DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Augimeri (US 2023/0067592).
Regarding claim 1, Augimeri discloses a fastener 10 Fig. 1a comprising: a head 12; a shank 16 connected to and extending from the head, the shank including: a first portion 18, a second portion (18b of Annotated Fig. 1a, below) connected to extending and tapered away from the first portion, a third portion 20 connected to and extending from the second portion, and a tip 14 connected to and extending from the third portion and at an end of the shank opposite the head; a first helical thread formation 22 extending outwardly from the tapered second and third portions of the shank Fig. 2a, the first helical thread formation having a first thread portion (240 of Annotated Fig. 1a, below) and a second thread portion (250 of Annotated Fig. 1a, below), the first thread portion of the first helical thread formation extending from the second portion of the shank, the first thread portion of the first helical thread formation extending from the third portion of the shank, the second thread portion of the first helical thread formation extending from the third portion of the shank, the second thread portion of the first helical thread formation defining grooves 28; and a second helical thread formation 24 extending outwardly from the third portion of the shank.
Regarding claim 2, Augimeri discloses wherein the first thread portion 240 of the first helical thread formation does not define any grooves.
Regarding claim 3, Augimeri discloses wherein the second thread portion 250 of the first helical thread formation defines grooves 28.
Regarding claim 4, Augimeri discloses wherein only part of the second thread portion 250 of the first helical thread formation defines grooves 28.
Regarding claim 5, Augimeri discloses wherein the part of the second thread portion 250 of the first helical thread formation that is adjacent to the tip 14 defines the grooves 28.
Regarding claim 11, Augimeri discloses wherein the first portion 18 of the shank 16 has a greater outer diameter than the third portion 20 of the shank.
Regarding claim 12, Augimeri discloses wherein the second portion 18b of the shank is tapered from the first portion 18 of the shank to the third portion 20 of the shank.
Regarding claim 15, Augimeri discloses wherein the first portion 18 of the shank 16 has a greater outer diameter than the third portion 20 of the shank.
Regarding claim 16, Augimeri discloses wherein the second portion 18b of the shank 16 is tapered from the first portion 18 of the shank to the third portion 20 of the shank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10, 13, 14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augimeri.
Regarding claims 6-10 and 13, Augimeri discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the various arrangements of the second helical thread wherein the second helical thread formation does not extend from the second portion of the shank. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 14, Augimeri discloses wherein a part of the second thread portion 250 of the first helical thread formation that is adjacent to the tip 14 defines the grooves 28 in the second thread portion of the first helical thread.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Augimeri discloses wherein the first helical thread formation 22 has a thread angle but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the thread angle of a portion of the first helical thread formation is approximately 40 or 60 degrees. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claims 19 and 20 including where first helical thread formation includes a trailing surface having a first section extending from a root towards a crest, a second section connected to and extending from the first section towards the crest, and a third section connected to and extending from the second section towards the crest and where the first section extends from the root towards the crest at an approximate 110 degree angle relative to the outer surface of the shank, the second section extends towards the crest at an approximate 160 degree angle relative to the outer surface of the shank, and the third section extends towards the crest at an approximate 135 degree angle relative to the outer surface of the shank. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Augimeri reference fails to teach a thread formation extending from the second portion. This is not persuasive, since the Augimeri reference also discloses thread formation 38 Fig. 2a extending from a second portion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675