DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dauenhauer et al. (WO 2022/109054) in view of Sun et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., 2010).
The claims are drawn to a catalyst formulation comprising a zeolite and at least one or more metal oxide sources, one or more potassium ion sources, and one or more sodium ion sources combined to form a solid acid catalyst comprising surface defining pores and a multiplicity of acid sites on the surface, wherein a total cation to aluminum ratio is greater than 1.0 and less than 1.5. The claims are also drawn to a process for producing acrylic acid by dehydrating a lactic acid source using the catalyst.
Dauenhauer et al. teach a catalyst composition comprising a solid acid catalyst having a multiplicity of acid sites on the surfaces. The solid acid includes zeolites, such as FAU-type zeolites and LTL zeolites, including Na-FAU. The solid acid also includes a cation, including, inter alia, sodium and potassium; the zeolite comprises 12-ring pore openings, and comprises at least 0.00001 wt.% aluminum. The solid acid catalyst is used in a process for dehydrating lactic acid or an ester thereof, to yield a product comprising acrylic acid or an ester thereof (abstract; 0004-0011, 0015-0016,0031, 0052-0054, 00100).
Sun et al. teaches NaY zeolites to catalyze the dehydration of an aqueous solution of lactic acid derived from fermentation of starch (29 wt.% lactic acid) to acrylic acid. The NaY zeolite catalyst has a Si/Al ratio of 2.5± 0.03 and modified by the introduction of potassium cation using different potassium salts (abstract, pages 9082-9083). The conversion of lactic acid is over 90%, and selectivity to acrylic acid increases when using NaY zeolite containing potassium salts compared to NaY zeolite alone.
Neither reference expressly teaches a total cation to aluminum ratio of greater than 1.0 and less than 1.5, a K/Al ratio, Na/Al ratio, XRD peak ratio, as recited by the instant claims. However, the combination of reference teachings suggests that modification of NaY with potassium salts enhances the selectivity of acrylic acid in the dehydration of lactic acid, by decreasing the acidity of the acidic sites on the zeolite. A person having ordinary skill in the art would therefore manipulate the ratio of sodium and/or potassium relative to aluminum in the zeolite material such that the acids sites on the zeolite have been deactivated to such an extent that selectivity to acrylic acid is preferred, rather than compounds like acetaldehyde, which is increased at more highly acidic acid sites. The XRD peak ratio would be contingent upon that actual make-up of the zeolitic material, including Si/Al ratio, content of cations, i.e., sodium and potassium etc., and therefore would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Also, neither reference expressly teaches contacting the catalyst with a second feed stream comprising an alcohol and combining with the first feed stream for contacting the catalyst. Sun et al. teach contacting the liquid reaction product with n-butanol followed by dilution with ethanol, but does not specifically mention contacting a second feed stream containing alcohol with the catalyst.
However, the examiner finds that such a limitation would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, since such as person would know that addition of an alcohol with a stream comprising lactic acid would produce some lactate esters which can stabilize carboxyl or hydroxyl groups and improve selectivity to the desired dehydration product, i.e., acrylic acid or esters thereof.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692