DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on July 8, 2026 and July 28, 2026 concerning application No. 18/760,795 filed on July 1, 2024.
Claims 1-2, 7-9 and 21-26 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 regarding the 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered. The amendments to the claims have been entered and overcome the 35 USC 112a rejection of claims 1 and 22 previously set forth.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach “control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire first ultrasound signals at a first acquisition plane, wherein the first acquisition plane is oriented at a first angle and located at a first location, wherein the first angle comprises a first oblique angle that does not extend along the long axis or along the short axis; and control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire second ultrasound signals at a second acquisition plane, wherein the second acquisition plane is oriented at the same first angle and located at a second location, wherein a difference between the first location and the second location corresponds to movement in a direction defined by a different, second angle”, examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the updated rejection below Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the argued limitation recited above. For at least these reasons the 35 USC 103 rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Peszynski et al. (US 6592520, as recited in applicant’s 07/01/2024 IDS, hereinafter Peszynski) in view of Salgo et al. (US 20030060710, as recited in applicant’s 07/01/2024 IDS, hereinafter Salgo).
Regarding claim 1, Peszynski teaches a system for intracardiac imaging (ultrasonic imaging system 10 in fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 5-10, “the invention relates to ultrasound device and methods for imaging internal portions of the human body, and more particularly…intracardiac imaging using catheters”), the system comprising:
an intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) catheter (imaging catheter 12 in fig. 1. Col. 1, lines 6-10 disclose the use of a catheter for intracardiac imaging. The abstract additionally discloses the system is an ultrasound system meaning the catheter used for intracardiac imaging is an intracardiac echocardiography catheter) comprising:
a flexible elongate member configured to be advanced through a blood vessel of a patient into a heart of the patient (col. 7, line 55-col. 8, line 2, “catheter 12 includes…a flexible region 34”. Col. 20, lines 23-33, “catheter 12 can be easily inserted into the vasculature and placed at a desired location”, therefore the catheter is configured to be advanced through a blood vessel into a heart),
an ultrasound imaging assembly mounted at a distal portion of the flexible elongate member (transducer array 42 in fig. 2A which is located at a distal portion of the flexible elongate member), and comprising an array of transducer elements (col. 8, lines 22-45 disclose the transducer array is an array of ultrasonic transducer elements), wherein the array of transducer elements is arranged in a rectangular shape comprising a long axis and a short axis (col. 21, line 61 – col. 22, line 12 discloses the array is a rectangular array, therefore the array of imaging elements. Fig. 13 A shows the array includes a long axis and a short axis); and
a processor (the electronic circuitry of the system in fig. 1 and the system shown in fig. 5(1)-5(5) represent the processor) configured to:
control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire a plurality of ultrasound signals while the ICE catheter is positioned inside the patient (col. 6, lines 5-9, “The method also includes rotating, or oscillating over an angular range, the transducer array and acquiring ultrasound data over a multiplicity of the image planes”);
generate a three-dimensional (3D) image of the heart based on the plurality of ultrasound signals (col. 6, lines 5-9, “forming a selected tissue image of the tissue region based on the acquired ultrasound data”. col. 13, lines 29-30 disclose the acquired ultrasound data is three-dimensional); and
output the 3D image of the heart to a display in communication with the processor (col. 13, lines 32-36 disclose displaying the three-dimensional data on a display. The electronic circuitry of the system that performs the processing and sends the data to the display is considered the part of the processor in communication with the display),
wherein, to control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire the plurality of ultrasound signals, the processor is configured to:
control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire first ultrasound signals at a first acquisition plane, wherein the first acquisition plane is orientated at a first angle and located at a first location (fig. 7 shows the first imaging signals are obtained at a first angle and location. col. 6, lines 5-9, further discloses “The method also includes rotating, or oscillating over an angular range, the transducer array and acquiring ultrasound data over a multiplicity of the image planes”); and
control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire second ultrasound signals at a second acquisition plane, wherein the second acquisition plane is oriented at the same first angle and located at a second location (col. 13, lines 37-48 disclose obtaining several image planes (second ultrasound signals) over an elevational angular range while maintaining the ultrasound lines (acquisition plane) oriented at an azimuthal angular range (first angle). See fig. 4, where each image sector S-3 to S3 represents an ultrasound signal being acquired while the acquisition plane is oriented within the same azimuthal angular range (first angle)), wherein a difference between the first location and the second location corresponds to movement in a direction defined by a different, second angle (col. 13, lines 37-48 disclose obtaining the image planes over an elevational angular range (second angle) different from the azimuthal angular range in which the images are obtained at).
Peszynski does not specifically teach the first angle comprises a first oblique angle that does not extend along the long axis or along the short axis.
However,
Salgo in a similar field of endeavor teaches the first angle comprises a first oblique angle that does not extend along the long axis or along the short axis (fig. 2A recreated below shows the first plane 510 is at an oblique angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Peszynski to have the first angle comprise a first oblique angle that does not extend along the long axis or along the short axis in order to provide an optimal position for the image plane that improves diagnostic efficacy, as recognized by Salgo ([0038]).
Regarding claims 2, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Peszynski further teaches the second angle comprises a second oblique angle that does not extend along the long axis or along the short axis (fig. 7A shows the second angle is 30 degrees relative to the x-axis (axial direction) and is therefore oblique relative to the axial direction).
Regarding claim 7, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Salgo further teaches the first angle is + 45 degrees relative to the long axis and the second angle is -45 degrees relative to the long axis (fig. 2A recreated above shows the first plane 510 and the second plane 512 lie perpendicular to one another and the first plane is +45 degrees relative to the long axis and the second plane is -45 degrees relative to the long axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Peszynski in view of Salgo to have the first angle is + 45 degrees relative to the long axis and the second angle is -45 degrees relative to the long axis in order to provide an optimal position for the two planes so that the device can generate a volume image rapidly, as recognized by Salgo ([0039]).
Regarding claims 21, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Peszynski further teaches the 3D image comprises a volume image between the first angle and the second angle (col. 6, lines 5-9, “The method also includes rotating, or oscillating over an angular range, the transducer array and acquiring ultrasound data over a multiplicity of the image planes, and forming a selected tissue image of the tissue region based on the acquired ultrasound data”. The beginning and end of the angular range represent the first angle and second angle. col. 13, lines 29-30 disclose the acquired ultrasound data is three-dimensional, by being three-dimensional the image comprises a volume).
Regarding claims 22, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Peszynski further teaches the processor is configured to control the ultrasound imaging assembly to acquire all of the plurality of ultrasound signals at a plurality of acquisition planes each oriented at the same first angle (col. 13, lines 37-48 disclose obtaining several image planes (ultrasound signals) over an elevational angular range while maintaining the ultrasound lines (acquisition plane) oriented at an azimuthal angular range. See fig. 4, where each image sector S-3 to S3 represents an ultrasound signal being acquired while the acquisition plane is oriented within the same azimuthal angular range (first angle)).
Regarding claims 23, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 22, as set forth above. Peszynski further teaches the processor is configured to provide the movement in the direction defined by the second angle between successive ones of the plurality of acquisition planes (col. 6, lines 5-9, “The method also includes rotating, or oscillating over an angular range, the transducer array and acquiring ultrasound data over a multiplicity of the image planes”, therefore the processor is configured to move the acquisition plane in the direction defined by the second angle between each acquisition).
Regarding claim 24, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Salgo further teaches the first angle is -45 degrees relative to the long axis and the second angle is +45 degrees relative to the long axis (fig. 2A recreated above shows the first plane 510 and the second plane 512 lie perpendicular to one another each at 45 degrees relative to the long axis. Figs. 5A-D of Salgo further shows the plane can be rotated in either the positive or negative direction, therefore the first angle is at -45 degrees and the second angle is at +45 degrees).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Peszynski in view of Salgo to have the first angle is -45 degrees relative to the long axis and the second angle is +45 degrees relative to the long axis in order to provide an optimal position for the two planes so that the device can generate a volume image rapidly, as recognized by Salgo ([0039]).
Regarding claim 25, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Salgo further teaches the second angle is orthogonal to the first angle (fig. 2A of Salgo above shows the second angle is orthogonal to the first angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Peszynski in view of Salgo to have the second angle be orthogonal to the first angle in order to provide an optimal position for the two planes so that the device can generate a volume image rapidly, as recognized by Salgo ([0039]).
Regarding claim 26, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Peszynski further teaches the 3D image is viewable from a first viewing direction defined by the first angle and a second viewing direction defined by the second angle (col. 13, lines 37-48 and fig. 4 shows the generated 3D image generated from each image plane is viewable from a first viewing direction in the azimuthal angular range (first angle) and a second viewing direction in the elevational angular range (second angle)),
wherein the first angle and the second angle are selected based on resolutions of the 3D image along the first viewing direction and along the second viewing direction (col. 6, lines 10-49 disclose the selectable location and orientation (angle) of the data volume is selected in order to improve the tissue imaging, thereby improving the resolution of the images. Therefore the first angle and second angle are selected based on a resolution of the 3D image).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peszynski in view of Salgo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miller et al. (US 20110071395, as recited in applicant’s 07/01/2024 IDS, hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 8, Peszynski in view of Salgo teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Peszynski in view of Salgo does not specifically teach the ultrasound imaging assembly further comprises a micro-beamformer integrated circuit (IC) coupled to the array of transducer elements, wherein the micro-beamformer IC is configured to beamform the first ultrasound signals and the second ultrasound signals.
However,
Miller in a similar field of endeavor teaches the ultrasound imaging assembly further comprises a micro-beamformer integrated circuit (IC) (fig. 5B shows transmit beamformer 200A and receive beamformer 200B connected to the array 42 which is located within the distal part 30) coupled to the array of transducer elements ([0070] “transducer array 42 is bonded to an array backing 60 and the individual transducer elements are connected to an integrated circuit 62”), wherein the micro-beamformer IC is configured to beamform the first ultrasound signals and the second ultrasound signals ([0084]-[0085] and [0089]-[0090] disclose the transmission/reception of signals to and from the projection views (first and second image plane). [0097] discloses the beamformer receives the ultrasound echoes and synthesizes the scan data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of having the ultrasound imaging assembly further comprises a micro-beamformer integrated circuit (IC) coupled to the array of transducer elements, wherein the micro-beamformer IC is configured to beamform the first ultrasound signals and the second ultrasound signals of Miller to the system of Peszynski in view of Salgo to allow for the predictable results reducing the overall size of the device need to generate the images.
Regarding claim 9, Peszynski in view of Salgo and Miller teaches the system of claim 8, as set forth above. Miller further teaches the micro-beamformer IC includes a plurality of microchannels delay lines configured to apply a plurality of predetermined delays to beamform the first ultrasound signals and the second ultrasound signals ([0085] discloses each receive processor 220_i includes a delay line that delays the transducer signal and adds the delayed signal before sending the signal to a receive beamformer. [0097] discloses the beamformer receives the ultrasound echoes and synthesizes the scan data).
Conclusion
/ANDREW W BEGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798