Response to Arguments
Presented arguments have been fully considered but are held unpersuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Summary of Arguments:
Applicant argues that Wang fails to disclose:
Claim 1: a padding process in which first values of first pixels in the first region are replaced with second values of second pixels, the second pixels being provided in the second region of the first picture. See Remarks Page 3, Para. 3-5, pg. 4, para. 5. More specifically, the applicant argues the process of padding unknown pixel values using already decoded macroblocks (as taught by Wang) is different from the process of replacing first values of first pixels in a first region with second values from pixels belonging to second region of an image. See Remarks pg. 4, para. 5.
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner contends that Wang does disclose:
a padding process in which first values of first pixels in the first region are replaced with second values of second pixels, the second pixels being provided in the second region of the first picture ([0063], same picture macroblock inter prediction (i.e. prediction between macroblocks belong to same picture is performed) by performing padding using a padding method in which pixel values for a current region (i.e. a first region as claimed) are a replaced with pixel values of blocks within a same picture (i.e. a second region as claimed)). Further, FIGs. 1A and 1B and [0038] teach the value for padding pixels in macroblocks along row 102 (i.e. a second region) are copied from the value of pixels in previously decoded block 104 which is within the same image 100. The examiner further contends the process of padding unknown pixel values using already decoded macroblocks (which the applicant acknowledges as being taught by Wang; See Remarks pg. 4, para. 5) is the same as the claimed process of replacing first values of first pixels in a first region with second values from pixels belonging to second region of an image as claimed and as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (Song) (US 2013/0034154) in view of Wang (US 2009/0010338).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses an encoder (FIG. 1), comprising:
processing circuitry ([0081], a microprocessor); and
memory connected to the processing circuitry ([0081], a stored program is executed),
wherein, using the memory, the processing circuitry:
generates a first picture, the first picture including a plurality of regions, the plurality of regions including a first region and a second region different from the first region (FIG. 2, [0274], a first image is partitioned into macroblocks);
obtains one or more parameters indicating the first region within the first picture ([0102], a macroblock type is determined, [0200], [0274], [0287], partition type data for each partitioned macroblock is determined and signaled);
performs an inter prediction process on the first picture ([0090], inter prediction is performed); and
writes the one or more parameters into a bitstream ([0102], macroblock type information is encoded into the bitstream, [0200], [0274], [0287], partition type data for each partitioned macroblock is signaled), wherein
the inter prediction process is performed for each block in the image ([0133], motion estimation is performed for sub blocks in an image, [0212], inter prediction Is performed on all sub blocks), and
the inter prediction process includes a padding process ([0307], padding is performed during inter prediction).
Song is silent about a padding process in which first values of first pixels in the first region are replaced with second values of second pixels, the second pixels being provided in the second region of the first picture.
Wang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a padding process in which first values of first pixels in the first region are replaced with second values of second pixels, the second pixels being provided in the second region of the first picture (FIG. 1E, the image is divided into macroblocks, [0063], during inter prediction padding is performed by copying pixels from decoded macroblocks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Song for more efficient motion estimation and encoding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488