Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “Limit seat, 103” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, lines 1 and 2 are objected to because it requires connection between the first workpiece and the movement member, which is contact with the element of the claimed invention. Consider instead --wherein the first workpiece is configured to be connected to a moving member through a second direction spring, and the end of the second inner support member away from the first inner support member is provided with a guiding slope for contacting the moving member when supporting the first workpiece internally to tilt the moving member and reduce its height in the first direction—to accurately describe the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a “first driving mechanism” and a “second driving mechanism”, both stated in claim 1, a “third driving mechanism” stated in claim 2, and a “clamping mechanism” stated in claim 4.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is not in the form of a single sentence. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(m) which reads in part: "Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.” (See Fressola V. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains the following subject matter:
Claim 1 recites “first driving mechanism” in line 8.
Claim 2 recites “third driving mechanism” in lines 22 and 23.
Claim 4 recites “clamping mechanism” in line 2.
Claim 5 recites “the limit seat (103) can move forward and backward on the body (1)” in line 8, when it is unclear how it is able to move forward and backwards when the specifications state “the limit seat 103 is provided with a second directional guide groove 1031 for guiding the first workpiece 101 in the second direction to enter the second workpiece 102 from the second direction (para. 20)”.
The claimed subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-5 are rejected accordingly since under 35 USC 112(a) since they are dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second direction" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the body is driven by a first driving mechanism” in line 8. It is unclear how the body is driven by the first driving mechanism as it does not appear to be connected. Figure 1 shows the body (1) as two different parts, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation the examiner has construed the claims as best understood until proper clarification is provided. In addition, the scope of “first driving mechanism” is unclear, it is not precisely known what structure is intended. For purposes of this Office action, the term will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first direction" in lines 9 and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the first movable seat” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the driving connection” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5 are rejected accordingly since under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “third driving mechanism” in lines 22 and 23. The scope is unclear; it is not precisely known what structure is intended. For purposes of this Office action, the term will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 3 is rejected accordingly since under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “clamping mechanism” in line 2. The scope is unclear; it is not precisely known what structure is intended. For purposes of this Office action, the term will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)(2) as being anticipated by Abe (US 4771535).
Regarding claim 1, Abe discloses a workpiece assembly device (2; fig. 2; col. 2, ll. 42-53), for pressing a first workpiece (Wb; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 36-45) into a second workpiece (Wa; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 36-45), comprising a body (as annotated in fig. 2 below; col. 2, ll. 40-48), wherein the body is provided with a limit seat (26 and 27, portion 26 is provided within 10a and 27 is connected via intermediate components; fig. 4; col. 2, ll. 54-67) for limiting the placement of the first workpiece and the second workpiece on it (the length of 26 and 27 determines how deeply inserted Wb is into Wa; fig. 4; col. 3, 15- 35), and the limit seat is provided with a second direction guide groove (hollow bearing tubes, see annotated fig. 4 below; col. 2, ll. 54- 67 and col. 3, ll. 15 -35) for guiding the first workpiece in the second direction to enter the second workpiece from the second direction (the second direction guide groove guides the limit seat in the second direction, vertically, resulting in the insertion of Wb into Wa; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 15-35)
the body is driven by a first driving mechanism (11a; fig. 2; col. 3, ll. 7-14, as best understood by Examiner) and connected with a second direction guide groove (see annotated fig. 4, element of the body 10a houses the second direction guide groove; col. 2, ll. 58- 67) that can move back and forth in a first direction (element of the body 10a is moveable left and right; fig.2; col. 3, ll. 7-14 ) to facilitate entry from the first direction (first direction movement allows the body to align with the second workpiece; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 35- 50),
approaching a first movable seat (see annotated fig. 4 below, movable via second direction displacement of 14a; col. 2, ll. 61- 68 and col. 3, ll. 1-6) away from the first workpiece (when the movable seat moves it displaces the first workpiece away from the body; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 15- 35), the first movable seat is driven by a second driving mechanism (14a and 12a; fig. 4; col. 2, ll. 60-68 and col. 3, ll. 1- 35; examiner is interpreting the second driving mechanism as a linear actuator, as drawn) a driving connection ( interpreted as connection between moving mechanisms; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 15- 35) has a second movable seat (as annotated in fig. 4 below; col. 3, ll. 15- 35) that can move back and forth in the second direction (fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 15- 35);
the second movable seat is equipped with an inner support component (13a, 13b, 13c; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 36- 45) for penetrating the first workpiece (fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 36- 45 and col. 4, ll. 34-50) from the first direction (second moveable seat moves in the first direction to collect and penetrate the first workpiece; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 34-50) and then supporting the first workpiece at both ends of the second direction (fig. 4; col. 4, ll. 34-50), the first workpiece is held throughout the second direction drive into the second workpiece; fig. 4; col. 4, ll. 34-50), so as to drive the first workpiece to move and press the first workpiece into the second workpiece (fig. 4; col. 4, ll. 34-50) along the second direction guide groove (as shown in annotated fig. 4 below; col. 2, lines 41-68, col. 3, lines 1-68 and col. 4, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Abe discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the inner support component comprises a first inner support member (13a; fig. 4; col. 3,ll. 35- 45) set on the second movable seat (fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45) for limiting one end of the first workpiece in the second direction after penetrating the first workpiece (first inner support member prevents the top portion of the first workpiece upwards, since it pushes it into the second workpiece; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45) from the first direction (fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 34-50), and a second inner support member (13b; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45) driven and connected to the second movable seat (connected via intermediate components, fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45) in the second direction (moves axially with respect to 13a; fig. 4; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45) through a third driving mechanism (13c; fig. 4; col. 3,ll. 35- 45, as best understood by Examiner) to move back and forth in the second direction for inner support (13c resists the reaction force in the second direction when pressing force occurs; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45) of the other end of the second direction of the first workpiece (13c resists the reaction force in the second direction when pressing force occurs; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 35- 45).
Regarding claim 4, Abe discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the body is further equipped with a clamping mechanism (21a, 22a, 22b; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 28- 43, as best understood by Examiner) for removing the workpiece after the first workpiece is pressed into the second workpiece and in place (fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 50-60, “transfer mechanisms including rack and pinion mechanisms transfer the rim element with the disk”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Abe (US 4771535) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Abe discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the first direction is left and right (fig.2; col. 3, ll. 7-14), the second direction is up and down (fig. 2; col. 3, ll. 15- 35), the body drives the first movable seat left and right through the first driving mechanism (limit seat 26 is able to move in the left right direction, and the first moveable seat is connected to the limit seat; fig. 2; col. 3, ll. 7-25), the first movable seat drives the second movable seat up and down through the second driving mechanism (fig. 4; col. 2, ll. 60-68 and col. 3, ll. 1- 35), the inner support component is used to support the first workpiece left and right inward (as shown below in fig. 4, the inner support piece supports both the inner left and right portions of the first work piece; col. 3, ll. 36- 45), and the limit seat can move forward and backward on the body (interpreted, based on claim 1, as second directional movement; fig. 4; col. 3, ll. 15 -35).
However, Abe does not explicitly disclose wherein the first direction is up and down, the second direction is left and right, the body drives the first movable seat up and down through the first driving mechanism, the first movable seat drives the second movable seat left and right through the second driving mechanism, and the limit seat can move forward and backward on the body.
Though, it can be observed that if fig. 2 was rotated counterclockwise 90 degrees, it would meet the limitations of claim 5 and the assembly device would yield equivalent results. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rotate the assembly 90 degrees counterclockwise, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 (II-A/B) In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter:
Abe (US 4771535) discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, however does not teach wherein the first workpiece is [configured to be] connected to a moving member through a second direction spring, and the end of the second inner support member away from the first inner support member is provided with a guiding slope for contacting the moving member when supporting the first workpiece internally to tilt the moving member and reduce its height in the first direction.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL THADDUES FARRELL JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723