DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on December 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first focus detector, second focus detector, alert unit in claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 7, 9, and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takao (US 2022/0400208).
Regarding claim 1, Takao discloses an image pickup apparatus comprising: an image sensor (211) having a plurality of focus detecting pixels (402/403) configured to receive light beams that have passed through different pupil partial regions in an imaging optical system (fig. 2-4; ¶103); a first focus detector (218) configured to acquire a defocus amount of a first optical system (301R) based on a pair of signals from the focus detecting pixels (¶173); a second focus detector configured to acquire a defocus amount of a second optical system (301L) based on a pair of signals from the focus detecting pixels (¶173); and an alert unit (focus guide display) configured to issue an alert to prompt adjustment of the first optical system or the second optical system in a case where a difference between the defocus amount of the first optical system and the defocus amount of the second optical system is larger than a first predetermined value (fig. 10, 11; ¶171-183).
Regarding claim 2, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches wherein the alert unit issues the alert in a case where a correlation between a focus detecting area of the first focus detector and a focus detecting area of the second focus detector is larger than a second predetermined value (fig. 11; ¶173: S604).
Regarding claim 4, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches further comprising an object detector configured to detect a position and size of an object (¶173: position/size based on face), wherein the alert unit issues the alert in a case where a focus detecting area of the first focus detector and a focus detecting area of the second focus detector are set by a detection result of the object detector (fig. 11; ¶177-182: display formats).
Regarding claim 5, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches wherein the image pickup apparatus is configured to perform a live-view display using a captured image, and wherein the alert unit issues the alert on the live-view display (fig. 12; ¶185-188).
Regarding claim 6, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches wherein in a case where the difference is larger than the first predetermined value, the alert unit makes different at least one of a display of the focus detecting area of the first focus detector and a display of the focus detecting area of the second focus detector from a corresponding display in a case where the difference is smaller than the first predetermined value (fig. 10; ¶162-167).
Regarding claim 7, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches further comprising a setting unit configured to set the first predetermined value according to a user operation (¶302: set calibration value by user).
Regarding claim 9, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches wherein the alert unit issues the alert in a case where the defocus amount of the first optical system or the defocus amount of the second optical system is smaller than a third predetermined value (fig. 11: S604-S611).
Regarding claim 11, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takao also teaches wherein the alert unit issues the alert by changing a display of at least one of a focus detecting area of the first focus detector and a focus detecting area of the second focus detector (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 11. Takao also teaches wherein the alert unit issues the alert by changing a color of the at least one (fig. 10; ¶162).
Regarding claim 13, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 11. Takao also teaches wherein the alert unit issues the alert by blinking the at least one (fig. 10; ¶162).
Claim 14 and 16 are rejected as applied to claim 1 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Takao.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takao in view of Kawanishi (US 2018/0048805).
Regarding claim 3, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 2. Takao fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first predetermined value and the second predetermined value is set according to a state of the image pickup apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Takao with the teachings of Kawanishi. Takao discloses multiple threshold values for determining focus, but is silent as to how the values are set. Kawanishi teaches setting threshold values for focusing based on an image capturing condition or a state of the AF image signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of setting threshold values based on the imaging device, as taught by Kawanishi, with the invention of Takao would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system capable of dynamic settings and increased effectiveness.
Regarding claim 10, Takao discloses the limitations of claim 9. Takao fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first predetermined value and the third predetermined value is set according to a state of the image pickup apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Takao with the teachings of Kawanishi. Takao discloses multiple threshold values for determining focus, but is silent as to how the values are set. Kawanishi teaches setting threshold values for focusing based on an image capturing condition or a state of the AF image signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of setting threshold values based on the imaging device, as taught by Kawanishi, with the invention of Takao would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system capable of dynamic settings and increased effectiveness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639