DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's species election on e) “ variants of Dyn B according to SEQ ID No. 8 having an amnio acid sequence identity of at least 60% within the first 8AA counted from the N-terminus of SEQ ID No.8, on reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 24 and 36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2024 and 03/30/2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/19/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Priority
The instant application claims benefit to PCT/EP2017/064692 filed on 06/15/2017and is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of paper required by CFR 1.55. The instant claims herein are examined utilizing the accepted effective filing date of 06/15/2017 for the basis of any prior art rejections.
Claim Status
Claims 21-38 are pending.
Claims 24 and 36 are withdrawn.
Claims 21-23, 25-35, 37 and 38 are under examination.
Claim objections
Claim 1 recites “Dyn B” and “first 8 AA” in the elected embodiment (e). Please recite the full definition of the abbreviations at the first recitation. Appropriate recitation is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a)
Claims 21-23, and 25-35, 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997).
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include a disclosure of a representative number of species to describe the complete structure of the claimed genus and/or disclosure of a complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, and any combination thereof.
Scope of the invention
Instant application is drawn to a method of treating epilepsy by administering a delivery vector comprising DNA sequences encoding preprodynorphin or preprodynorphin-variant peptides and recite genera of peptide sequences at least 60%-80% sequence identity to the said peptides.
Regarding claim 21 embodiment e, this claim recites amino acid sequence with sequence identity of at least 60% within the first 8 amino acids from the N-terminus of the peptide sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the scope of this genus is all possible amino acid sequences of any length that comprise a sequence at least 60% identical to the first 8 amino acids from the N-terminus of the SEQ ID NOs: 8. For example, in the instant application, a sequence with 8 amnio acids with 60% sequence identity to the first 8 amino acids of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8 may contain at least any 5 mismatches/variations in their sequences. Any 5 variations in a sequence with 8 amnio acid result in a significant number of species within that genus. The specification fails to disclose a representative numbers/sequences or species within the claimed genera or to identify parts of the sequences that are essential to perform the function of the claimed polypeptide. Therefore, the applicant was not in possession of the claimed genera in claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, this claim recite amino acid sequence with sequence identity of at least 70% within the first 8 amino acids from the N-terminus of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the scope of this genus is all possible amino acid sequences of any length that comprise a sequence at least 70% identical to first 8 amin acids from the N-terminus of the SEQ ID NOs: 8 . For example, in the instant application, a sequence with 8 amnio acids with 70% sequence identity to the first 8 amino acids of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8, may contain at least any 6 mismatches/variations in their sequences. Any 6 variations in a sequence with 8 amnio acid result in a significant number of species within that genus. The specification fails to disclose a representative numbers/sequences or species within the claimed genera or to identify parts of the sequences that are essential to perform the function of the claimed polypeptide. Therefore, the applicant was not in possession of the claimed genera in claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, this claim recite amino acid sequence with sequence identity of at least 80% within the first 8 amino acids from the N-terminus of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the scope of this genus is all possible amino acid sequences of any length that comprise a sequence at least 80% identical to first 8 amin acids from the N-terminus of the SEQ ID NOs: 8. For example, in the instant application, a sequence with 8 amnio acids with 70% sequence identity to the first 8 amino acids of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8, may contain at least any 7 mismatches/variations in their sequences. Any 7 variations in a sequence with 8 amnio acid result in a significant number of species within that genus. The specification fails to disclose a representative numbers/sequences or species within the claimed genera or to identify parts of the sequences that are essential to perform the function of the claimed polypeptide. Therefore, the applicant was not in possession of the claimed genera in claim 22.
Regarding claim 29 embodiment (n), this claim recite amino acid sequence with sequence identity of at least 60% within the first 8 amino acids from the N-terminus of sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the scope of this genus is all possible amino acid sequences of any length that comprise a sequence at least 60% identical to first 8 amino acids from the N-terminus of the SEQ ID NOs: 8 . For example, in the instant application, a sequence with 8 amnio acids with 60% sequence identity to the first 8 amino acids of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No. 8, may contain at least any 5 mismatches/variations in their sequences. Any 5 variations in a sequence with 8 amnio acid result in a significant number of species within that genus. The specification fails to disclose a representative numbers/sequences or species within the claimed genera or to identify parts of the sequences that are essential to perform the function of the claimed polypeptide. Therefore, the applicant was not in possession of the claimed genera in claim 29.
Claims and specification provide only one species of variants with regard to the peptide sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No:8 wherein the sequence of the said variant is set forth by the SEQID no 19. The one species provided in the instant specification is not representative of the complete structure of the genera recited in claims 21-23 and 29.
Structure/function Relationship
An important structure-function relationship exist between the function of the peptides and their amino acid sequence. Zangrandi et al., 2024 studied the structure-function relationship of dynorphin B (Dyn B) variants using naturally occurring amino acid substitutions. Their data showed that while some amino acid modifications in certain positions of the said variants increased the selectivity of Dyn B for its respective receptors, other modifications lead to loss of function. Particularly the Y1F which result in removal of a single hydroxyl group in position 1, leads to severe loss of affinity and potency of the peptide. Similarly, glycine in position 2 of DynA was reported to be important for its receptor selectivity and affinity. (discussion, page 7). Therefore, the peptide sequences that have 60%, 70% or 80% sequence identity to the peptide sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No.8 of the instant application may have significant differences in their function. It appears that the applicant was not in possession of a representative number/sequences or species within the claimed genera or identified the parts of the sequences that are essential to perform the function of the claimed peptides.
Conclusion
Therefore, the examiner concludes there’s insufficient written description for the instantly claimed genera of peptide sequences that have 60%, 70% or 80% sequence identity to the preprodynorphin or preprodynorphin-variant sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No.8 of the instant application, recited in claims 21-23 and 29. Specifically such varying sequence identities or amino acid modifications may result in an exponential number of sequences under those genera, and the specification fails to disclose a representative numbers/sequences of species within the claimed genera.
Therefore, there’s insufficient written description support for instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 21-23, 25-35,37- 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21-23 and 29 recite amnio acid sequences inside parenthesis, it is not clear if the recitations included inside parenthesis are exemplary or if they are included in the claim limitations. Therefore, the claims are indefinite for not distinctly pointing out the relevant subject matter.
Claims 21 and 29 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of pre-prodynorphin or pre-prodynorphin-variants are improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
(1) The listed alternatives are not members of the same recognized physical or chemical class. Specification or the art do not disclose the listed alternatives to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Therefore it is unclear what property the listed alternatives of the claim possess in common. For example: DynA, Dyn B and leumorphins
(2) The listed alternatives do not share a “single structural similarity “ or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21- 23, 30-35, 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2) as being anticipated by Skubatch et al., WO2007112453 A2, as evidenced by Burstcher et al.,2017
Regarding claim 21, Skubatch teaches a method and composition for treating neurological conditions (title and background, 0014), including epilepsy (0014). In some embodiments the said treatment involve a nucleic acid that encodes a composition inserted into a vector (0025) for delivery to an organism (0026), the nucleic acid may encode preprodynorphin (00289) which is cleaved to form different opioid peptides which are ligands for kappa-type opioid receptors, and consist of signal sequences (00289).
Wherein the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID no. 248 of Skubatch (page 63) is a 100% sequence match to the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID no 8 of the instant claim, recited in the embodiment (e). Therefore, Skubatch teach a sequence which has a more than 60% sequence identity to the first 8 amino acids counted from the N-terminus of SEQ ID No.8.
NCBI blast alignment of Skubatch SEQ ID no. 248 and instant SEQ ID no:8 is shown below.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Skubatch teaches the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID no. 248 which has 100% sequence match to the instant sequence set forth by the Seq ID no 8. Skubatch also teach the sequence set forth in SEQ ID no: 21 (table VIII) which has a sequence with 87% similarity to the first 8 amino acids counted from the N-terminus of the SEQ ID no.8 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 29, Skubatch teaches use of vectors containing appropriate nucleic acid sequences in gene therapy (00123), the appropriate nucleic acid sequences include nucleic acid encoding the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID no. 248 (00117, 00123) which is a preprodynorphin (00289). Skubatch teaches the vectors targeting specific organs or tissue, the brain (00126). Therefore, Skubatch teaches contacting the cells in central nervous system, with the delivery vector and thereby introducing the DNA sequence encoding preprodynorphin into the cell.
Skubatch also teaches the said vectors and associated promoters permit the host to express the peptides encoded by the said nucleic acids (00123) that includes preprodynorphin (00289) which is cleaved to form different opioid peptides that have signal sequences (00289). Therefore, the Skubatch teaches the requisite structure of the preprodynorphin peptide, and the function of the signal peptide in packaging of the prodynorphin must be inherent to the said structure.
Skubatch also teaches the SEQ ID no. 248 (page 63) which has a 100% sequence match to the SEQ ID no 8 of the instant application recited in the embodiment (n). Therefore the SEQ ID no. 248 of Skubatch has a greater than 60% sequence identity to the first 8 amino acids counted from the N-terminus of the SEQ ID No 8 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 30 and 35, Skubatch teaches that their invention also contemplates a pharmaceutical formulation (00149). The delivery vector is formulated as a pharmaceutical carrier (0026).
Regarding claim 31, Skubatch teaches administering a delivery vector comprising a DNA sequence encoding preprodynorphin which is a ligands for kappa-type opioid receptors (00123, 00289). The activation of kappa opioid receptor with dynorphins elicits anti-convulsant effects, and have therapeutic effects in temporal lobe focal epilepsy as evidenced by Burstcher et al.,2017 (title, abstract, pages 1 and 7)
Regarding claim 32, Skubatch teaches that the peptide opioids (0009) recited in their invention can be kappa opioid receptor agonists (0062) administered to humans (abstract, 00263), and any suitable carrier may be employed to deliver the composition, depending on whether a sustained release is desired (00149), in some embodiments the polypeptides are adapted for slow release (00106), or fast- release (00263). Therefore, Skubatch reads on on-demand release of peptides.
Regarding claim 33 and 34, Skubatch teaches intracranial administration of their formulation and vector-mediated delivery of opioid peptides to the brain (00126).
Regarding claim 37, Skubatch teaches the DNA sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No:4 of the instant application which is a 100% match to a portion of the sequence set forth by the SEQ ID No: 249. The NCBI blast alignment of the two peptides is shown below.
Regarding claim 38, Skubatch teaches a method and composition for treating epilepsy (0014), in humans (abstract, 00263) . In some embodiments the said treatment involve a nucleic acid that encodes a preprodynorphin (00289) inserted into a vector (0025), said vectors and associated promoters permit the host to express the encoded peptide (00123) which is cleaved to form opioid peptides which are ligands for kappa-type opioid receptors (00289) and contain signal sequences (00123).
Therefore, the Skubatch teaches the requisite structure of the preprodynorphin peptide, and the function of the signal peptide in packaging of the prodynorphin must be inherent to the said structure.
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skubatch et al., WO2007112453 A2 and Flotte, et al., "AAV for disorders of the CNS." (2005): 193.
Teachings of Skubatch are as relied on above (35 U.S.C. 102 rejection)
Skubatch does not teach a delivery vector comprising a recombinant adeno-associated virus (AAV), AAV serotypes and capsid mutants.
However, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, delivery vectors comprising a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV), AAV serotypes and capsid mutants were known in the art.
Regarding claim 25, Flotte (chapter 8) teaches rAAV for gene therapy applications in the central nervous system ( title, introduction, page 193).
Regarding claim 26, Flotte (chapter 8) teaches rAAV serotype 2 as an efficient delivery vector to neurons in various anatomical regions of the nervous system (introduction, page 193). Flotte also teaches AAV2 capsid mutants that are important in interacting with their receptors (chapter 2, page 21).
Regarding claim 28, Flotte teaches rAAV structure with capsid protein and encapsidation in fig 1.1 (chapter 1, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the above-mentioned teachings of Skubatch and Flotte to develop a rAAV2 delivery vector carrying nucleic acid to encode preprodynorphin to treat epilepsy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Skubatch and Flotte to use rAAV2 vector for the treatment of epilepsy, as it is known to be an efficient delivery vector to neurons in various anatomical regions of the nervous system. There would be a reasonable expectation of success to combine the teachings Skubatch and Flotte, because they both teach recombinant viral vectors for nucleic acid delivery to central nervous system.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/HASHANTHI KOMITIGE ABEYRATNE-PERERA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/MARCIA S NOBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632