DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action on the 18/760260 application filed on 12/10/24.
Claims 1, 21, 55-56 are pending and have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by MAGUIRE (WO2016/065341) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 12/10/24.
With respect to claim 21, MAGUIRE discloses a delivery apparatus for cells comprising an atomizer (housing) with a support that holds a plate of sample wells (0184) (configured to receive a plate comprising a well); an atomizer emitter which can be a nebulizer (0062) (delivery solution applicator) configured to deliver solution to a well (0175-178, 0182, Fig 2), and pipettes (needle emitters) for adding and removing (capable of providing positive or negative pressure, differential pressure applicator) PBS, solution A, solution b and culture medium (stop solution applicator, culture medium applicator) (0208, Fig 2); and gas propelling the aqueous solution to form a spray to contact the cells (0011, 0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 55-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAGUIRE (WO2016/065341) in view of CONROY (US2005/0014259) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 12/10/24.
Regarding claim 1, MAGUIRE discloses an in vitro method comprising:
providing a delivery apparatus comprising a plate of sample wells (0184) with a population of cells in the well plate that can be non-adherent (providing a population of non-adherent cells) (0013, 0127);
delivering a solution to a well (contacting the cells with a volume of solution) (0175-178); the delivery solution including an aqueous solution including a payload and an alcohol content greater than 5% concentration (0007-0008, 0011), and that the solution contains various ranges of salts, sugars and buffering agents but does not explicitly disclose the aqueous solution is isotonic.
However, CONROY discloses a method of delivering a nucleic acid (payload) to a cell wherein the nucleic acid is carried in a solution comprising an osmolarity essentially isotonic with the osmolarity of the physiological milieu of the cell to be treated (0019, 0031).
At the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery solution of MAGUIRE to include the aqueous solution containing the appropriate amount of solutes to be isotonic as taught by CONROY because the solution shows enhanced ability to deliver nucleic acid to cells resulting in a high-level expression of transfected genes (0017) while approximating physiological conditions (0095).
Regarding claim 55, MAGUIRE discloses a delivery solution (composition) including an aqueous solution including a payload (cargo compound or composition) and an ethanol content greater than 5% concentration (0007-0008, 0011, 0153, 0157) and contains KCL at 12-24 mM or 46mM (KCl concentration is between 10-500 mM) (0148, 0151), 0254 and that the solution contains various ranges of salts, sugars and buffering agents but does not explicitly disclose the aqueous solution is isotonic.
However, CONROY discloses a method of delivering a nucleic acid (payload) to a cell wherein the nucleic acid is carried in a solution comprising an osmolarity essentially isotonic with the osmolarity of the physiological milieu of the cell to be treated (0019, 0031).
At the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery solution of MAGUIRE to include the aqueous solution containing the appropriate amount of solutes to be isotonic as taught by CONROY because the solution shows enhanced ability to deliver nucleic acid to cells resulting in a high-level expression of transfected genes (0017) while approximating physiological conditions (0095).
Regarding claim 56, MAGUIRE discloses the ethanol concentration can vary between 2-45% ethanol and preferably 20-30% (0151) ethanol (encompasses claimed 27%) and contains 46mM of a salt such as KCl or in other examples varying concentrations of salts up to 2.8X (0151, 0254-55). At the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious tone having ordinary skill in the art to choose the claimed ranges of components in the composition, because when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routing skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 23 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11981915. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims in this instant application are either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over the reference claims. The patented claims are directed to the same subject matter and the difference lies in the fact the patent claims include many more elements and thus is much more specific and fall entirely within the scope of the claims in the instant application, therefore the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Claims 1, 21, 55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28, 1, 15 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12060570. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims in this instant application are either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over the reference claims. The patented claims are directed to the same subject matter and the difference lies in the fact the patent claims include many more elements and thus is much more specific and fall entirely within the scope of the claims in the instant application, therefore the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12104166. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims in this instant application are either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over the reference claims. The patented claims are directed to the same subject matter and the difference lies in the fact the patent claims include many more elements and thus is much more specific and fall entirely within the scope of the claims in the instant application, therefore the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See additional reference cited on the attached PTO 892 that present the state of the art.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799