DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 1, 2024, January 14, 2025, October 7, 2025, and June 29, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/760,672 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claims 1-2 of the instant invention, claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/760,672 also recites a battery pack comprising: a first stack including a plurality of first battery cells arranged side by side in a first direction; a second stack that is adjacent to the first stack in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and that includes a plurality of second battery cells arranged side by side in the first direction; a case that has a side wall facing the first stack and the second stack in the first direction and that accommodates the first stack and the second stack; a first bus bar module including a first bus bar that electrically connects the plurality of first battery cells and a first plate member that accommodates the first bus bar, the first bus bar module being disposed on the first stack; and a second bus bar module including a second bus bar that electrically connects the plurality of second battery cells and a second plate member that accommodates the second bus bar, the second bus bar module being disposed on the second stack, wherein at least one of the first bus bar module and the second bus bar module has a first positioning mechanism (protrusion) that has an inserted portion between the first stack and the second stack and that positions the first bus bar module or the second bus bar module in the second direction. As disclosed on pages 13-14 of the specification of copending Application No. 18/760,672, the positioning mechanism inserted between two stacks provides a battery pack in which a bus bar module can be precisely positioned. Thus, the first positioning mechanism (protrusion) hinders incorrect assembling of the first bus bar module or the second bus bar module, causing no interference when the first bus bar module and the second bus bar module are correctly assembled.
Regarding claim 3 of the instant invention, claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/760,672 includes the limitations of claim 1 and additionally recites that the inserted portion of the first positioning mechanism is press-fitted between the first stack and the second stack.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant invention, claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/760,672 includes the limitations of claim 1 and additionally recites that each of the first plate member and the second plate member has a second positioning mechanism that positions a corresponding one of the first bus bar module and the second bus bar module in the first direction by biasing the side wall of the case.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 9-10, the limitation requiring “the protrusion includes a first protrusion constituting the positioning mechanism and a second protrusion formed separately from the first protrusion” is indefinite as it is unclear how the protrusion can include two components formed separately from each other. Page 10 of the instant specification points to Figure 9 to show second protrusions (340A, 340B, 340C), which are shown as separate components from first protrusions (330A, 330B, 330C), however, it is not clear how both 330A and 340A would be considered “the protrusion” as claimed in claim 1 as a single protrusion. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as requiring at least one of the first bus bar module and the second bus bar having a first protrusion and a second protrusion, as shown in Figure 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, et al. (KR 20170042407 A), cited on IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a battery cell module including a main case (500) and a plurality of unit cell modules (100) (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-4; Fig. 1). Shown in Figure 3, the battery cell module includes a first unit cell module at the bottom left (first stack) with a plurality of first battery cells (101) arranged side by side in a first direction, and a second unit cell module directly above it (second stack adjacent to the first stack in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction) with a plurality of first battery cells (101) arranged side by side in the first direction. The main case includes a main body (510) and main cover (520) that closes the open sides of the main body (¶ [0030], Ln. 3-5). Shown in Figure 1, the side wall of the main cover supports the first unit cell module and second unit cell module in the first direction and accommodates the first unit cell module and second unit cell module. Kim teaches that a connection terminal (150; bus bar) is formed in an upper support block (130; plate member) so that the plurality of battery cells are sequentially connected in series (electrically connected) (¶ [0041], Ln. 4-7). In this case, the connection terminal and upper support block form a bus bar module. Shown in Figure 3, each unit cell module includes an upper support block with connection terminals formed in the upper support block, such that there is a first bus bar module disposed on the first unit cell module and a second bus bar module disposed on the second unit cell module. Kim further teaches that the upper support block includes a coupling projection (132; protrusion) which corresponds to a coupling groove of an adjacent unit cell unit module (¶ [0064], Ln. 1-6; Fig. 4, 8). Thus, the protrusion hinders incorrect assembly of the first bus bar module by interference. As shown in Figure 8, there is no interference when the coupling projection and coupling groove are correctly assembled.
Regarding claims 2-3, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the coupling projection includes a positioning mechanism inserted between the first unit cell module and second unit cell module, positioning the unit cell modules in the second direction. As shown in Figure 8, the coupling projection (132) includes a bent shape, such that the projection is inserted and then press-fit into position in order to correctly assemble the unit cell modules. Shown in Figure 7, the coupling projection is positioned between the first unit cell module and the second unit cell module.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above and further teaches a second coupling projection (132) on the upper support block (Fig. 4). Figure 4 shows a first coupling projection on the left side of the upper support block, constituting the positioning mechanism, and a second coupling projection (132) on the right side of the upper support block, formed separately from the first coupling projection.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above, including that the coupling projection (132) includes a bent shape, such that the projection is inserted and then press-fit into position in order to correctly assemble the unit cell modules. Kim further teaches a second coupling projection (132) on the upper support block (Fig. 4). Figure 4 shows a first coupling projection on the left side of the upper support block, constituting the positioning mechanism, and a second coupling projection (132) on the right side of the upper support block, formed separately from the first coupling projection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, et al. (KR 20170042407 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oki, et al. (JP 2020064776 A).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the edge of the upper support block (130) extends down as shown in Figure 3. Kim does not expressly teach that each of the first and second upper support blocks includes a second positioning mechanism that positions the upper support block in the first direction by biasing the side wall of the main cover.
Oki teaches a battery pack including a battery cell assembly with a plurality of battery cells, a battery module with a busbar module assembled to the battery cell assembly, a cell housing case, and a cover that covers the busbar module and engages with the cell housing case (¶ [0007], Ln. 1-5). Oki teaches that the cell housing case includes a first engaging portion (25) with a tapered surface and the cover of the busbar module (7) includes a second engaging portion (14) with a tapered surface, and the two portions engage with each other, pulling the battery module toward the cell housing case and pulling the cell housing case toward the busbar module (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-7). Shown in Figure 1, the second engaging portion (14) is formed at the lower end of the sidewall of the frame which holds the busbars. Oki teaches that this engagement allows the battery cell assembly to be biased and fixed by the cell housing case and the busbar module (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-4), further teaching that this improves vibration resistance by absorbing dimensional variations (¶ [0010], Ln. 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the edges of the upper support blocks (130) of Kim which extend down and the inner surface of the side wall of the main cover which is adjacent to the edges of the upper support blocks, to include engaging portions as taught by Oki. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the similarities in structure, as Kim teaches a busbar module with an upper support block having an edge adjacent to the side wall of the case and Oki teaches a similar structure of a busbar cover and cell housing case. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a tapered engagement portion on the upper support block frame and the side wall of the case, such that they engage with each other based on the teachings of Oki. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to fix the battery cell modules in place and improve vibration resistance.
Regarding claims 7-8, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the coupling projection includes a positioning mechanism inserted between the first unit cell module and second unit cell module, positioning the unit cell modules in the second direction. As shown in Figure 8, the coupling projection (132) includes a bent shape, such that the projection is inserted and then press-fit into position in order to correctly assemble the unit cell modules. Shown in Figure 7, the coupling projection is positioned between the first unit cell module and the second unit cell module.
Kim further teaches that the edge of the upper support block (130) extends down as shown in Figure 3. Kim does not expressly teach that each of the first and second upper support blocks includes a second positioning mechanism that positions the upper support block in the first direction by biasing the side wall of the main cover.
Oki teaches a battery pack including a battery cell assembly with a plurality of battery cells, a battery module with a busbar module assembled to the battery cell assembly, a cell housing case, and a cover that covers the busbar module and engages with the cell housing case (¶ [0007], Ln. 1-5). Oki teaches that the cell housing case includes a first engaging portion (25) with a tapered surface and the cover of the busbar module (7) includes a second engaging portion (14) with a tapered surface, and the two portions engage with each other, pulling the battery module toward the cell housing case and pulling the cell housing case toward the busbar module (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-7). Shown in Figure 1, the second engaging portion (14) is formed at the lower end of the sidewall of the frame which holds the busbars. Oki teaches that this engagement allows the battery cell assembly to be biased and fixed by the cell housing case and the busbar module (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-4), further teaching that this improves vibration resistance by absorbing dimensional variations (¶ [0010], Ln. 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the edges of the upper support blocks (130) of Kim which extend down and the inner surface of the side wall of the main cover which is adjacent to the edges of the upper support blocks, to include engaging portions as taught by Oki. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the similarities in structure, as Kim teaches a busbar module with an upper support block having an edge adjacent to the side wall of the case and Oki teaches a similar structure of a busbar cover and cell housing case. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a tapered engagement portion on the upper support block frame and the side wall of the case, such that they engage with each other based on the teachings of Oki. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to fix the battery cell modules in place and improve vibration resistance.
Regarding claims 9-10, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the coupling projection includes a positioning mechanism inserted between the first unit cell module and second unit cell module, positioning the unit cell modules in the second direction. As shown in Figure 8, the coupling projection (132) includes a bent shape, such that the projection is inserted and then press-fit into position in order to correctly assemble the unit cell modules. Shown in Figure 7, the coupling projection is positioned between the first unit cell module and the second unit cell module.
Kim further teaches a second coupling projection (132) on the upper support block (Fig. 4). Figure 4 shows a first coupling projection on the left side of the upper support block, constituting the positioning mechanism, and a second coupling projection (132) on the right side of the upper support block, formed separately from the first coupling projection.
Kim further teaches that the edge of the upper support block (130) extends down as shown in Figure 3. Kim does not expressly teach that each of the first and second upper support blocks includes a second positioning mechanism that positions the upper support block in the first direction by biasing the side wall of the main cover.
Oki teaches a battery pack including a battery cell assembly with a plurality of battery cells, a battery module with a busbar module assembled to the battery cell assembly, a cell housing case, and a cover that covers the busbar module and engages with the cell housing case (¶ [0007], Ln. 1-5). Oki teaches that the cell housing case includes a first engaging portion (25) with a tapered surface and the cover of the busbar module (7) includes a second engaging portion (14) with a tapered surface, and the two portions engage with each other, pulling the battery module toward the cell housing case and pulling the cell housing case toward the busbar module (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-7). Shown in Figure 1, the second engaging portion (14) is formed at the lower end of the sidewall of the frame which holds the busbars. Oki teaches that this engagement allows the battery cell assembly to be biased and fixed by the cell housing case and the busbar module (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-4), further teaching that this improves vibration resistance by absorbing dimensional variations (¶ [0010], Ln. 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the edges of the upper support blocks (130) of Kim which extend down and the inner surface of the side wall of the main cover which is adjacent to the edges of the upper support blocks, to include engaging portions as taught by Oki. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the similarities in structure, as Kim teaches a busbar module with an upper support block having an edge adjacent to the side wall of the case and Oki teaches a similar structure of a busbar cover and cell housing case. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a tapered engagement portion on the upper support block frame and the side wall of the case, such that they engage with each other based on the teachings of Oki. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to fix the battery cell modules in place and improve vibration resistance.
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785