DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 4/01/2026 has been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the generic placeholder word “unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation “compensation value calculation unit configured to calculate a viscous resistance compensation value” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “to calculate a viscous resistance compensation value;” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1- 7 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure of the limitations:
“compensation value calculation unit”: block (13) depicted in figure 3 and figure 4 shows values for viscous resistances as experimental values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim element “compensation value calculation unit configured to calculate a viscous resistance compensation value” found in claim 1 is a limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
As set forth above, the " calculation unit " finds is structure to be block (13) depicted in figure 3. However, as held by the courts, when the disclosed structure of a means plus function limitation is a computer programmed to carry out an algorithm, the disclosed structure is not the general purpose computer (ASIC or FPGA), but rather that special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm. See, for instance, In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d 1293, 1297, 99 USPQ2d 1936, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2011) or In re Alappat, 33 F.3d 1526, 1545, 31 USPQ2d 1545, 1558 (Fed. Cir. 1994)(en bane). Therefore, in cases that involve a special purpose computer, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, for instance, Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 96 USPQ2d at 1239.
Accordingly, to claim a means for performing a specific computer-implemented function (in the instant case, integrated circuit ASIC or FPGA. ¶. [0065]) and then to disclose only a general purpose computer as the structure (i.e. no specific algorithm) amounts to pure functional claiming. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d 1328 at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239.
As the instant specification fails to disclose the necessary algorithm for performing the claimed function, the claim is rejected as indefinite, as per Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1337-38, 86 USPQ2d at 1242. Mere reference to a general purpose computer without providing an explanation of the appropriate programming necessary to perform the claimed function is not an adequate disclosure of the corresponding structure to satisfy the requirements of 35 USC l 12(b).
Accordingly, the claim limitation is considered indefinite, as the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained due to the lack of a disclosed algorithm for performing the function of the calculation unit claimed in means plus function form.
This rejection also holds for claims 2- 7 by virtue of its dependence on claim 1.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. l 12(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CPR l.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.0l(o) and 2181.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “viscous resistance, in the claims is used by the claim to mean “the influence of the frictions in the actuators, particularly in the speed reducers,” while the accepted meaning is “a fundamental concept in fluid dynamics, describing the opposition to motion caused by internal friction” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 1- 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: The Claimed invention is designed to work in low speed operation range (Spec. ¶. [0047]).
Claims 1- 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In the instant application, the claimed function: “the calculation of the viscous resistance values.”
The rejection is made because an indefinite, unbounded limitation would cover all structure that performs the claimed function. Because the specification has not clearly set forth the requisite algorithm allowing the control device that comprises part of the processing module to perform the claimed function that would not allow one having ordinary skill in the art to make or use the apparatus with the corresponding
functionality, this indicates that applicant has not provided sufficient disclosure to show
possession of the invention.
Claims 1- 9 are rejected by virtue of its dependency on claims 1, 8 and 9, thereby containing all the limitations of the claim on which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 9, so far as been understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamamura et al. (US 20030020427 A1.)
Re. claims 1, 8 and 9, Hamamura discloses a robot control device (Field of the Invention), comprising:
a speed calculation unit (12) configured to calculate a speed of an output shaft of a drive unit configured to drive a robot (angular velocity); and
a compensation value calculation unit (15 and 16) configured to calculate a viscous resistance compensation value (18), the viscous resistance compensation value being a value for generating a second torque command to be output to the drive unit by compensating for a supplied first torque command (feedforward control of the torque ¶. [0103]- [0110]) in such a manner that a second viscous resistance is closer to zero than a first viscous resistance, the first viscous resistance being a viscous resistance at a first speed detected by the speed calculation unit, and the second viscous resistance being a viscous resistance at a second speed lower than the first speed (see Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/SAID BOUZIANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837