DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed on 12/23/2025, the amendment/reconsideration has been considered. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 14 have been amended, and claim 15 and 16 are newly added. Claims 1-16 are pending for examination as cited below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemm et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0105566 A1), hereinafter “Klem” in view of Sugiura et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0094554 A1), hereinafter “Sig” and further in view of Claude et al. (translation of “FR 2828044 A1” provided in PDF format).
As to claim 1, Klem discloses, an information processing system (Klem, fig.1, Abstract), comprising:
processing circuitry configured to instruct a first terminal device among multiple terminal devices to display a screen to create and edit a question (Klem, fig.1, [0012] and [0020], The window 200 comprises categories 210A-210N, questions 211A-211N, priority buttons 220A-220N, a feedback button 230, and a move button 240.);
register information including the question created or edited via the first screen in association with a conference (Klem, 0021], the questions 211A-211C have been clustered into the category “Q2 REVENUE” (210A) based on the questions 211A-211C all containing the keywords “revenue” and “Q2.” The questions 211D-211E in the category “401K PLAN” (210B) are clustered based on the word “401K.”);
in response to a request to start a question by a user at the first terminal device, instruct one or more second terminal devices among the multiple terminal devices to display a second screen to receive an answer to the question, the second screen including the question created or edited (Klem, [0023], and [0024], The conference participant 102 can set a priority for the category “PRODUCT SHIPMENTS” 210N. For example, the conference participant 102 may select the up arrow in the priority window 222 to increase the priority from 8 (as shown) to 9 or 10 (on a scale of 1-10). The priority is feed back to the presenter 102A (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3 priority column 310. the conference participant 102 may also change the priority for each of the questions 211A-211N in a similar manner.).
Klem however is silent to discloses explicitly, control the first terminal device to prohibit the user to edit the question after the question is started during the conference.
Sig discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, control the first terminal device to prohibit the user to edit the question content in a case that the question is being conducted during the conference (Sig, [0047], If limited permission is set, the conference participant is further restricted from using part of the conference functions usable in partial usage permission. That is, a conference participant to which entire usage permission is set can use the change function, the document sharing function, and the conference participation function.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Sig” into those of “Klem” to provide control the first terminal device to prohibit the user to edit the question content in a case that the question is being conducted during the conference.
Klem and Sig however are silent to disclose explicitly, control the first terminal device to allow the user to edit the question before the question is started during the conference.
Claude however discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, control the first terminal device to allow the user to edit the question before the question is started during the conference (Claude page 4 of the translation provided discloses, Preferably, according to the invention, the method is such that step (c), at level 1, for managing requests to the server farm includes, during the conference, the step of viewing audio streams / video broadcast live, ask questions, and view past, archived, and indexed audio / video recordings on the server farm. The method is such that step (e), at level 2, includes during the conference: the step of sorting and / or classifying and / or modifying the questions of the user stations sent before or during the conference, - the step of selecting among the questions those to be published.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Claude” into those of “Klem and Sig” to provide a method to incorporate a feature for users to update, modify or change the questions during or after submission in an active conference. Such a feature will give user a control to make necessary changes to ask more precise and direct question.
As to claim 2. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the information includes options for the question (Klem, [0024], various question are categorize based on the content of the question.).
As to claim 3. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude g disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the processing circuitry sends update information to the first terminal device for updating the first screen for the question, based on the received answer (Klem, [0036], The conference manager 121 detects that the presenter 102A has check each of the answer checkboxes 330 for the questions 211A-211E and the presentation module 123 updates the window 200 to indicate that the questions 211A-211E have been answered.).
As to claim 4. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the processing circuitry sends the information to the one or more second terminal devices for displaying first screen based on a result sharing request from the first terminal device (Klem, [0036], The conference manager 121 detects that the presenter 102A has check each of the answer checkboxes 330 for the questions 211A-211E and the presentation module 123 updates the window 200 to indicate that the questions 211A-211E have been answered.).
As to claim 5. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the processing circuitry sends the information to the first terminal device for displaying first screen based on the request (Klem, [0038], The conference participant 102B in now conferenced into the conference call and can discuss the question 211F with the presenter 102A.).
As to claim 6, The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to register reference information in association with the information including the question (Klem, [0031], multiple categories can be selected as topics to be discussed in conference); and
send, together with the information to the one or more second terminal devices, display reference information for displaying the reference information registered (Klem, [0032], The presenter 102A can then discuss the questions with the selected conference participants 102, which may correspond to a subset of all conference participants.).
As to claim 7. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the processing circuitry sends, based on an ending request from the first terminal device, content information to the first terminal device and to the second terminal device for displaying content that was shared and displayed by the first terminal device and the one or more second terminal devices before the request (Klem, [0032], one or more communication endpoints 101B-101N of the group of conference participants 102 who submitted questions are conferenced into the conference call. The presenter 102A can then discuss the questions with the selected conference participants 102, which may correspond to a subset of all conference participants.).
As to claim 8. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the information, which includes the question, further includes options registered by the processing circuitry based on input via a registration screen displayed on a terminal device in response to pressing an add question button shown on a conference management screen (Klem, [0042], the process goes to step 402 to receive additional questions for the conference call. In one embodiment, the steps 402-408 are a separate thread that waits for questions to be received before and during the conference call).
As to claim 9. Is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 8 above (Sig, [0047], If limited permission is set, the conference participant is further restricted from using part of the conference functions usable in partial usage permission. That is, a conference participant to which entire usage permission is set can use the change function, the document sharing function, and the conference participation function.). Further these steps are intended use and can be rearranged or tailored according the requirements.
As to claim 10. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the first terminal device operates as a presenter terminal and each of the one or more second terminal devices operates as an audience terminal (Klem, fig.1, [0013], FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a first illustrative system 100 for managing a conference call. The first illustrative system 100 comprises communication endpoints 101A-101N, a network 110, and a communication system 120.).
As to claim 11, The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the processing circuitry registers the information including the question in association with the conference before a start of the conference or during the conference (Klem, [0038], questions are collected before starting the conference).
As to claim 12. The combined system of Klem, Sig and Claude disclose the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the question to the conference participants starts upon the request from the first terminal device, and ends upon a ending request from the first terminal device (Klem, [0031], the presenter 102A has selected conference button 320N in step 321. This results in the conferencing window 322 being displayed to the presenter 102A. The presenter 102A can then select conference participants 102 who submitted questions 211F-211N in the category 210N. Further these steps are intended use and can be rearranged or tailored according the requirements.).
As to claim 13. Is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 14. Is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 15, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 16, ,wherein the first screen includes an area for creating the question and editing the question is merely an intended use to accomplish the invention described in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 6 and 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,132,166 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the table below:
Instant Application: 18/760,238 U.S. Patent No.: 11,132,166 B2
Claim 1. An information processing system, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to cause a first terminal device among multiple terminal devices to display a screen to create and edit question content;
register information including the question content created or edited via the screen in association with a conference;
in response to a request to start a question by a user at the first terminal device, cause one or more second terminal devices among the multiple terminal devices to display a screen to receive an answer to the question, the screen including the question content created or edited; and
control the first terminal device to prohibit the user to edit the question content in a case that the question is being conducted during the conference and control the first terminal device to allow the-user to edit the question before the question is started during the conference.
1. An information processing system, comprising: a first terminal, and a server including first circuitry configured to: receive a question from a second terminal of a plurality of second terminals, receive at least one more question from another second terminal of the plurality of second terminals so that there are a plurality of questions which have been received, and send the plurality of questions which have been received to the first terminal without sending the plurality of question to any other second terminal of the plurality of second terminals, wherein the first terminal includes second circuitry configured to: display a list of the plurality of questions received from the server, receive input from a user corresponding to a selection of at least two questions of the list of the plurality of questions which is displayed by the user selecting at least two questions of the list of the plurality of questions which is displayed and thereafter the user clicking on an icon which is a button to send information relating to the at least two questions which have been selected, and send to the server the information relating to the at least two questions based on the input which is received, wherein the first circuitry of the server is further configured to: send the at least two questions corresponding to the input received from the user to the plurality of second terminals so that the plurality of second terminals display the at least two questions corresponding to the input.
13. A method executed by an information processing system, the method comprising: instructing a first terminal device among multiple terminal devices to display a first screen to create and edit a question;
registering information including the question created or edited via the first screen in association with a conference;
in response to a request to start a question by a user at the first terminal device, instructing one or more second terminal devices among the multiple terminal devices to display a second screen to receive an answer to the question, the second screen including the question created or edited; controlling the first terminal device to prohibit the user to edit the question after the question is started during the conference; and controlling the first terminal device to allow the user to edit the question before the question is started during the conference.
13. A method of operating a server, comprising: receiving a question which is a query from a second terminal of a plurality of second terminals, receiving at least one more question from another second terminal of the plurality of second terminals so that there are a plurality of questions which have been received, sending the plurality of questions which have been received to a first terminal without sending the plurality of questions to any other second terminal of the plurality of second terminals, receiving from the first terminal information relating to a selection of at least two questions from the plurality of questions, the information being sent from the first terminal based on user input corresponding to the at least two questions at the first terminal from a user of the first terminal, the receiving further includes receiving the information relating to the at least two questions, from the first terminal, by the user selecting the at least two questions which are displayed in a list of questions including the plurality of questions and thereafter the user clicking on an icon which is a button to send the information relating to the at least two questions, and sending, in response to the user clicking on the icon, the at least two questions corresponding to input received from the user to the plurality of second terminals for the plurality of second terminals to display the at least two questions.
Claim 14 (Currently Amended): An information processing system, comprising: a plurality of terminal devices including a first terminal device and one or more second terminal devices; and an information processing apparatus including processing circuitry configured to:
instruct the first terminal device among the plurality of terminal devices to display a screen to create and edit question; register information including the question created or edited via the screen in association with a conference;
in response to request to start a question by a user at the first terminal device, instruct one or more second terminal devices among the multiple terminal devices to display a screen to receive an answer to the question, the screen including the question created or edited; control the first terminal device to prohibit the user to edit the question in a case that the question is started during the conference; and
control the first terminal to allow the user to edit the question before the question is started during the conference.
1. An information processing system, comprising: a first terminal, and a server including first circuitry configured to: receive a question from a second terminal of a plurality of second terminals, receive at least one more question from another second terminal of the plurality of second terminals so that there are a plurality of questions which have been received, and send the plurality of questions which have been received to the first terminal without sending the plurality of question to any other second terminal of the plurality of second terminals, wherein the first terminal includes second circuitry configured to: display a list of the plurality of questions received from the server, receive input from a user corresponding to a selection of at least two questions of the list of the plurality of questions which is displayed by the user selecting at least two questions of the list of the plurality of questions which is displayed and thereafter the user clicking on an icon which is a button to send information relating to the at least two questions which have been selected, and send to the server the information relating to the at least two questions based on the input which is received, wherein the first circuitry of the server is further configured to: send the at least two questions corresponding to the input received from the user to the plurality of second terminals so that the plurality of second terminals display the at least two questions corresponding to the input.
From the above table it can be seen, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant set of claims anticipate the patented claim and inventive concept encompasses within.
Both sets of claims contain the limitation for computer terminal screen-sharing and controlling. Instant set of claims missing essential details however, addresses the same solution to the issues recited in the claims.
The instant claims merely broaden the scope of the conflicting claims. It is well settled that broadening the scope of claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the narrower issued claims. In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982) and In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The dependent claims 2-12 and 15-16 carry the deficiencies from the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vlad et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180285820 A1), discloses, a conference server for scheduling a conference session is disclosed. The conference server may include a memory and at least one processor. The at least one processor may be configured to receive, from a user device, information associated with an image of an object; identify, based on the information, a conference room; and send a conference invitation to the user device, wherein the conference invitation is for scheduling the conference session at the conference room.
Xi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170237788 A1), discloses, controlling aggregation of shared content from multiple presenters during an online conference session includes, at a server having network connectivity, at a server having network connectivity, identifying a master presenter at an endpoint among a plurality of endpoints participating in an online conference session in which at least one of the plurality of endpoints is sharing content with other participants among the plurality of participants at their respective endpoints.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tauqir Hussain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446