DETAILED ACTION
In Response to Applicant’s Remarks Filed 5/21/26
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 6-10, 14-15 and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enomoto et al. (US 6929324) (“Enomoto”). Enomoto discloses a seat assembly comprising: a frame (figs. 1, 2: 14 and outer portion of 15); a seat bottom connected to the frame, the seat bottom comprising a rigid support structure (fig. 2: 16; Col. 3, lines 49-53: the straight wires are rigid and may be made wavy to provide resiliency) and a suspension (fig. 2: springs 21) extending between the frame and a periphery region of the rigid support structures; wherein, responsive to a user sitting at the seat assembly, the suspension flexes between the rigid support structure and the frame to accommodate movement of the rigid support structure relative to the frame; and wherein the rigid support structure is configured to not flex in response to the user sitting the seat assembly (as discussed in Col. 3 and shown in figs. 4 and 5).
As concerns claim 3, Enomoto discloses wherein the suspension comprises a plurality of springs (fig. 2: 21).
As concerns claims 4 and 18, wherein springs of the plurality of springs extend between the frame and the rigid support structure along opposing sides of the periphery region of the rigid support structure (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claim 16, Enomoto discloses a vehicle comprising: a seat assembly comprising: a frame (figs. 1, 2: 14 and outer portion of 15); a seat bottom connected to the frame, the seat bottom comprising a rigid support structure (fig. 2: 16; Col. 3, lines 49-53: the straight wires are rigid and may be made wavy to provide resiliency) and a suspension (fig. 2: springs 21) extending between the frame and a periphery region of the rigid support structures; wherein, responsive to a user sitting at the seat assembly, the suspension flexes between the rigid support structure and the frame to accommodate movement of the rigid support structure relative to the frame, and wherein the rigid support structure is configured to not flex in response to the user sitting the seat assembly (as discussed in Col. 3 and shown in figs. 4 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto in view of Prince et al. (US 6908159) (“Prince”). As concerns claims 2 and 17, Enomoto does not teach wherein the rigid seat support structure comprises an ergonomic shape. However, Prince teaches an ergonomic panel configured to contour to the user (fig. 46: 21), as is considered old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the rigid support structure of Enomoto to be an ergonomic panel in order to provide additional comfort to the user.
As concerns claim 11, Enomoto teaches a seat assembly comprising: a frame (figs. 1, 2: 14 and outer portion of 15); a seat bottom connected to the frame, the seat bottom comprising a rigid support structure (fig. 2: 16; Col. 3, lines 49-53: the straight wires are rigid and may be made wavy to provide resiliency) and a suspension (fig. 2: springs 21) extending between the frame and a periphery region of the rigid support structures; wherein, responsive to a user sitting at the seat assembly, the suspension flexes between the rigid support structure and the frame to accommodate movement of the rigid support structure relative to the frame, and wherein, responsive to the user sitting at the seat assembly, the rigid support structure does not flex (as discussed in Col. 3 and shown in figs. 4, 5).
Enomoto does not teach wherein the rigid seat support structure comprises an ergonomic shape. However, Prince teaches an ergonomic panel configured to contour to the user (fig. 46: 21), as is considered old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the rigid support structure of Enomoto to be an ergonomic panel in order to provide additional comfort to the user.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto in view of Colsanti et al. (US 5076643) (“Colsanti”). Enomoto does not teach wherein springs of the plurality of springs extend between the frame and the rigid support structure along four sides of the periphery region of the rigid support structure. However, Colsanti teaches a similar rigid panel support for a seatback having springs extending from all four sides of the periphery (fig. 1: 28). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide springs from an additional side of the support structure of Enomoto in order to provide the desired amount of flex/support to the seat.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto in view of Prince and further in view of Colsanti. Enomoto, as modified, does not teach wherein springs of the plurality of springs extend between the frame and the rigid support structure along four sides of the periphery region of the rigid support structure. However, Colsanti teaches a similar rigid panel support for a seatback having springs extending from all four sides of the periphery (fig. 1: 28). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide springs from an additional side of the support structure of Enomoto in order to provide the desired amount of flex/support to the seat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that element 16 of Enomoto does not disclose a “rigid support structure” because Enomoto’s stating that the “the straight wires are rigid and may be made wavy to provide resiliency” describes the condition of the wires before they are formed, not the final configuration of the planar wire mesh 16. The Office disagrees. Figs. 2, 4 and 5 clearly show that the straight wire frame 16 moves in a rigid, not flexing fashion when a seating force is applied, which is consistent with the statement Enomoto’s statement that “[t]he planar wire mesh 16 may also include wavy lateral wires to provide a resiliency by itself.” As such, the straight wires shown in the drawings are rigid so as not to provide any resiliency and they made be modified to be wavy in order to provide resiliency in the wire frame itself. Applicant’s statement that this somehow describes preformed condition of the wires is without basis or reasonable interpretation of the language of the specification. The embodiment shown in the figures is therefore a rigid support element which is supported by the suspension mechanism and does not flex in response to a seated user, in similar fashion the present invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636