Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 3 in the reply filed on 09/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 – 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/17/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 07/01/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180233564 A1 hereinafter Kumada in further view of US 20160218176 A1 hereinafter Hiyoshi.
For claim 1, Kumada teaches a silicon carbide semiconductor device, comprising: a silicon carbide semiconductor substrate of a first conductivity type, the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite each other (Kumada, fig. 9 numeral 1)/ a first semiconductor layer of the first conductivity type, provided at the first main surface of the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate (fig. 9 numeral 2), the first semiconductor layer having a doping concentration lower than a doping concentration of the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate (fig. 9 shows the first semiconductor layer with doping concentration “n”, while the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate has a greater concentration “n+”), the first semiconductor substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, the second surface facing the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate (fig. 9 numeral 2); a second semiconductor layer of the second conductivity type, provided at the first surface of the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer having a first surface and a second surface opposite each other, the second surface facing the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate (fig. 9 numeral 3); a first semiconductor region of the first conductivity type, selectively provided in the second semiconductor layer, at the first surface of the second semiconductor layer (fig. 9 numeral 4); a trench penetrating through the second semiconductor layer and the first semiconductor region and reaching the first semiconductor layer (fig. 9 numeral 18); a first base region of the second conductivity type, provided at the first surface of the first semiconductor layer (fig. 9 numeral 3a); a second base region of the second conductivity type, provided in the first semiconductor layer, at a position facing a bottom of the trench in a depth direction of the device (fig. 9 numeral 3b); a gate insulating film provided in the trench (fig. 9 numeral 6); a gate electrode provided on the gate insulating film in the trench (fig. 9 numeral 7); an interlayer insulating film provided on the gate electrode (Par. [0046]; fig. 9 shows an insulating layer on the gate electrode 7); a first electrode in contact with the first semiconductor region and the second semiconductor layer (fig. 9 numeral 8); a second electrode provided at the second main surface of the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate (fig. 9 numeral 9); and a co-doped region provided in the first semiconductor layer, including a region between the first base region and the second base region and a layer that is closer to the silicon carbide semiconductor substrate than are the first base region and the second base region (fig. 9 numeral 10). The co-doped region includes the doped base regions and the first semiconductor layer (fig. 9). The first semiconductor layer is doped with nitrogen (Par. [0040]) and second conductivity type doped regions (fig. 9 numeral 3b and 3a) are doped with aluminum (Par. [0042]). As the regions that comprise the co-doped region are doped with nitrogen and aluminum, the co-doped region is doped with aluminum and nitrogen. Kumada is silent regarding the carrier lifetime is not more than 0.01 µs.
Hiyoshi teaches a silicon carbide semiconductor device (Hiyoshi, fig. 1) with a silicon carbide semiconductor substrate (fig. 1 numeral 10), a first semiconductor layer (fig. 1 numeral 12) and a first base region and second based region (fig. 1 numeral 13) that form a co-doped region that is doped with nitrogen and aluminum (Par. [0048 - 0049]). The carrier lifetime in the co-doped region is less than 0.01 µs (Par. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the co-doped region lifetime in Hiyoshi with the co-doped region in Kumada in order to suppress faults in the device (Hiyoshi, Par. [0065]) and control the resistance in the device (Hiyoshi, Par. [0066]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180233564 A1 hereinafter Kumada in view of US 20160218176 A1 hereinafter Hiyoshi and in further view of KR 20140115961 A hereinafter Shimizu.
For claim 2, Kumada and Hiyoshi teach all of claim 1. Kumada also teaches the doping concentration of aluminum in the co-doped region is at least 1 x 10 15/cm3 (Par. [0054]). Kumada and Hiyoshi does not explicitly state that the aluminum concentration is not more than a doping concentration of the nitrogen of the first semiconductor layer of a region doped with aluminum.
Shimizu teaches a co-doped region with an aluminum doping greater than at least 1 x 10 15/cm3 (Shimizu, Par. [0081]) but is not greater than the a doping concentration of the nitrogen (Par. [0081] teaches the ratio of concentration (Al/N) being 0.995).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the aluminum and concentration doping ratio in Shimizu with the co-doped regions in Kumada and Hiyoshi in order to control the resistance in the device (Shimizu, Par. [0081]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 3, Kumada, Hiyoshi, and Shimizu are silent regarding the doping concentration of the nitrogen of the co-doped region of the first semiconductor layer is higher than a doping concentration of a portion of the first semiconductor layer excluding the co-doped region, by an amount equivalent to a doping concentration of the aluminum. Kumada, Hiyoshi, and Shimizu do not appear to teach changing the concentration of the nitrogen doping in the different regions of the first semiconductor layer compared to the co-doped region and in relation to the amount of doping concentration of the aluminum.
Conclusion
/J.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815