Double Patenting
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,784,578 in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,573,759. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 3, and 4 of US10784578 claims all the limitations except for the arrangement of the antenna and the carrier. US12573759 disclose wherein the first antenna and second attend extend in opposite directions and a carrier element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu US20140118215 in Zhang et al. US20110032166.
With respect to claim 21, Hsu discloses an antenna structure, comprising: a feeding radiation element, having a feeding point 12; a connection radiation element 122, coupled to the feeding radiation element; a first radiation element 1, coupled to the connection radiation element; a second radiation element 2, coupled to the connection radiation element, wherein the second radiation element and the first radiation element substantially extend in opposite directions [Fig. 2]; a first shorting radiation element 13, wherein the feeding radiation element 12 and the connection radiation element 122 are directly coupled through the first shorting radiation element to a first grounding point 11; a second shorting radiation element 23, disposed adjacent to the second radiation element, wherein the connection radiation element and the first radiation element are directly coupled through the second shorting radiation element to a second grounding point 21. Hsu fails to explicitly disclose a carrier element, wherein the feeding radiation element, the connection radiation element, the first radiation element, the second radiation element, the first shorting radiation element, and the second shorting radiation element are distributed over the carrier element.
Zhang et al., in the same field of endeavor, discloses a carrier element 10 [paragraph 9 and Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the carrier of Zhang et al. into the structure of Hsu to provide mechanical/electrical support therefore improving performance as implied by Zhang et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15, 17, and 19-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. US20190198975 discloses an antenna arrangement [Fig. 1]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER H. TANINGCO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845