DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sepe et al (US 20190048928 A1), hereinafter “Sepe”.
Regarding Claim 1, Sepe teaches a monitoring device for monitoring a rolling bearing being mounted into an application system, the monitoring device comprising:
a sensor unit for monitoring the rolling bearing, the sensor unit being configured to monitor the rolling bearing for obtaining an actual value of at least one parameter of the rolling bearing (Sepe [0040] With reference to FIG. 2, the control unit 40, in order to monitor a thrust load on a rolling bearing, may perform one or more of the following steps: [0041] preliminary step F0: obtaining a value of a bearing cage rotation speed CS and of a first race rotation speed SS; it should be noted that these values may be read directly from the sensors 60 and/or 41, or they may be calculated in any known way starting from different parameters. These values may also be estimated on the basis of a plurality of variables. […] [0042] first step F1: obtaining a first parameter FP on the basis of the values of at least a bearing cage rotation speed CS and of a first race rotation speed SS of a bearing. […] [0043] a second step F2: of obtaining a calculated value of the thrust load L (axial load) acting on the bearing, on the basis of the first parameter FP and of the first race rotation speed SS. […] the value of the load L may be derived graphically as represented in FIG. 4, or through any other suitable numeric approach. Parameters are measured and calculated for the bearing);
a processing unit configured to compare the actual value of the at least one parameter and a desired value of the at least one parameter (Sepe [0044] After the second step F2 a third step F3 may be performed, where it is verified if the calculated thrust load L is equal or above a first predetermined value L.sub.MAX. Parameter is compared to a threshold),
the processing unit being configured to control the application system to reduce a deviation between the actual value and the desired value of the at least one parameter (Sepe [00440] If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed. Control unit takes action to get parameter back to acceptable range or value ).
Regarding Claim 2, Sepe further teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to automatically select a control command out of a plurality of control commands for controlling the application system, wherein the selected control command is configured to reduce the deviation between the actual value and the desired value of the at least one parameter (Sepe [00440] If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed. Control unit takes action to get parameter back to acceptable range or value ).
Regarding Claim 3, Sepe further teaches wherein the selected control command is configured to control at least one component of the application system for adjustment of the application system (Sepe [00440] If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed. Control unit takes action to get parameter back to acceptable range or value ).
Regarding Claim 4, Sepe further teaches wherein the adjustment of the application system includes an adjustment of a parameter of the rolling bearing, in particular an adjustment of the bearing speed, the bearing load, the bearing preload, a bearing cooling system and/or an adjustment of other bearing parameters, and/or includes a shutdown of the application system (Sepe [00440] If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed. Control unit takes action to get parameter back to acceptable range or value ).
Regarding Claim 5, Sepe further teaches wherein the parameter to be adjusted corresponds to the monitored parameter (Sepe [0044] After the second step F2 a third step F3 may be performed, where it is verified if the calculated thrust load L is equal or above a first predetermined value L.sub.MAX. If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed.).
Regarding Claim 6, Sepe further teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to monitor at least one of the temperature of the rolling bearing, displacement of an inner and/or an outer ring of the rolling bearing, a speed of the rolling bearing, and a vibration of the rolling bearing (Sepe [0033] The system may also comprise, coupled to the control unit 40, a speed sensor 41 configured to read the rotating speed of a race of the bearing 16. The race of the bearing may be the inner race 16I, the outer race 16O, or both the inner and the outer race. In some embodiment the inner race 16I of the bearing 16 may be torsionally coupled to the shaft 18 of the turbomachinery; in this case the rotation speed of the shaft may be the same of the inner race. Therefore the sensor 41 may be mounted in a position of the shaft that is far from the monitored bearing 16.).
Regarding Claim 7, Sepe further teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to obtain actual values of the at least one parameter of the rolling bearing over time and to send the actual values to the processing unit for comparing the actual values over time with the desired value (Sepe [0047] In the fourth step F4 is verified if the first parameter FP falls within a first range HR and, if the first parameter FP falls inside the first range HR, the first step F1 is performed again with updated or new values (obtained in F0, see line A, FIG. 3) of the bearing cage rotation speed CS and of the first race rotation speed SS. The system iterates as new values are received and analyzed).
Regarding Claim 8, Sepe further teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the status of the application system based on the deviation between the actual value and the desired value (Sepe [0036] The system may also comprise, coupled to the control unit 40, a monitor 50 (for example a touch screen or a control panel of the machinery), which may show alerts alarms and/or any other kind of information useful to control the operating status of a machinery. Also see [0039] Furthermore the control unit 40, may show on the monitor 50 information regarding the health status of the rolling bearing 16, obtained on the basis of the method herein described. Those information may be useful for an operator that may control the machinery. Ans [0053] the bearing is skidding due to anomalous bearing conditions, which, by way of example, may comprise a lubrication problem, or any other known bearing problem. In this case an alarm (seventh step F7) may be generated. Issues determined due to the bearing indicate an anomalous state of the machinery containing the bearing.).
Regarding Claim 9, Sepe further teaches wherein the adjustment of the application system includes an adjustment of a parameter of the rolling bearing, in particular an adjustment of the bearing speed, the bearing load, the bearing preload, a bearing cooling system and/or an adjustment of other bearing parameters, and/or includes a shutdown of the application system (Sepe [00440] If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed. Control unit takes action to get parameter back to acceptable range or value ).
Regarding Claim 10, Sepe further teaches wherein the parameter to be adjusted corresponds to the monitored parameter (Sepe [0044] After the second step F2 a third step F3 may be performed, where it is verified if the calculated thrust load L is equal or above a first predetermined value L.sub.MAX. If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed.).
Regarding Claim 11, Sepe further teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to monitor at least one of the temperature of the rolling bearing, displacement of an inner and/or an outer ring of the rolling bearing, a speed of the rolling bearing, and a vibration of the rolling bearing (Sepe [0033] The system may also comprise, coupled to the control unit 40, a speed sensor 41 configured to read the rotating speed of a race of the bearing 16. The race of the bearing may be the inner race 16I, the outer race 16O, or both the inner and the outer race. In some embodiment the inner race 16I of the bearing 16 may be torsionally coupled to the shaft 18 of the turbomachinery; in this case the rotation speed of the shaft may be the same of the inner race. Therefore the sensor 41 may be mounted in a position of the shaft that is far from the monitored bearing 16.).
Regarding Claim 12, Sepe further teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to obtain actual values of the at least one parameter of the rolling bearing over time and to send the actual values to the processing unit for comparing the actual values over time with the desired value (Sepe [0047] In the fourth step F4 is verified if the first parameter FP falls within a first range HR and, if the first parameter FP falls inside the first range HR, the first step F1 is performed again with updated or new values (obtained in F0, see line A, FIG. 3) of the bearing cage rotation speed CS and of the first race rotation speed SS. The system iterates as new values are received and analyzed).
Regarding Claim 13, Sepe further teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the status of the application system based on the deviation between the actual value and the desired value (Sepe [0036] The system may also comprise, coupled to the control unit 40, a monitor 50 (for example a touch screen or a control panel of the machinery), which may show alerts alarms and/or any other kind of information useful to control the operating status of a machinery. Also see [0039] Furthermore the control unit 40, may show on the monitor 50 information regarding the health status of the rolling bearing 16, obtained on the basis of the method herein described. Those information may be useful for an operator that may control the machinery. Ans [0053] the bearing is skidding due to anomalous bearing conditions, which, by way of example, may comprise a lubrication problem, or any other known bearing problem. In this case an alarm (seventh step F7) may be generated. Issues determined due to the bearing indicate an anomalous state of the machinery containing the bearing.).
Regarding Claim 14, Sepe teaches monitoring method for monitoring a rolling bearing being mounted into an application system, the monitoring method comprising:
monitoring the rolling bearing (Sepe [0033] The system may also comprise, coupled to the control unit 40, a speed sensor 41 configured to read the rotating speed of a race of the bearing 16.)
obtaining an actual value of at least one parameter of the rolling bearing (Sepe [0040] With reference to FIG. 2, the control unit 40, in order to monitor a thrust load on a rolling bearing, may perform one or more of the following steps: [0041] preliminary step F0: obtaining a value of a bearing cage rotation speed CS and of a first race rotation speed SS; it should be noted that these values may be read directly from the sensors 60 and/or 41, or they may be calculated in any known way starting from different parameters. These values may also be estimated on the basis of a plurality of variables. […] [0042] first step F1: obtaining a first parameter FP on the basis of the values of at least a bearing cage rotation speed CS and of a first race rotation speed SS of a bearing. […] [0043] a second step F2: of obtaining a calculated value of the thrust load L (axial load) acting on the bearing, on the basis of the first parameter FP and of the first race rotation speed SS. […] the value of the load L may be derived graphically as represented in FIG. 4, or through any other suitable numeric approach. Parameters are measured and calculated for the bearing);
comparing the actual value of the at least one parameter and a desired value of the at least one parameter (Sepe [0044] After the second step F2 a third step F3 may be performed, where it is verified if the calculated thrust load L is equal or above a first predetermined value L.sub.MAX. Parameter is compared to a threshold),
controlling the application system to reduce a deviation between the actual value and the desired value of the at least one parameter (Sepe [00440] If the calculated thrust load L is equal or above the predetermined value L.sub.MAX, an overload alarm is generated (ninth step F9). The alarm may be simply displayed on the monitor 50, or the control unit 40 may act automatically according to predetermined procedures in order to diminish the value of the load L, and even to stop the turbomachinery if it is needed. Control unit takes action to get parameter back to acceptable range or value ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cella et al. (US 20190121344 A1) discloses Systems, Devices And Methods For Bearing Analysis In An Industrial Environment.
Walter et al. (US 20160146247 A1) discloses a Machine And Method For Monitoring The State Of A Safety Bearing Of A Machine.
Azarfar et al. (US 20230287936 A1) discloses a System For Monitoring A Rolling Bearing, Associated Rolling Bearing And Method.
Acur (US 20190323922 A1) discloses a Self-Learning Malfunction Monitoring And Early Warning System.
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857