DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-16, 19, and 20 are pending for consideration following applicant’s amendment filed 1/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ceroke (US Patent 4,986,502).
Regarding Claim 1, Ceroke discloses a single-piece plug 1 for a fluid reservoir 11, the single-piece plug 1 comprising: a head 3; a shaft 2 extending from the head 3 including an unthreaded shaft 5 and a threaded shaft 4, wherein the unthreaded shaft 5 is positioned directly between the head 3 and the threaded shaft 4 (as best shown in Figure 2); a conduit (the portion of groove 18 within the unthreaded portion 5, including end portion 21, is readable on the recited “conduit”; it is noted that this limitation does not require the conduit to extend through the entire thickness of the shaft) positioned in the shaft between a last revolution of threading of the threaded shaft and the unthreaded shaft (as shown in Figure 2); and a channel (the portion of groove 18 defined within the threaded portion 4 is readable on the recited channel), the channel extending transversely through each thread of the threading of the threaded shaft (as shown in Figure 2) to the conduit (the groove 18 extending through the threads to the conduit at 21), wherein while the threading is coupled to the fluid reservoir 11 at an opening 10 of the fluid reservoir, fluid exits the opening 10 by flowing along the channel before flowing past the conduit (as shown in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Ceroke discloses a fluid reservoir system (including reservoir 11), comprising: a fluid reservoir 11, including an opening 10 with a threadable attachment point (threads of threaded hole 10), a single-piece plug 1 for the fluid reservoir, the single-piece plug comprising: a shaft 2, including a threaded shaft 4, wherein the threaded shaft includes a threading extending across a length of the threaded shaft (i.e. along an axial length of the threaded shaft 4); a conduit (the portion of groove 18 within the unthreaded portion 5, including end portion 21, is readable on the recited “conduit”; it is noted that this limitation does not require the conduit to extend through the entire thickness of the shaft); and a channel (the portion of groove 18 defined within the threaded portion 4 is readable on the recited channel), the channel extending along an entire length of the threaded shaft (as shown in Figure 2) and extending transversely through each thread of the threading to the conduit (as shown in Figure 2), wherein while the threading is coupled to the threadable attachment point (as shown in Figure 5), fluid exits the opening by flowing along the channel before flowing past the conduit (as shown in Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ceroke (US Patent 4,986,502) in view of Wilkins (US Patent 7,510,053).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Ceroke further discloses a radius portion 6 (the shaft comprising the radius portion 6, analogous to a groove as required by claim 10), wherein while the threading is coupled to the fluid reservoir 11 at the opening and a seal 15 is placed at the radius portion 6, the opening is unsealed when the single-piece plug 1 is unthreaded (to a first position; claim 10, the first position including when) until the placed seal 15 is disengaged from the fluid reservoir (this is shown in Figure 5).
Ceroke does not disclose the radius portion is a plurality of grooves and a seal is placed at each of the plurality of grooves.
Wilkins teaches a plug device and further teaches (Figure 3) a plurality of grooves 144, 146 and a seal 166, 168 is placed at each of the plurality of grooves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ceroke such that the seal is provided as two separate seals in separate grooves as taught by Wilkins for the purpose of providing a redundant seal to thereby prevent leakage in the event that one seal becomes defective. It is noted that such a modification provides the grooves and seals such that the seals engage the surface of the drain hole 10 of Ceroke in the manner taught by Wilkins near the head 3 as disclosed by Ceroke with respect to seal 15.
Regarding Claim 3, Ceroke in view of Wilkins further discloses the conduit (portion 21 of Ceroke in the unthreaded portion) is positioned between the plurality of grooves (plurality of grooves in place of the singular radius 6 of Ceroke in the manner taught by Wilkins as described above) and the threading (the conduit is between the grooves and the threading in the manner disclosed by Ceroke).
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ceroke (US Patent 4,986,502) in view of Wilkins (US Patent 7,510,053) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Arneson et al. (US Patent 5,299,774).
Regarding Claim 11, Ceroke does not disclose the threading further includes a detent, wherein the first position further includes when the detent makes face-sharing contact with the threadable attachment point.
Arneson teaches a threaded valve member 60 includes a detent 110, wherein a first position (an opened position allow for communication through bores 70 and 71) includes when the detent 110 makes face-sharing contact with a threadable attachment point (abutting the wall of opening 80; col. 3, lines 44-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ceroke to include a detent as taught by Arneson for the purpose of preventing the plug from being fully removed, thereby reducing the possibility that a user loses the plug.
Regarding Claim 12, Ceroke in view of Arneson further discloses, wherein while the detent (110 as taught by Arneson as described above) makes face-sharing contact with the threadable attachment point (in the manner taught by Arneson as described above), the single-piece plug is unthreadable from the threadable attachment point (the detent prevents the removal of the plug as described above).
Regarding Claim 15, Ceroke in view of Wilkins further discloses, wherein while the threading (4 of Ceroke) is coupled to the fluid reservoir at the opening (10 of Ceroke), the opening is sealed when the single-piece plug is threaded to a sealed position (i.e. the fully advanced position of the plug), the sealed position including when the seals placed at each of the plurality of grooves is engaged with the fluid reservoir (this is achieved in the manner taught by Wilkins as described above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 19, and 20 are allowed.
Claims 4-8, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, applicant argues that Miyazono fails to teach the new limitations of claim 1 requiring a conduit between the last revolution of the threading of the threaded shaft and the unthreaded shaft. However, newly applied Ceroke teaches a conduit 21 between a last revolution of the threading (at 4) and the unthreaded shaft 5. Applicant argues that Miyazono fails to teach the channel extending along an entire length of the threaded shaft as required by amended claim 9. However, newly applied Ceroke teaches a channel 18 extending along an entire length of threaded shaft 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753