness of the first bar being smaller than the thickness of the second bar and the third bar for the purpose of raising hairs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 1, the embodiment in Fig. 6 teaches two opposite corners being shifted vertically.
Regarding Applicant argument with respect to claim 14, Shiba reference is introduced to teach the stretched hexagonal holes which results in the angle of the corner ranging 135-160 degrees.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724