DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 3/16/13, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “holding portion for controlling the magnetic therapy device” in claim 1.
Based on Applicant’s specification, the holding portion is element 110 (paragraph 34; figures 1-3), which is a handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the pins defining a cavity for receiving the pins”, which can be interpreted as a singular cavity that receives multiple pins and “magnets disposed within the cavity”, which can be interpreted as the cavity holding multiple magnets. There is no written disclosure for the configuration of a single cavity defined by multiple pins holding multiple magnets in the specification.
Claims 2-13 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “surgical steel” in lines 1-2. However, there is no formal definition in industry or definition in the disclosure as to what constitutes surgical steel
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the body” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that claims 7 and 8 recite the same limitation.
Claim1 recites the limitation “the pins defining a cavity for receiving the pins” in lines 8-9. It is not clear how pins can define a cavity for receiving themselves.
Claims 2-13 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “less than or equal to 1 to 3 inches” in lines 2-3. It is not clear how some something can be less than or equal to a range. This should be amended to --less than or equal to 3 inches--.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a mounting portion" in line 2. It is not clear if this is a new instance or refers to the mounting portion in line 6 of claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the cavities of the pins” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the cavities of the pins” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,639. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 12,053,639 disclose species that anticipates the present genus claims. The mapping of the claims is as follows:
Present Application
US 12,053,639
1. A magnetic therapy device for treating a body part, comprising:
a holding portion for controlling the magnetic therapy device;
a mounting portion attached to the holding portion;
pins attached to the mounting portion, the
pins extending away from the holding portion of the body, the pins defining a cavity for
receiving the pins; and
magnets disposed within the cavity of the
pins.
1. A magnetic therapy device for treating a body part, comprising:
a holding portion for controlling the magnetic therapy device;
a mounting portion attached to the holding portion;
first, second and third pins attached to the mounting portion, the first, second and third pins extending away from the holding portion, the first pin having a first cavity, the second pin having a second cavity, the third pin having a third cavity; and
first, second and third magnets, the first magnet disposed within the first cavity of the first pin, the second magnet disposed within the second cavity of the second magnet, the third magnet disposed within the third cavity of the third pin.
14. A method of treating a body part with a magnetic field, the method comprising the steps of:
disposing two protrusions of a magnetic therapy device on a surface of a
body part being treated so that two magnetic fields of two magnets disposed inside the two protrusions which intersect simultaneously penetrate the surface of the body part being treated.
2. A method of treating a body part with a magnetic field, the method comprising the steps of:
disposing two protrusions of a magnetic therapy device on a surface of a body part being treated so that two magnetic fields of two magnets disposed inside the two protrusions which intersect simultaneously penetrate the surface of the body part being treated; and
moving the intersecting magnetic fields over the surface of the body part being treated.
The matched language is shown as underlined sections, and italicized sections are differences in wording.
As noted in the table above, claim 1 of the patent discloses all the elements of present claim 1. The italicized sections show that the patent recites a more specific description while the present application recites a more general limitation (first, second and third pins and magnets vs pins and magnets). Thus, claim 1 of US 12,053,639 discloses a species that anticipates the present genus claim.
Regarding claim 14, claim 2 of US 12,053,639 discloses all elements of claim 14 and further recites additional components, which makes it a species that anticipates the present genus claim.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,688,311.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 10,688,311 disclose species that anticipates the present genus claims.
The mapping of the claims is shown below.
Present Application
US 10,688,311
1. A magnetic therapy device for treating a body part, comprising:
a holding portion for controlling the magnetic therapy device;
a mounting portion attached to the holding portion;
pins attached to the mounting portion, the
pins extending away from the holding portion of the body, the pins defining a cavity for
receiving the pins; and
magnets disposed within the cavity of the
pins.
1. A magnetic therapy device for treating a body part, comprising:
a body including: a holding portion for gripping by a user's hand;
a mounting portion attached to the holding portion;
first, second and third pins attached to the mounting portion, the first, second and third pins extending away from the holding portion of the body, the first pin having a first cavity, the second pin having a second cavity, the third pin having a third cavity; and
first, second and third magnets, the first magnet disposed within the first cavity of the first pin, the second magnet disposed within the second cavity of the second pin, the third magnet disposed within the third cavity of the third pin.
14. A method of treating a body part with a magnetic field, the method comprising the steps of:
disposing two protrusions of a magnetic therapy device on a surface of a
body part being treated so that two magnetic fields of two magnets disposed inside the two protrusions which intersect simultaneously penetrate the surface of the body part being treated.
14. A method of treating a body part with a magnetic field, the method comprising the steps of:
touching two pins of a magnetic therapy device on a surface of a body part being treated;
allowing two magnetic fields of two magnets disposed inside the two pins which intersect to penetrate a location of the surface of the body part being treated at the same time; and
moving the intersecting magnetic field over the surface of the body part being treated.
Regarding present claim 1, as noted in the table above, claim 1 of the patent discloses all the elements of present claim 1. The italicized sections show that the patent recites a more specific description while the present application recites a more general limitation (holding portion for gripping; first, second, and third pins; and first, second, and third, magnets vs holding portion for controlling; pins; and magnets). Claim 1 of US 10,688,311 also recites few additional components. Thus, claim 1 of US 10,688,311 discloses a species that anticipates the present genus claim.
Regarding present claim 14, claim 14 of the present application recites a singular step of disposing protrusions in a manner with an intended result of the magnetic fields intersecting (a more generic step) while claim 14 of US 10,688,311 recites two active steps (touching the pins and allowing the magnetic fields to intersect). The patent in this case discloses a more specific instance as “touching two pins” and “allowing two magnetic fields...intersect” is more specific than “disposing two protrusions” with an intended result of magnetic fields intersecting simultaneously. Furthermore, claim 14 of the patent discloses the additional step of moving the magnetic field. Thus, claim 14 of US 10,688,311 discloses a species that anticipates the present genus claim.
The limitations of present claim 2 are disclosed by claim 2 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 3 are disclosed by claim 4 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 4 are disclosed by claim 3 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 5 are disclosed by claim 5 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 6 are disclosed by claim 6 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 7 are disclosed by claim 7 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 8 are disclosed by claim 8 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 9 are disclosed by claim 9 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 10 are disclosed by claim 10 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 11 are disclosed by claim 11 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 12 are disclosed by claim 12 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 13 are disclosed by claim 13 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 15 are disclosed by claim 15 of US 10,688,311.
The limitations of present claim 16 are disclosed by claim 16 of US 10,688,311.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,688,311 in view of US 2016/0051827 (Ron Edoute et al., hereinafter Edoute).
For claim 17, the limitation of claim 15 are disclosed by species claim 15 of US 10,688,311. However, the duration of the moving step is not disclosed. Edoute discloses a method that applies electromagnetic fields for skin rejuvenation. Edoute states in paragraph 313 that the application can last from 0.01 to 100 minutes. Edoute performed a study where each side receives a 20-minute application and noticed skin improvements (paragraphs 336-375). While Edoute does not state that the application is performed for 15 minutes. Applicant’s specification states that the application can have an interval of 5 to 30 minutes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the therapy duration of US 10,688,311 to arrive at the claimed duration as noted by Edoute because a clinician is motivated to optimize therapy parameters to obtain ideal patient results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,338,347 (Chung).
Regarding claim 1, Chung discloses a device to aid with blood circulation (figures 2-4; column 2, line 1-column 3, line 6) with the following components:
a holding portion for controlling the device (cover shell, 20);
a mounting portion attached to the holding portion (contact circuit board, 22);
pins (240) attached to the mounting portion and extending away from the holding portion (see figures 2-4; pins extend down away from the circuit board), the pins defining a cavity for receiving the pins (as shown in figures 2-4; the singular large cavity receives the pins); and
magnets (231) disposed within the cavity of the pins (figures 2-4 show the cavity containing multiple magnets).
Regarding claim 10, Chung discloses the limitation of claim 1. In addition, the cover shell (20) can be considered as a upper dome shaped surface as it shares shape elements of a dome.
Regarding claim 13, Chung discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chung further shows the presence of springs (232) in figures 3 and 4 that are disposed within the cavity (column 2, lines 9-33). Due to the 112 issues of the claim Chung would meet the claimed limitation.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0051827 (Ron Edoute et al., hereinafter Edoute).
Regarding claim 14, Edoute discloses a method that uses a device used for skin rejuvenation (title; abstract; figures 1C, 1D, 5-12; paragraphs 150-369). Figures 1C and 1D show the exterior and the interior of the device. The device has at least two protrusions/electrodes (41) with an associated coil magnet (42) (paragraphs 98, 227-232, 274; figure 1C shows that the coils are in the protrusions) and is placed on a patient’s skin surface (paragraph 196). It is also noted that the claim does not specify how the fields intersect. Based on the configuration of the coils (note that the coils in 1C have a similar configuration to the coils shown in figures 5 and 6), the magnetic fields of the coils would naturally intersect in some manner and produce a magnetic field that would penetrate the surface of the body part being treated.
Regarding claim 16, Edoute discloses the limitations of claim 14. The claim does not give any guidance as to how to allow the weight of the device to apply pressure to the surface of the body part. Thus, any placement of the device on the skin surface as noted in paragraph 196 can be considered as allowing a weight of the device to apply pressure to the surface of the body part being treated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,338,347 (Chung) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2007/0129745 (Suh et al., hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 6, Chung discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not give any information about the materials of the pins. In a related area, Suh discloses a needle device that is used to facilitate blood circulation (abstract; paragraphs 16-28; figure 4). Paragraph 23 states that the needle is made of STS 304, a type of stainless steel commonly used in healthcare and medical environments. Due to the 112 issues of the claim, Suh would meet the material limitation. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung to use STS 304 stainless steel as taught by Suh as it is one of several stainless steels used in healthcare and medical environments.
Conclusion
The examiner notes that, though no art has been applied against claims 2-5, 7-9, 11, 12, 15, and 17 at this time, they are not presently allowable. The question of prior art will be revisited upon resolution of the numerous issues noted above.
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791