DETAILED ACTION
Note: Claims filed 2/5/2026 appears to be the original claims from 7/1/2024. For purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner takes the position that the applicant intended not to provide any claim amendments in accordance to the arguments filed 8/27/2026 and treating the claims filed 5/15/2025 to be the most current claims in the prosecution. Appropriate correction is required in the next response.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 8/27/2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: the “Substitute Specification – Marked” is missing adequate marked-up identification of what text is being inserted into or deleted from the specification of the present application as filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Note: the latest claim amendment submitted on 2/5/2026 is missing limitations applicant is arguing against (e.g. “wherein the processor triangulates the location of the object of interest based on live play action from at least three of the plurality of witness cameras”). That limitation is found in claim amendment submitted on 5/15/2025. For purpose of compact prosecution, examiner will address arguments against the missing limitation below. Furthermore, dependent claims 13-15 are also missing. This issue was already brought to applicant’s attention in the previous office action (02/27/2026), which applicant has not rectified. Appropriate correction to the claims are required in the next response if applicant intends to continue to argue such limitation.
Applicant incorporates prior remarks, quotes MPEP § 2143.03, and argues: (1) Kohler “makes no mention of ‘triangulating an object of interest’ at all, much less ‘based on live play action from at least three of the plurality of witness cameras’”; (2) Jayaram paragraphs [0003] and [0014] teach only a general multi-camera triangulation of a ball and are “silent as to the use of live play action from witness cameras during a live broadcast” and silent as to a remote operator’s input used alongside that triangulation; and (3) Jayaram paragraph [0047] defines “real time or near real time” as communication of video “immediately following completion of a pitch or other play,” and therefore does not teach triangulation from live play action during a live broadcast.
The examiner respectfully disagree. The rejection is under 35 U.S.C. § 103, not § 102. Applicant’s continued framing of the issue as whether each reference anticipates every limitation is incorrect. Under § 103, the question is whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious from the combined teachings. “One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.” See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986); MPEP § 2145(IV). MPEP § 2143.03 requires that all limitations be considered; it does not require that every limitation appear in a single reference.
Kohler is not relied upon as teaching triangulation from at least three witness cameras. The Office action expressly stated that Kohler “may be silent with regards to triangulating the location of the object of interest based on live play action from at least three of the plurality of witness cameras,” and relied on Jayaram for that limitation. Applicant’s argument that the element “is not found in Kohler” therefore attacks a mapping the rejection does not make.
Kohler does teach the remainder of claim 1 that Applicant treats as missing from the combination. Kohler discloses a system for determining the location of an object (a football) on a field of play using a plurality of cameras that acquire image data of the object and field, a processor/server that analyzes that image data to determine the object’s position, and a user interface through which an operator provides input of an approximate coordinate that is used together with the image-based location determination. See Kohler Abstract; Fig. 1; “[0040]: The present invention provides a method and system for determining the absolute position of a person and/or an object on a field of play using image analysis techniques… Static images are captured or acquired by one or more cameras and analyzed to locate a person and/or an object of interest”; “[0043]: …uses image analysis techniques to detect the absolute position of a football on a football field… The cameras are positioned such that the combined field of view of the cameras includes the entire playing field… Each data processing unit may receive images from one or more cameras, and perform image analysis to locate and determine the absolute position of the football that is at rest on the playing field, or at a predetermined moment during play”; “[0045]” (four camera nodes, cameras 110, server 116 controllable via user interface 122); “[0049]: …the approximate coordinates of the football 50 on the playing field 10 can be input into the system 100… by manually selecting a pixel coordinate on an image 110A from a camera 110… a user or an operator 44 selects an image 110A that includes the approximate coordinate of the position of the football 50 and transmits the approximate coordinate to the system 110 via, for example, the user interface 122.”
Kohler’s cameras ingest play-action imagery used to locate the ball during the sporting event, including “at a predetermined moment during play,” which meets “utilizing ingested live play action from a plurality of witness cameras” and “during broadcast play action” under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim does not recite a particular broadcast-truck architecture or require that the location be computed before the whistle, as opposed to from ingested live (or live-captured) play-action video of the event.
Jayaram is relied upon for multi-camera triangulation of a ball from video of live play, including from three or more cameras. Jayaram describes, in paragraph [0002], that 3D ball tracking used at professional sporting events for decision reviews, viewer engagement, and automatic data collection and states that data derived from the ball tracking technologies can be used by commentators and broadcasters to display interesting insights. Jayaram describes, in paragraph [0013], that computing a 3D track of a ball where video of the gaming environment is received from one or preferably multiple camera equipped devices, including by fitting a 3D track to 2D points from video frames of multiple cameras (i.e., triangulation / multi-view reconstruction of ball position from camera video). Jayaram further describes, in paragraph [0047] (as quoted by Applicant), that multiple camera-enabled devices capturing and communicating video of play, including dedicated cameras, and states that video may be communicated to the 3D ball tracking system 506 in real time or near real time (e.g., immediately following completion of a pitch or other play in the gaming environment) or may be communicated sometime after completion of the play.
Applicant’s reading of Jayaram [0047] as limiting the reference to after-the-play analysis is not consistent with the paragraph as a whole or with Jayaram as a whole. The phrase “immediately following completion of a pitch or other play” is introduced by “e.g.” as an example of “real time or near real time,” not as a definition that excludes ingestion of live play-action video. The same sentence expressly includes communication “in real time or near real time.” Jayaram [0002] and [0013], as previously shown, place the tracking in the environment of live sporting events and broadcast/commentary use. Under BRI, “live play action” and “during broadcast play action” are met by video of the actual play that is captured and processed for location during the event, which is what both Kohler (image data of the football during play; official/operator location aid) and Jayaram (multi-camera 3D track of a ball in a game, usable by broadcasters) describe. The claim does not require that triangulation complete before the play ends, nor that Jayaram itself be a television-broadcast production system.
Jayaram is not required to teach the remote-operator input used alongside triangulation. Kohler already teaches operator input of an approximate coordinate on a camera image via a user interface, used together with image-based location processing to pinpoint the ball. Combining Jayaram’s multi-camera triangulation with Kohler’s camera-based location system and operator UI yields the claimed “input … used alongside such triangulation.”
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler (US 2021/0133482 A1) in view of Jayaram (US 20230100572 A1).
1. Kohler discloses a system for determining a location of the objects during broadcast play action, comprising:
a processor configured to track an object of interest on or around a field of play during broadcast play action utilizing ingested live play action from a plurality of witness cameras, wherein the processor triangulates the location of the object of interest (Fig. 1), [0040], [0043];
a user interface configured to accept a remote operator’s input to pinpoint the object of interest, wherein the input is used alongside such triangulation to assist in pinpointing the object’s location (i.e. a user or an operator 44 selects an image 110A that includes the approximate coordinate of the position of the football 50 and transmits the approximate coordinate to the system 110 via, for example, the user interface 122), [0049], (302B: Fig. 3), (Fig. 5).
Kohler may be silent with regards to triangulating the location of the object of interest based on live play action from at least three of the plurality of witness cameras; however, utilizing at least three cameras to triangulate the location of a ball is notoriously well known as evidenced by Jayaram paragraph [0013], [0047]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Kohler with Jayaram and would have been motivated to do so to more accurately track the location of the ball.
2. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the pinpointing of the location of the object of interest is accurate to within about 3 millimeters (as can be seen in Fig. 5B-5E, it appears it is within about 3 millimeters ), (the absolute location of the ball is determined), Kohler [0043].
5. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the object of interest is a ball, Kohler [0043].
6-7. Kohler and Jayaram disclose the system in accordance with claim 5, wherein Kohler further discloses the pinpointed location of the ball is relative to a first down line and wherein the processor determines whether the ball has crossed at least partially over the first down line to determine whether a first down has been achieved, Kohler [0083], [0085].
8. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the plural witness cameras comprise at least three witness cameras (110: Fig. 1), [0045].
9. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 8, wherein the witness cameras are provided on both of either side of the field of play (110: Fig. 1), [0045].
10. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 8, wherein the witness cameras comprise at least four cameras, with two on either side of the field of play (110: Fig. 1), [0045].
13. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the plurality of witness cameras comprise more than three witness cameras; and wherein the processor selects the at least three of the plurality of witness cameras for triangulating the location of the object of interest from the plurality of witness cameras in response to a location of the object of interest in the field of play, Jayaram [0003].
14. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 13, wherein the location of the object of interest in the field of play is determined be a sensor in the object of interest, (i.e. an RFID tag may be included on or in the football 50, and a signal therefrom detected to indicate the approximate coordinates of the football 50), Kohler [0049].
15. Kohler and Jayaram disclose a system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the object of interest is occluded from view in at least one of the plurality of witness cameras (i.e. with so many cameras being used in either Kohler’s or Jayaram’s system, it is implicit that at least one of the camera will have the object of interest being occluded from view), Jayaram [0003].
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler (US 2021/0133482 A1) and Jayaram (US 20230100572 A1) as applied above and further in view of Hill (US 2016/0198228 A1).
11-12. Kohler discloses a system in accordance with claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising a second user interface to receive a second user input from a second remote operator, the second user input configured to provide animation for the broadcast related to movement, tracking or placement of the object of interest, the object of interest comprising a ball wherein the ball is shown on-screen or on a GUI as a glowing object or outline of an object. Hill disclose a user interface for a remote operator, the user input configured to provide animation for the broadcast related to movement, tracking or placement of a ball wherein the ball is shown on-screen or on a GUI as a glowing object or outline of an object [0061], [0089]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Kohler with Hill and would have been motivated to do so to allow broadcast to be tagged/annotated.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715