DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a signal to cause the at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire to adjust a timing…” and should be changed to --a signal to cause the at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire monitor to adjust a timing…--. Claims 2-10 are further objected to because of their dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watabe (U.S. 2005/0136843 A1) in view of Tandai et al. (U.S. 2018/0084406 A1).
Claim 1, Watabe teaches:
A vehicle (Watabe, Fig. 1: 1, Paragraph [0026]) comprising:
a plurality of tires (Watabe, Fig. 1: 5a to 5d);
a first tire monitor (Watabe, Fig. 1: 2) associated with a first tire of the plurality of tires (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto.), the first tire monitor including a first pressure sensing component (Watabe, Fig. 2: 21) for generating first tire pressure data associated with the first tire (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Each transmitter 2 includes a sensing unit 21, which includes a pressure sensor.) and a first transmitter (Watabe, Fig. 2: 23) for transmitting the first tire pressure data using RF (Watabe, Paragraph [0033], The RF unit 23 transmits transmission frames, wherein the controller 22 stores the detection signals from the sensors of the sensing unit 21 in the transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraph [0031]).);
a second tire monitor (Watabe, Fig. 1: 2) associated with a second lire of the plurality of tires (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto.), the second tire monitor including a second pressure sensing component (Watabe, Fig. 2: 21) for generating second tire pressure data associated with the second tire (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Each transmitter 2 includes a sensing unit 21, which includes a pressure sensor.) and a second transmitter for transmitting the second tire pressure data using RF (Watabe, Paragraph [0033], The RF unit 23 transmits transmission frames, wherein the controller 22 stores the detection signals from the sensors of the sensing unit 21 in the transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraph [0031]).); and
a computing system (Watabe, Fig. 1: 3) configured to perform operations (Watabe, Paragraphs [0036-0039], The receiver 3 includes a controller 32, which is comprised of a known microcomputer and performs predetermined processing in accordance with a program.) comprising:
receiving first timing information associated with transmission of the first pressure data from the first tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).);
receiving second timing information associated with transmission of the second pressure data from the second tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).);
determining, based at least in part on the first timing information and the second timing information, a transmission interference (Watabe, Paragraphs [0035] and [0049], It is noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).);
determining, based at least in part on the determining the transmission interference, adjusted timing parameters for at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. It is noted that the receiver 3 with an electric field detecting means can stop the detection of tire air pressure (see Watabe, Paragraph [0066]).); and
transmitting, to the at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire monitor, a signal to cause the at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire to adjust a timing associated with transmission of the first pressure data or transmission of the second pressure data according to the adjusted timing parameters (Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066], The receiver 3 can stop detection of tire air pressure in response to a strong electric field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the stopping of detection of tire air pressure to include the ability of the receiver 3, when equipped with the electric field detecting means, to cause the transmitters 2 to stop transmitting, e.g. via a command communicated thereto. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Watabe does not specifically teach:
Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE).
Tandai teaches:
BLE terminals (Tandai, Fig. 1: 3, Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Watabe by integrating the teaching of a communication between BLE terminals and other terminals, as taught by Tandai.
The motivation would be to enhance transmission efficiency (see Tandai, Paragraph [0037]).
Claim 2, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the determining the transmission interference comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the first timing information, one or more first transmission times associated with the first pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0032], Based on the time at which the transmitter 2 transmits the transmission frame, at least a first transmission time is associated therewith.);
determining, based at least in part on the second timing information, one or more second transmission times associated with the second pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0032], Based on the time at which the transmitter 2 transmits the transmission frame, at least a second transmission time is associated therewith.); and
determining the transmission interference based at least in part on one of the first transmission times being within a threshold time of one of the second transmission times (Watabe, Paragraphs [0049-0050], Watabe discloses that the radio interference detection antenna 26 can receive transmission from transmission antenna 27. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the embodiment in which receiver 3 includes the strong electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]), for the receiver 3 to be capable of detecting the interference caused by each transmission antenna 27 of each transmitter 2 associated with each wheel 2a to 2d, and subsequently associated with each tire. Thus, when each transmission antenna 27 causes interference, the respective transmission antenna 27 are transmitting within a threshold time of each other.).
Claim 3, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 2, wherein the determining the adjusted timing parameters comprises determining at least one of an altered first transmission time, offset relative to the first transmission times, or an altered second transmission time, offset relative to the second transmission times (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. The respective RF unit 23 of the first or second tire monitor adjusts the respective first and second transmission times.).
Claim 4, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 3, the operations further comprising: determining the at least one of the altered first transmission time or the altered second transmission time to maximize an offset between instances of the first transmission times and instances of the second transmission times (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the delaying of the transmissions of each transmitter 2 to maximize a time between each transmitter 2 transmitting to the receiver 3 such that the reference detection antenna 26 does not receive strong electric field noise.).
Claim 5, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 3, the operations further comprising:
receiving additional timing information associated with transmission of data using BLE (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). Each subsequent transmission by each transmitter 2 is interpreted as additional timing information.); and
determining the at least one of the altered first transmission time or the altered second transmission time based at least in part on the additional timing information, wherein the at least one of the altered first transmission time or the altered second transmission time is determined to avoid interference with the transmission of the data using BLE (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. It is noted that the receiver 3 with an electric field detecting means can stop the detection of tire air pressure (see Watabe, Paragraph [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the delaying of the transmissions of each transmitter 2 to avoid a strong electric field noise.).
Claim 6, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 5, wherein the receiving the additional timing information comprises receiving the additional timing information from a computing component configured to provide updated information to the vehicle via over the air technology (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). The transmissions are controller by the controller 22, i.e. a computing component, of each transmitter 2.).
Claim 7, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
receiving, from a computing component configured to transmit data using BLE, third timing information associated with transmission of the data (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). Each subsequent transmission by each transmitter 2 is interpreted as additional timing information, i.e. third timing information.);
wherein the determining the transmission interference is based at least in part on the third timing information (Watabe, Paragraphs [0035] and [0049], It is noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).).
Claim 8, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the signal comprises transmitting the signal using BLE (Tandai, Paragraph [0032]).
Claim 9, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein: the at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire monitor adjusts the timing associated with the transmission of the first pressure data or transmission of the second pressure data (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. It is noted that the receiver 3 with an electric field detecting means can stop the detection of tire air pressure (see Watabe, Paragraph [0066]).); and
the at least one of the first tire monitor or the second tire monitor adjusts one or more sample timings based at least in part on the signal (Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066], The receiver 3 can stop detection of tire air pressure in response to a strong electric field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the stopping of detection of tire air pressure to include the ability of the receiver 3, when equipped with the electric field detecting means, to cause the transmitters 2 to stop transmitting and/or stop collecting pressure data, e.g. via a command communicated thereto.).
Claim 10, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, further comprising: a motion sensor configured to detect motion of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Sensing unit 21 further includes acceleration sensors.), the operations further comprising requesting the first timing information and the second timing information in response to the motion sensor detecting motion of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). Thus, in the transmission of transmission frames wherein data from acceleration sensors is collected (see Watabe, Paragraph [0030]), the data is indicative of first and second timing information of the transmitting transmitter 2.).
Claim 11, Watabe teaches:
A method (Watabe, Fig. 1: 1, Paragraph [0026]) comprising:
receiving, via a transmission and from a tire monitor on a vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto.), first timing information associated with transmission of pressure data generated by the tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).), the tire pressure monitor being configured to transmit the pressure data using RF (Watabe, Paragraph [0033], The RF unit 23 transmits transmission frames, wherein the controller 22 stores the detection signals from the sensors of the sensing unit 21 in the transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraph [0031]).);
receiving, from a computing device onboard the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto. Each transmitter 2 has a controller 22 that controls the RF unit 23 to transmit stored transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0032-0033]).), second timing information associated with transmission of data from the computing device (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).), the computing device being configured to transmit the data using RF (Watabe, Paragraph [0033], The RF unit 23 transmits transmission frames, wherein the controller 22 stores the detection signals from the sensors of the sensing unit 21 in the transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraph [0031]).);
determining, based at least in part on the first timing information and the second timing information, a potential transmission interference (Watabe, Paragraphs [0035] and [0049], It is noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).); and
transmitting, to the tire monitor, a signal to cause the tire monitor to adjust timing associated with transmission of the pressure data, wherein the tire monitor is configured to adjust the timing (Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066], The receiver 3 can stop detection of tire air pressure in response to a strong electric field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the stopping of detection of tire air pressure to include the ability of the receiver 3, when equipped with the electric field detecting means, to cause the transmitters 2 to stop transmitting, e.g. via a command communicated thereto. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Watabe does not specifically teach:
Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE).
Tandai teaches:
BLE terminals (Tandai, Fig. 1: 3, Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Watabe by integrating the teaching of a communication between BLE terminals and other terminals, as taught by Tandai.
The motivation would be to enhance transmission efficiency (see Tandai, Paragraph [0037]).
Claim 12, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein the determining the potential transmission interference comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the first timing information, one or more first transmission times associated with the first pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0032], Based on the time at which the transmitter 2 transmits the transmission frame, at least a first transmission time is associated therewith.);
determining, based at least in part on the second timing information, one or more second transmission times associated with the data (Watabe, Paragraph [0032], Based on the time at which the transmitter 2 transmits the transmission frame, at least a second transmission time is associated therewith.); and
determining one of the first transmission times is within a threshold time of one of the second transmission times (Watabe, Paragraphs [0049-0050], Watabe discloses that the radio interference detection antenna 26 can receive transmission from transmission antenna 27. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the embodiment in which receiver 3 includes the strong electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]), for the receiver 3 to be capable of detecting the interference caused by each transmission antenna 27 of each transmitter 2 associated with each wheel 2a to 2d, and subsequently associated with each tire. Thus, when each transmission antenna 27 causes interference, the respective transmission antenna 27 are transmitting within a threshold time of each other.).
Claim 13, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein:
the tire monitor is a first tire monitor associated with a first tire of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto.), and the computing device is associated with a second tire monitor associated with a second tire of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto. Each transmitter 2 further includes a controller 22.).
Claim 14, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving motion data indicative of movement of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Sensing unit 21 further includes acceleration sensors which indicates movement of the tires of the vehicle.); and requesting, from the tire monitor and based at least in part on the receiving the motion data, the first timing information, wherein the receiving the first timing information is in response to the requesting the first timing information (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). Thus, in the transmission of transmission frames wherein data from acceleration sensors is collected (see Watabe, Paragraph [0030]), the data is indicative of first timing information of the transmitting transmitter 2 which is effective requested by the controller 22 from the sensors 21.).
Claim 15, Watabe in view of Tandai further teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: determining a transmission timing offset for the tire monitor wherein the transmitting the signal comprises transmitting a signal that causes the tire monitor to implement the timing offset for a transmission from the tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. The respective RF unit 23 of the first or second tire monitor adjusts the respective first and second transmission times.).
Claim 17, Watabe teaches:
The tire pressure monitoring system of claim 16.
Watabe does not specifically teach:
Wherein:
the first tire monitor is configured to transmit the first pressure data using BLE; and
the second tire monitor is configured to transmit the second pressure data using BLE.
Tandai teaches:
BLE terminals (Tandai, Fig. 1: 3, Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Watabe by integrating the teaching of a communication between BLE terminals and other terminals, as taught by Tandai.
The motivation would be to enhance transmission efficiency (see Tandai, Paragraph [0037]).
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watabe (U.S. 2005/0136843 A1).
Claim 16, Watabe teaches:
A tire pressure monitoring system (Watabe, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0026]), comprising:
a first tire monitor (Watabe, Fig. 1: 2) associated with a first tire of a vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto.), the first tire monitor configured to generate (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Each transmitter 2 includes a sensing unit 21, which includes a pressure sensor.) and transmit first tire pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0033], The RF unit 23 transmits transmission frames, wherein the controller 22 stores the detection signals from the sensors of the sensing unit 21 in the transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraph [0031]).);
a second tire monitor (Watabe, Fig. 1: 2) associated with a second tire of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0028], The transmitters 2 are attached to wheels 5a to 5d, each of which having tires attached thereto.), the second tire monitor configured to generate (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Each transmitter 2 includes a sensing unit 21, which includes a pressure sensor.) and transmit second pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0033], The RF unit 23 transmits transmission frames, wherein the controller 22 stores the detection signals from the sensors of the sensing unit 21 in the transmission frames (see Watabe, Paragraph [0031]).); and
a computing system (Watabe, Fig. 1: 3) configured to perform operations (Watabe, Paragraphs [0036-0039], The receiver 3 includes a controller 32, which is comprised of a known microcomputer and performs predetermined processing in accordance with a program.) comprising:
receiving first timing information associated with transmission of the first pressure data by the first tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).);
receiving second timing information associated with transmission of the second pressure data by the second tire monitor (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).);
determining, based at least in part on the first timing information and the second timing information, an interference (Watabe, Paragraphs [0035] and [0049], It is noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]).); and
causing, based at least in part on determining the interference, the first tire monitor to alter a transmission time of the first pressure data (Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066], The receiver 3 can stop detection of tire air pressure in response to a strong electric field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the stopping of detection of tire air pressure to include the ability of the receiver 3, when equipped with the electric field detecting means, to cause the transmitters 2 to stop transmitting, e.g. via a command communicated thereto. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Watabe does not explicitly teach:
An interference between transmission of the first pressure data and transmission of the second pressure data.
However, Watabe discloses that the radio interference detection antenna 26 can receive transmission from transmission antenna 27 (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0049-0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the embodiment in which receiver 3 includes the strong electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]), for the receiver 3 to be capable of detecting the interference caused by each transmission antenna 7 of each transmitter 2 associated with each wheel 2a to 2d, and subsequently associated with each tire. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 18, Watabe further teaches:
The tire pressure monitoring system of claim 16, the operations further comprising:
receiving motion data indicative of movement of the vehicle (Watabe, Paragraph [0030], Sensing unit 21 further includes acceleration sensors.);
requesting, from the first tire monitor and based at least in part on the receiving the motion data, the first timing information (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). Thus, in the transmission of transmission frames wherein data from acceleration sensors is collected (see Watabe, Paragraph [0030]), the data is indicative of first and second timing information of the transmitting transmitter 2.); and
requesting, from the second tire monitor and based at least in part on the receiving the motion data, the second timing information (Watabe, Paragraph [0046], The transmission frames from each transmitter 2 is one example of timing information because the transmitters 2 transmit the transmission frames at a given timing controlled by the controller 22 of each transmitter 2 (see Watabe, Paragraph [0032]). Additionally, strong electric field noise, detected by a detection circuit 24, is also an example of timing information, because the electric field noise both interferes with transmissions at a given timing and may also be caused by the transmission at a given timing (see Watabe, Paragraph [0049]). It is further noted that the receiver 3 may additionally or alternatively be provided with an electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]). Thus, in the transmission of transmission frames wherein data from acceleration sensors is collected (see Watabe, Paragraph [0030]), the data is indicative of first and second timing information of the transmitting transmitter 2.).
Claim 19, Watabe further teaches:
The tire pressure monitoring system of claim 16, wherein the determining the interference comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the first timing information, one or more first transmission times associated with the first pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0032], Based on the time at which the transmitter 2 transmits the transmission frame, at least a first transmission time is associated therewith.);
determining, based at least in part on the second timing information, one or more second transmission times associated with the second pressure data (Watabe, Paragraph [0032], Based on the time at which the transmitter 2 transmits the transmission frame, at least a second transmission time is associated therewith.); and
determining the transmission interference based at least in part on one of the first transmission times being within a threshold time of one of the second transmission times (Watabe, Paragraphs [0049-0050], Watabe discloses that the radio interference detection antenna 26 can receive transmission from transmission antenna 27. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the embodiment in which receiver 3 includes the strong electric field detecting means (see Watabe, Paragraphs [0065-0066]), for the receiver 3 to be capable of detecting the interference caused by each transmission antenna 27 of each transmitter 2 associated with each wheel 2a to 2d, and subsequently associated with each tire. Thus, when each transmission antenna 27 causes interference, the respective transmission antenna 27 are transmitting within a threshold time of each other.).
Claim 20, Watabe further teaches:
The tire pressure monitoring system of claim 16, the operations further comprising:
determining an altered first transmission time, offset relative to the first transmission times (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. The respective RF unit 23 of the first or second tire monitor adjusts the respective first and second transmission times.),
wherein the causing the first tire monitor to alter the transmission time of the first pressure data comprises causing the first tire monitor to transmit the first pressure data at the altered first transmission time (Watabe, Paragraphs [0052-0054], When strong electric field noise is detected, a power supply control signal is output to turn off the RF unit 23, effectively adjusting the timing of transmissions from each RF unit 23. The respective RF unit 23 of the first or second tire monitor adjusts the respective first and second transmission times.).
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686