DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, "the insulating sleeve is jacketed on the front cover and the bottom cover" (claim 4), "the insulating sleeve is…sandwiched between the front cover and an inner wall of the protrusion portion" (claim 8), "the electrostatic protection collar is jacketed on the front cover and the bottom cover" (claim 14), and "the electrostatic protection collar is…sandwiched between the front cover and an inner wall of the protrusion portion" (claim 15), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon (US 2021/0006876).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses, in at least figure 7, an electronic device (300), comprising: a housing (410) comprising an installation opening (4211) and an internal space (4001) connected to the installation opening (¶69); a camera module (470) located within the installation opening and the internal space, and exposed from the installation opening (fig. 7; ¶69); and an insulating sleeve (412) surroundingly covered an outer surface of the camera module and located between the camera module and the housing for blocking a communication between the internal space and the installation opening (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 1. Moon also teaches wherein the camera module comprising: a photosensitive assembly (474) fixed within the internal space (fig. 7; ¶69); a support assembly (471) which is non-conductive, and located within the installation opening and the internal space (fig. 7; ¶69); and a lens set (473) supported and positioned by the support assembly so that the lens set is optically coupled to the photosensitive assembly and exposed from the installation opening (fig. 7; ¶69).
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 2. Moon also teaches wherein the support assembly is formed with a penetrating channel (4212) therein, and the lens set comprises a plurality of lenses sequentially stacked and positioned within the penetrating channel and arranged along an optical axis of the photosensitive assembly (fig. 7; ¶69).
Regarding claim 4, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 2. Moon also teaches wherein the support assembly comprising: a front cover (part connected to 471 and extending in the optical axis direction and then towards the lens assembly) located within the installation opening (fig. 7); a bottom cover (471) covering the photosensitive assembly; and a sleeve body (472) connected to the front cover and the bottom cover, wherein the insulating sleeve is jacketed on the front cover and the bottom cover and abutted against the bottom cover and an inner surface of the housing, respectively (fig. 7; ¶69).
Regarding claim 5, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 4. Moon also teaches wherein the lens set comprises a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens and a sixth lens, which are sequentially stacked within the support assembly, wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens and the sixth lens are sequentially stacked within the sleeve body, and the first lens is exposed from one end of the sleeve body (fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 11 – 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Lee (US 2015/0109526).
Regarding claim 6, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 4. Moon also teaches wherein the housing comprises: a first casing (410/421/430) (fig. 7); a second casing (410/421/430) combined with the first casing together to define the internal space therein (fig. 7). Moon fails to explicitly disclose a protrusion portion protruding from one side of the second casing facing away from the first casing, wherein the installation opening penetrates through the protrusion portion longitudinally.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moon with the teachings of Lee. Moon discloses a camera housing with an opening. Lee teaches a camera housing that includes a protrusion through which the open is located (fig. 4; 120). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using a housing with a protrusion, as taught by Lee, with the invention of Moon would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that gave further protection to the lens assembly that protrudes from the opening.
Regarding claim 11, Moon discloses, in at least figure 7, an electronic device (300), comprising: a housing (410) comprising an installation opening (4211) and an internal space (4001) connected to the installation opening (¶69); an electrostatic protection collar (412) located within the internal space (fig. 7); a camera module (470) located within the internal space, and exposed from the installation opening and disposed within a through hole of the electrostatic protection collar and the installation opening, and exposed from the installation opening (fig. 7; ¶69); and wherein a gap formed between the housing and the camera module is directly covered by the electrostatic protection collar for blocking a communication between the internal space and the installation opening (fig. 7). Moon fails to explicitly disclose a protrusion portion protruding from an outer side of the housing, wherein the installation opening penetrates through the protrusion portion longitudinally.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moon with the teachings of Lee. Moon discloses a camera housing with an opening. Lee teaches a camera housing that includes a protrusion through which the open is located (fig. 4; 120). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using a housing with a protrusion, as taught by Lee, with the invention of Moon would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that gave further protection to the lens assembly that protrudes from the opening.
Regarding claim 12, Moon in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 11. Moon also teaches wherein the camera module comprising: a photosensitive assembly (474) fixed within the internal space (fig. 7; ¶69); a support assembly (471) which is non-conductive, and located within the installation opening and the internal space (fig. 7; ¶69); and a lens set (473) supported and positioned by the support assembly so that the lens set is optically coupled to the photosensitive assembly and exposed from the installation opening (fig. 7; ¶69).
Regarding claim 13, Moon in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 12. Moon also teaches wherein the support assembly is formed with a penetrating channel (4212) therein, and the lens set comprises a plurality of lenses sequentially stacked and positioned within the penetrating channel and arranged along an optical axis of the photosensitive assembly (fig. 7; ¶69).
Regarding claim 14, Moon in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 12. Moon also teaches wherein the support assembly comprising: a front cover (part connected to 471 and extending in the optical axis direction and then towards the lens assembly) located within the installation opening (fig. 7); a bottom cover (471) covering the photosensitive assembly; and a sleeve body (472) connected to the front cover and the bottom cover, wherein the electrostatic protection sleeve is jacketed on the front cover and the bottom cover and abutted against the bottom cover and an inner surface of the housing, respectively (fig. 7; ¶69).
Regarding claim 16, Moon in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination also teaches wherein the housing comprises: a first casing (410/421/430) (Moon fig. 7); a second casing (410/421/430) combined with the first casing together to define the internal space therein (Moon fig. 7), wherein the protrusion portion protrudes from one side of the second casing facing away from the first casing (Lee fig. 4).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Li (US 2022/0294949).
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 2. Moon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the support assembly is a plastic product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moon with the teachings of Li. Moon discloses a camera support assembly with an opening but is silent as to the material. Li teaches a camera support housing (11) that may be made of plastic (¶44). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using a housing made of plastic, as taught by Li, with the invention of Moon would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that gives further protection to the camera assembly in the event of dropping.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Park (KR 20150066700A machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses the limitations of claim 1. Moon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the insulating sleeve is one of a rubber O-ring, a silicone O-ring, and a plastic O-ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moon with the teachings of Park. Moon discloses a an insulating sleeve but is silent as to the material. Park teaches a camera module that improves waterproof property and block foreign substances with the use of a sealing member (100) that may be a ring made of rubber or silicone (¶31-32). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using an O-ring made of rubber of silicone, as taught by Park, with the invention of Moon would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that gives further protection to the camera assembly in the event of dropping, water or foreign substances.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 8 and15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639