DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 07/17/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) s1-20 under 35usc103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (US20190119902) in view of Holguin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.Claims 1-7, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20190119902) in view Holguin (US20110107689).
With respect to claim 1 Chen discloses a modular acoustic pod, comprising:
A plurality of wall panels, a door and a top panel configured to collectively enclose the pod (see para 0037);
Wherein each of the wall panels comprises a first insulation layer (see para 39) for enhancing thermal and acoustic performance;
and Wherein each of the wall panels further comprises an exterior surface layer and an interior surface layer (200), and the interior surface layer each being fabricated form a material selected from the group consisting of felt, fabric (taught see para 33), wood and laminate.
Chen does not disclose expressly wherein the first insulation layer comprises a material derived from post consumer fabric for environmental sustainability.
While Chen does not expressly disclose the exterior surface layer (334) being fabricated form a material selected from the group consisting of felt, fabric wood and laminate, Chen does disclose the use of such materials in the construction of the pod (see fabric para 33, see laminate para 28 regarding the table construction, or wood see para 27 regarding the booth and ceiling structure). The use of the same material which is taught to be known and would be regarded as having an aesthetically pleasing nature (it is placed where the user encounters it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing to combine the teachings of Chen to use such materials in the construction of the pod with the various surfaces which are encountered so as to provide a pleasing appearance that is consistent. Further it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Holguin discloses the use of recycled denim in the formation of a fabric for a wall structure (while taught to be apportion of a ceiling structure the application a wall is on obvious use see para 0038).
It would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the time of the effective filing to combine the teachings of Holguin to use a recycled denim material with the device of Chen so as to reduce environmental waste while forming an effective structure.
With respect to claim 2 Chen as modified by Holguin further discloses wherein each of the wall panels further comprises a second insulation layer (332), and a panel is disposed between the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer, the second insulation layer comprising a material derived from post consumer fabric (see again Holguin for post consumer fabric).
With respect to claim 3 Chen (see para 39 taken with Holguin) further discloses wherein at least one of the exterior surface layer and the interior surface layer is fabricated from a nonwoven felt material, the nonwoven felt material being derived from post-consumer fabric.
With respect to claim 4 Chen as modified further discloses wherein each of the wall panes further comprises a backing panel (333 see again para 39) that supports the exterior surface layer, the backing panel providing additional structural integrity and facilitating attachment of the exterior surface layer.
With respect to claim 5 Chen as modified further discloses wherein the nonwoven felt material includes recycled denim (see Holguin).
With respect to claim 6 Chen as modified further discloses wherein both the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer comprise a material derived from used denim (see Chen para 39 and Holguin for use of denim).
With respect to claim 7 Chen as modified further discloses wherein at least one of the exterior surface layer or the interior surface layer is fabricated from a nonwoven felt material (para 39) the nonwoven felt material being derived from a post-consumer fabric (see Holguin).
With respect to claim 14 Chen as modified further discloses a modular acoustic pod comprising: A plurality of wall panels, a top panel, and a door (see figures and para 37), wherein the top panel includes a roof and a ceiling that is separated by a gap that is in fluid communication with air inside the od; A ventilation plinth located at a base of at least one of the wall panels, the ventilation plinth being configured to allow air to enter the pod (described as in the floor in a corner thereof in para 26- 29, ther being no additional claimed structure it is considered this limitation is met); An exhaust fan (para 29) mounted to the roof of the top panel, the exhaust fan configured to draw air out of the pod through the gap between the roof and the ceiling (see para27 regarding duct); Wherein the ventilation system is designed to facilitate a continuous flow or air from the ventilation plinth through the pod to the exhaust fan (se para 26-29).
With respect to claim 15 Chen as modified further discloses (see again para 26-29) wherein the ventilation plinth comprises an elongated channel, a plurality of inlet openings on an exterior side at one end, and a plurality of outlet openings on an interior side at an opposite end (shown in figure 6), such that air enters through the inlet openings, travels down the channel and passes through the outlet openings to enter the pod (see also figure 8 there is a passageway formed between the ground and the top of the floor due to the presence of the floor joists).
With respect to claims 16 and 17 Chen as modified further discloses wherein the ventilation plinth includes interior walls along the channel (that is to say the space is delimited by the floor joists ). As it regards the inclusion of an acoustic dampener on the interior walls of the ventilation plinth, such acoustic members would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, it is known to silence ventilation pathways, and Chen discloses the use of acoustic dampening material, the application of the material taught to a surface in a known manner would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill. The use of a know material for a known purpose would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill.
With respect to claim 18 as it regards thew selection of the flow rate of the fan the selection thereof would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based upon the needed flow and user comfort. This would have been only the use of a known structure in a known way.
With respect to claim 19 Chen discloses such a placement of the fan which is taught to draw air from within the pod, the provision of the ventilation gap between the ceiling and the wall would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to allow for the flow.
With respect to claim 20 as it regards the selection of the depth of the gap this would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the needed space for flow and to provide an air gap for acoustic insulation. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
2. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20190119902) in view of Holguin (US20110107689) as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Phillips (US20220154458) and Duffy (US20100108438).
With respect to claim 8 Chen as modified further discloses a modular acoustic pod comprising: A plurality of wall panels, a top panel a door a door framer and a plurality of struts (see figures and para 22-40 of Chen); Wherein the plurality of struts (see figure 8) are configured to assemble the wall panels, top panel, door, and doorframe into an enclosed structure (see figures 1, 2 and 8)
Wherein the design of the pod is modular allowing for the components to be assembled, disassembled and reconfigured with ease to adapt to various spatial requirements and user preferences. Chen as modified does not expressly disclose the sue of C-channels employed at the junctions of the components to assist with assembly and to eliminate air gaps between the components to increase sound deadening within the pod.
Phillips discloses the use of U-channels in the formation of a modular acoustic enclosure for providing support to the panels where they meet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Phillips to use U-channels in an acoustic booth with the acoustic booth structure of Chen as modified.
The motivation for doing so would be to provide enhanced edge support to the panel ensuring support and engagement along the whole of the length and thus reducing gaps.
With regard to the use of C-channels per se, it is known from at least Duffy element 312 to use C-channels per se on an acoustic panel for strengthening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a C-channel as taught by Duffy as the channel member so as to provide enhanced stiffness. Further this would constitute only the use of one known type of strengthening channel in place of another strengthening channel, as would be obvious to one of ordinary skill.
As it regards the limitation that the plurality of structures and C-channels are configured to permit assembly of the pod entirely from an interior of the pod, this would constitute at most a rearrangement of the parts of the device so as to be able to assemble the fasteners from the inside. Such a consideration would have been an obvious smatter in the event that space was at a premium. Further it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With respect to claim 9 Chen as modified further discloses wherein the modularity is further facilitated by the plurality of struts being configured to engage with the wall panels, top panel, door and doorframe without the use of permanent fasteners (as the device is taught to be assembled by Chen using screws and other threaded fasteners this is considered to be non permanent fasteners as they are intended to be removed.
With respect to claim 10 Chen as modified further discloses wherein the C-channels are
designed to receive edges of the wall panels top panel and door frame ensuring a tight fit and alignment
while maintaining the structural integrity of the pod (see figures 3 and 4 of Phillips where an insertion of
elements into a channel is taught, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date to apply such a teaching to any of the connections including of the panels into
the c-channels. Such a panel into channel configuration is taught by Duffy figure 4.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Chen as modified further discloses at least one window panel
(see 120 in Holguin). Regarding the window panel is constructed with an integrated frame that aligns and attached to the C-channels, maintaining modularity and air gap elimination features of the pod, one of ordinary skill would have found such an arrangement obvious based upon the already modular nature of Chen, this would be only applying the teachings of the panels to a specific panel.
With respect to claim 13 as it regards the presence of the window panel interchangeable with a
wall panel it is considered given the teachings of the door of Chen this teaching would be obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing to apply to any other of the panels to
enhance the lighting of the booth in a way that would be readily understood by one of skill in the art.
Conclusion
/FORREST M PHILLIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837