DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on December 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katori et al. (2018/0369861). Regarding claim 1, Katori discloses a method for manufacturing a glass plate having a first main surface and second main surface, the method comprising preparing a glass plate, conveying a mist substance with a carrier gas to a position facing the first main surface, supplying the mist substance to the first main surface and forming a functional layer on the first main surface ([0077], [0078], [0130], [0132], [0133], [0144], [0146], [0147], figures 1 and 7).
Regarding claims 5-7, Katori teaches the step of forming the functional layer includes a film forming step of forming a functional film on the first main surface with the use of the mist substance as a raw material of the functional film, via mist chemical vapor deposition ([0048], [0081], [0111]).
Regarding claim 7, Katori teaches forming a functional layer on the first main surface with use of the mist (abstract). Thus, the first main surface of the glass plate is modified by coating with the functional layer.
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nara et al. (2018/0066361). Regarding claim 1, Nara teaches a method for manufacturing a glass plate having a first main surface and second main surface, the method comprising preparing a glass plate ([0091]), conveying a mist substance with a carrier gas to a position facing the first main surface, supplying the mist substance to the first main surface and forming a functional layer on the first main surface (figure 1, abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0087]).
Regarding claims 5-6, Nara teaches the step of forming the functional layer includes a film forming step of forming a functional film on the first main surface with the use of the mist substance as a raw material of the functional film ([0047], [0051], [0053], [0064]), via mist chemical vapor deposition ([0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Nara teaches forming a functional layer on the first main surface with use of the mist (abstract). Thus, the first main surface of the glass plate is modified by coating with the functional layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katori et al. (2018/0369861) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Onabe et al. (JP H11323558 machine translation). Katori teaches methods for forming the film is not limited and known methods include mist CVD (chemical vapor deposition), chemical vapor deposition, and spray pyrolysis ([0081]). As can be seen in figures 1 and 7, Katori teaches supplying a mist substance from a supply nozzle extending from a position facing a first main surface of the glass substrate toward the first main surface. However, Katori is silent regarding details for the spray nozzle. Onabe teaches a CVD method for providing a film on a substrate ([0001]), the method comprising supplying a mist substance from a supply nozzle (figure 2, “mist like liquid material” 4th-5th passages on page 6), and supplying a protective gas (shield gas) for protecting the mist substance along an inner wall surface of the supply nozzle (middle of page 6, figure 2). Onabe teaches the protective gas protects and cools the mist substance (abstract). Onabe also teaches such a supply nozzle predictable provides for the successful supply of a mist substance in a CVD method for forming a film on a substrate. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized a similar supply nozzle with a protective gas for the CVD film forming method of Katori, as it shield mist substances during vapor deposition, and predictable provides for successful film formation, as taught by Onabe.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara et al. (2018/0066361) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harris et al. (2002/0155299). Regarding claim 3, Nara further teaches the glass substrate can be prepared by a float glass process, which naturally comprise of forming a molten raw material in a float bath and manufacturing a glass plate by a float method. Nara also teaches for mist CVD, the glass substrate should on the order of 100°C to 200°C ([0091]), which suggests online application of the mist substance during the float process. This exemplified by Harris. Harris teaches a method for manufacturing a glass plate having a first main surface and second main surface and forming a functional layer on the first main surface using known methods including chemical vapor deposition and spray pyrolysis ([0013]). Harris also teaches supplying the mist substance toward the first main surface of the glass plate during the forming step in a float process ([0016]), wherein the float process comprises forming a molten raw material of a glass plate in a float bath ([0030]) and forming a glass plate. Harris further teaches supplying the coating material toward the first main surface of the glass plate that is being formed in the float process ([0021]). Naturally, forming a film on a glass plate during forming provides for a more efficient process. Harris also teaches the coating methods by CVD or spray pyrolysis on the glass plate during forming in the float process can take advantage of the glass plate already at a higher temperature ([0045], [0061]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have supplied the mist substance of Nara toward the first surface of the glass plate during forming by a float process, as it improves efficiency of the glass plate manufacturing process as well as take advantage energy savings of not having to reheat the glass plate for the forming the functional film.
Regarding claim 4, Nara further teaches adjusting the temperature of the mist substance in the conveying step to a temperature of 190°C ([0113], [0135], [0185], [0194]).
Conclusion
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741