DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/03/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 2012/0307496 hereinafter refer as “Phillips”) in view of Basin et al. (US 7,344,902 hereinafter refer as “Basin”) and further in view of WANG et al. (CN 101876407 A).
Regarding claim 1. Phillips discloses a lighting module (52, see Fig. 2, Para. 0066) for a light fixture (10, see Fig. 2, Para. 0060), the lighting module comprising: a submount (44, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0064-0066); a plurality of light emitting diodes (54/88, see Fig. 4, Para. 0066, 0068, and 0073-0074) coupled with the submount; a lens cover (cover lens 26, 56, see Fig. 7, Para. 0066) comprising a plurality of lens elements (secondary lens 56, see Fig. 7, Para. 0068), the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; and an encapsulating material (e.g. primary lens 55, see Fig. 7A, Para. 0073) that is disposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with a respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements (see Figs. 7A and 10B).
However, Phillips does not explicitly disclose the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; and the lens cover is formed of a unitary one-piece construction.
Basin teaches an LED dice (10, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; lines 31-36) mounted on a submount (support structure 12, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; lines 31-36) and lens cover (128) and an encapsulating material (inner molded lens 124, see Fig. 24, Col. 7; lines 47-56); wherein disclose the lens cover (128, see Fig. 24) has a first hardness; the encapsulating material (124) has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness (see Fig. 24, Col. 7; lines 47-56).
WANG et al. teaches an LED light source that includes a lens cover (3) which is formed of a unitary one-piece construction and an LED light emitting chip (2, see Fig. 1, Para. 0018 and 0022), a transparent silicone gel filling body (5, see Fig. 1, Para. 0025).
Therefore, in view of Basin and WANG et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by choosing soft/ less hard encapsulating material so as to not stress the wire bonded to the LED as suggested by Basin. One would have been motivated to make this combination to add mechanical strength and protect any wire bonds.
In view of WANG et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by modifying the lens cover to be formed of a unitary one-piece construction so that the structure is simple and the assembling process is very simple, as suggested by WANG et al.. since it has been held that forming in one piece a structure which has formerly been formed in two, or more pieces, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 2. Phillips further discloses each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes (54/88, see Fig. 4, Para. 0066, 0068, and 0073-0074) comprises a physical center (see Figs. 7A and 10A); each lens element of the plurality of lens elements comprises a focal center; and the physical center of each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with the focal center of the respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements (see Figs. 7A and 10A).
Regarding claim 3. Phillips further discloses the housing (12, see Fig. 2, Para. 0060-0061) comprises a first portion (control chamber 34 under the control cover 20, see Fig. 3, Para. 0063) and a second portion (light chamber 37, see Fig. 3, Para. 0063); the second portion defines a window (see Figs. 2 and 3); and the lighting module (52, see Fig. 2, Para. 0066) further comprises a controller (not shown) at least partially disposed within the first portion (see Para. 0063).
Regarding claims 6-8. Phillips further discloses the lens material and thickness can be changed to achieve various levels of vandal protection (see table Item D ELI-109).
However, Phillips does not explicitly disclose the second hardness is a Shore A of less than 70; wherein the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel; wherein the lens cover is formed of a polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate.
Basin teaches disclose the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel which would have a Shore A of less than 70; wherein the lens cover is formed of a polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate (10, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; 50-59).
Therefore, in view of Basin, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by choosing suitable encapsulating material and lens cover material, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One would have been motivated to make this combination to add mechanical strength and protect any wire bonds.
Regarding claims 9 and 11. Phillips discloses an inherent method for constructing a lighting module (52, see Fig. 2, Para. 0066) for a light fixture (10, see Fig. 2, Para. 0060), the lighting module comprising a submount (44, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0064-0066) having a plurality of light emitting diodes (54/88, see Fig. 4, Para. 0066, 0068, and 0073-0074) thereto; the method comprising: coupling a lens cover (cover lens 26, 56, see Fig. 7, Para. 0066) to the submount, the lens cover comprising a plurality of lens elements (secondary lens 56, see Fig. 7, Para. 0068), the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; introducing an encapsulating material (e.g. primary lens 55, see Fig. 7A, Para. 0073) that is disposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with a respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements (see Figs. 7A and 10B).
However, Phillips does not explicitly disclose the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; introducing the encapsulating material into the interior comprises providing the encapsulating material into the interior after attaching the lens cover to the submount; and the lens cover is formed of a unitary one-piece construction.
Basin teaches an LED dice (10, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; lines 31-36) mounted on a submount (support structure 12, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; lines 31-36) and lens cover (128) and an encapsulating material (inner molded lens 124, see Fig. 24, Col. 7; lines 47-56); wherein disclose the lens cover (128, see Fig. 24) has a first hardness; the encapsulating material (124) has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness (see Fig. 24, Col. 7; lines 47-56). Basin further teaches introducing the encapsulating material into the interior comprises providing the encapsulating material into the interior after attaching the lens cover to the submount (see Col. 5; lines 52-67).
WANG et al. teaches an LED light source that includes a lens cover (3) which is formed of a unitary one-piece construction and an LED light emitting chip (2, see Fig. 1, Para. 0018 and 0022), a transparent silicone gel filling body (5, see Fig. 1, Para. 0025).
Therefore, in view of Basin and WANG et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by choosing soft/ less hard encapsulating material so as to not stress the wire bonded to the LED as suggested by Basin. One would have been motivated to make this combination to add mechanical strength and protect any wire bonds.
In view of WANG et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by modifying the lens cover to be formed of a unitary one-piece construction so that the structure is simple and the assembling process is very simple, as suggested by WANG et al., since it has been held that forming in one piece a structure which has formerly been formed in two, or more pieces, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 10. Phillips further discloses an inherent method introducing the encapsulating material into the interior comprises providing the encapsulating material on one or more of the lens cover and the submount prior to attaching the lens cover to the submount.
Regarding claim 12. Phillips further discloses coupling the lens cover to the submount comprises coupling the lens cover to the submount with fasteners (76, “each secondary lens 56 is held in place by the module cover 58 to make an assembled LED module 52 (see FIG. 4) which is held together by fasteners 76”, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0090).
Regarding claim 13. Phillips further discloses each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes (54/88, see Fig. 4, Para. 0066, 0068, and 0073-0074) comprises a physical center (see Figs. 7A and 10A); each lens element of the plurality of lens elements comprises a focal center; and the physical center of each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with the focal center of the respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements (see Figs. 7A and 10A).
Regarding claim 14-16. Phillips further discloses the lens material and thickness can be changed to achieve various levels of vandal protection (see table Item D ELI-109).
However, Phillips does not explicitly disclose the second hardness is a Shore A of less than 70; wherein the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel; wherein the lens cover is formed of a polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate.
Basin teaches disclose the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel which would have a Shore A of less than 70; wherein the lens cover is formed of a polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate (10, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; 50-59).
Therefore, in view of Basin, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by choosing suitable encapsulating material and lens cover material, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One would have been motivated to make this combination to add mechanical strength and protect any wire bonds.
Regarding claims 17 and 19. Phillips discloses an inherent method for constructing a light fixture (10, see Fig. 2, Para. 0060), the light fixture comprising a housing (12, see Fig. 2, Para. 0060-0061) that defines a controller receptacle (control chamber 34 under the control cover 20, see Fig. 3, Para. 0063), a controller disposed in the controller receptacle, a lid (control cover 20) that overlies the controller receptacle and conceals the controller, and a submount (44, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0064-0066) having a plurality of light emitting diodes (54/88, see Fig. 4, Para. 0066, 0068, and 0073-0074) coupled thereto, the method comprising: coupling a lens cover (cover lens 26, 56, see Fig. 7, Para. 0066) to the submount, the lens cover comprising a plurality of lens elements (56), the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; introducing an encapsulating material (e.g. primary lens 55, see Fig. 7A, Para. 0073) into the interior that that is disposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with a respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements.
However, Phillips does not explicitly disclose the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; introducing the encapsulating material into the interior comprises providing the encapsulating material into the interior after attaching the lens cover to the submount; and the lens cover is formed of a unitary one-piece construction.
Basin teaches an LED dice (10, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; lines 31-36) mounted on a submount (support structure 12, see Fig. 24, Col. 3; lines 31-36) and lens cover (128) and an encapsulating material (inner molded lens 124, see Fig. 24, Col. 7; lines 47-56); wherein disclose the lens cover (128, see Fig. 24) has a first hardness; the encapsulating material (124) has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness (see Fig. 24, Col. 7; lines 47-56). Basin further teaches introducing the encapsulating material into the interior comprises providing the encapsulating material into the interior after attaching the lens cover to the submount (see Col. 5; lines 52-67).
WANG et al. teaches an LED light source that includes a lens cover (3) which is formed of a unitary one-piece construction and an LED light emitting chip (2, see Fig. 1, Para. 0018 and 0022), a transparent silicone gel filling body (5, see Fig. 1, Para. 0025).
Therefore, in view of Basin and WANG et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by choosing soft/ less hard encapsulating material so as to not stress the wire bonded to the LED as suggested by Basin. One would have been motivated to make this combination to add mechanical strength and protect any wire bonds.
In view of WANG et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by modifying the lens cover to be formed of a unitary one-piece construction so that the structure is simple and the assembling process is very simple, as suggested by WANG et al., since it has been held that forming in one piece a structure which has formerly been formed in two, or more pieces, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 18. Phillips further discloses an inherent method introducing the encapsulating material into the interior comprises providing the encapsulating material on one or more of the lens cover and the submount prior to attaching the lens cover to the submount.
Regarding claim 20. Phillips further discloses each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes (54/88, see Fig. 4, Para. 0066, 0068, and 0073-0074) comprises a physical center (see Figs. 7A and 10A); each lens element of the plurality of lens elements comprises a focal center; and the physical center of each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with the focal center of the respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements (see Figs. 7A and 10A).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of Basin, WANG et al., and further in view of Wilcox et al. (US 8,256,927 hereinafter refer as “Wilcox”).
Regarding claim 4. The teachings of Phillips have been discussed above.
However, Phillips is silent with respect to the housing (12) defines a passageway between the first portion and the second portion.
Wilcox teaches an LED light fixture (10) including a housing (17, see Fig. 17, Para. 0084) comprises a first portion (14, see Fig. 4, Para. 008) and a second portion (light chamber 30, see Fig. 5, Para. 0076); the second portion defines a window (see Figs. 2 and 6) defines a passageway between the first portion and the second portion (see Para. 0097); wherein a plurality of rib members (53, 54, see Figs. 10, 19 and 20) that extend between the first portion and the second portion and are at least partially disposed in the passageway.
Therefore, in view of Wilcox, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phillips by providing a passageway between the first portion and the second portion in order to promote rapid heat exchange with the atmosphere and therefore rapid cooling of the LED illuminator during operation, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing passageway between the first portion and the second portion would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because a new basis of rejection is being applied in response to the applicant's amendment to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875