DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 07-01-2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07-01-2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the word “stores” (as in “…cause the storage to stores…”) should be “store.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, since the third operation as claimed is not distinguished from the second operation of claim 14, it is unclear what the third operation actually entails, and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 15, the third operation as claimed is not distinguished from the second operation of claim 14, claim 15 does not further limit claim 14.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanabe (JP 2020-106348, cited by Applicant, full translation also provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 14, Tanabe discloses (Figs. 1-6) a sensor 10 (gas sensor: [0001], [0015]), comprising:
a sensor section (as shown in Figs. 1-6) including an element portion, the element portion including a sensor element “Rd” (thermistor: [0002], [0016]) and a conductive member “MH” (heater: [0016]); and
a circuit section (as shown in Fig. 6) including a storage 43/44 (i.e. sample-and-hold circuit: [0033]) and a controller 40 [0032],
a sensor element end (top end of “Rd” in Fig. 6, connected to Vcc) of the sensor element “Rd” being electrically connected to a first current source Vcc [0032] (as shown in Fig. 6),
a sensor element other end of the sensor element “Rd” being set to a first reference voltage (i.e. connected to ground: see Fig. 6),
the controller 40 being configured to perform a first operation and a second operation [0032]-[0033],
in the first operation (i.e. when V2 is applied to MH: [0032]), the controller 40 being configured to cause the storage 43 [0033] to store a first value corresponding to a first connection point voltage [0033] of a first connection point “N” (as shown in Fig. 6) between the sensor element end and the first current source in a state where a voltage V2 [0032] is applied to the conductive member MH [0032],
in the second operation (i.e. when V3 is applied to MH: [0032]), the controller 40 being configured to cause the storage 44 [0033] to stores a second value corresponding to the first connection point voltage [0033] in a state where the voltage is not applied to the conductive member MH (i.e. when a different voltage, V3, is applied: [0032]-[0033]), and
the circuit section being configured to output a value corresponding to a first difference between the first value and the second value (via comparator 45: [0033]).
Regarding claim 15, Tanabe discloses (Figs. 1-6) the controller 40 is configured to perform a third operation (i.e. the second operation, at a subsequent time),
in the third operation (i.e. when V3 is applied to MH: [0032], at a subsequent time), the controller 40 is configured to cause the storage to store a third value corresponding to the first connection point voltage [0033] (at a subsequent time) in a state where the voltage is not applied to the conductive member (i.e. when a different voltage, V3, is applied: [0032]-[0033]), and
the circuit section is configured to output a correction value obtained by correcting the first difference based on the third value (i.e. updating the difference at a subsequent time, via comparator 45: [0033]).
Regarding claim 19, Tanabe discloses (Figs. 1-6) the sensor section includes
a base body 21 [0027], and
a first support portion 11/12 fixed to the base 21 (as shown in Fig. 2),
the first support portion 11/12 supports the element portion Rd/MH (as shown in Fig. 2), and
a first gap is provided between the base 21 and the element portion Rd/MH (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Tanabe discloses (Figs. 1-6) at least a part of the circuit section (i.e. the wires 16 and leads 31-33 connecting to the terminals 18: see Figs. 1-2) is provided at the base (i.e. the wires 16 connect to the terminals 18 which are part of the base: see Fig. 2), and
the at least the part of the circuit section (i.e. the leads 31-33) overlaps the element portion Rd/MH in a direction from the base to the element portion (as shown in Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe (JP 2020-106348).
Regarding claim 18, Tanabe is applied as above, but does not disclose a first interval time between the first operation and the second operation is 1/5 or less of a pulse time of the voltage applied to the conductive member in the first operation.
However, the interval between the first and second operations is a results-effective variable which can be optimized to increase the speed of detection and reduce the power used (see pars. [0037]-[0042]) – and see MPEP 2144.05(II).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tanabe so that a first interval time between the first operation and the second operation is 1/5 or less of a pulse time of the voltage applied to the conductive member in the first operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Manaka et al. (EP 0698786 – copy attached) discloses a gas density sensor which switches between, and compares the difference between, two voltage values.
Inagaki et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0272551) discloses a gas sensor that switches between, and compares the difference between, a transmission and interruption state.
Nishizono (U.S. Patent 8,283,934) discloses a capacitive sensor which switches between, and compares the difference between, two voltage values.
Nakano et al. (WO 2014/069264) discloses a thermal gas sensor which switches between four different temperature sensitive resistors 6-9 using three switches SW1-3.
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852