Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group I- Claims 1-8, and 17-20 in the reply filed on 10/22/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Figure 4 has each boxed step has an arrow directed to or away from reference “A”. It is unclear what the purpose of these arrows and to what reference “A” entails. As far as the Examiner is aware, there is no mention of reference “A” in the Specification. Please either delete these arrows and references or explain its significance.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 5, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 uses the phrases “parts conveyors” in line 3, “parts staging stations” in line 5, “parts movers” in line 7, “parts conveyors” also in line 7, “parts staging stations” in line 8, and “parts movers” in line 9. The letter “s” in the word “parts” is unnecessary and presents wordy grammar, as a “part conveyor”, “part staging station”, or “part mover” would not be limited in scope to a singular part and would encompass multiple “parts”. Please remove the letter “s” in these words for smoother grammar.
Claim 5 uses the phrase “parts staging station” in line 2 and “parts staging position’ in line 3. For similar reasons to claim 1, please remove the letter “s” in these words for smoother grammar.
Claim 17 uses the phrases “parts conveyors” in line 3, “parts staging stations” in line 5, “parts movers” in line 8, “parts conveyors” also in line 8, “parts staging stations” in line 9, “parts movers” in line 10, “parts conveyors” in lines 11-12, and “parts staging stations” in line 12. For similar reasons to claim 1, please remove the letter “s” in these words for smoother grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites the limitation "the at least two robotic parts movers" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The phrase “four robotic parts movers” is found in line 8, however it should be noted that this is a narrower claim scope and therefore is not antecedent basis for “at least two”. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this phrase as “the four robotic part movers”. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites the limitation "the four end heaters" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While “end heaters” is established in claim 17, the specific number of 4 does not have antecedent basis. It is unclear if the part staging stations of claim 17 have only have one end heater, or two as suggested in pg. 8 line 20- pg. 9 line 8 of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/01/2024 as well as claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claassen (DE 19832397; PDF included with Office Action) in view of Schwaiger et al. (US 6,294,044; hereafter known as Schwaiger).
Regarding claim 1, Claassen teaches of a device for facilitates welding of polymer quadrilateral frame structures (pg. 1 lines 7-10) generally seen in Figure 7 comprising a part conveyor (conveyor belt- 50) to deliver parts from a location remote from the variable size welder (pg.5 lines 3-4), part staging stations (space areas) where parts (profiles 57-60; pg. 7 lines 33-36) are staged on adjacent carrier plates (carrier plates 62-65; pg. 8 lines 10-18); the carrier plates having end heaters one each of the four sides (heater swords/blades; pg. 8 lines 7-11). On the central part of these carrier plates are four corner clamping structures (clamping blocks 72-79; pg. 8 lines 1-5). Claassen further teaches four robotic part movers configured to reach the part conveyors and also to reach the part staging stations and end heaters (trolleys 111-114; pg. 8 line 29- pg. 9 line 6; see Figure 7). In reaching the part staging stations, the four robotic part movers are also configured to reach at least a portion of the four corner clamping structure, as the four corner clamping structures are on the part staging stations.
Claassen does not teach of having at least two part conveyors. This would constitute a duplication of parts, which MPEP 2114.04.VI.B teaches- “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In the immediate case, if different parts are conveyed in a duplicate conveyor belt of Claassen, this would not greatly change the operation of Claassen and therefore would not produce a new or unexpected result. Consequentially, since this claim limitation would lack patentable weight, this claim limitation does not differentiate over Claassen and claim 1 is therefore obvious in view of Claassen.
In the case that Applicant disagrees with the Examiner on the “duplication of parts” supporting legal rationale, the prior art also teaches of at least two part conveyors. Schwaiger teaches of three separate part conveyors (conveying paths 18, 20, and 23; see Figure 2) in conjunction with turning devices that allows parts (profiles) to be advantageously placed in the correct orientation prior to welding (col. 3 line 62- col. 4 line 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use the three separate part conveyors of Schwaiger in the apparatus of Claassen for the advantage of correctly oriented parts prior to welding.
Regarding claim 3, Claassen further teaches that the centrally located four corner clamping structure are four moveable corner clamps (pg. 8 lines 2-3; see Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, the four part staging stations of Claassen have a specific position on which the parts are staged (pg. 8 lines 17-18). The end heating plates are in the corner with the clamping blocks (pg. 8 lines 7-8) and thus on each side of the variable size welder there are two end heating plates, one being in each corner/end of the side.
Regarding claim 6, the welding of Claassen is accomplished by heating the ends of each part with a heating plate (pg. 1 lines 12-14), which in the case of 4 parts this make 8 ends to be welded.
Regarding claim 8, the four corner clamping structure of Claassen in adjustable (pg. 8 lines 2-3). A specific maximum and minimum size in operation is a manner of operating of the device. MPEP 2114.II teaches- "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since such a minimum and maximum selected sizes would simply be how the device functions, these claim limitations do not differentiate over the prior art of Claassen.
7. Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claassen and Schwaiger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Greller (US 2021/0260835).
Regarding claim 2, Claassen does not teach a finished frame removal robotic structure. Greller teaches the use of a finished frame removal robotic structure (overhead gantry system- 108) the advantage of so doing is the reduction in manufacturing floor space ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to add the finished frame removal robotic structure of Greller in the apparatus of Claassen for the advantage of reduced manufacturing floor space.
Regarding claim 7, in applying Greller as in claim 2, Greller’s finished frame removal robotic structure is an overhead gantry, which in the apparatus of Claassen would be at least partially above the four corner clamping structure and as seen in the lifting between Figures 3 and 4 the finished frames are lifted vertically in their transit to a remote location.
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Classen and Schwaiger as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ramnauth et al. (US 2004/0099372; hereafter known as Ramnauth).
Regarding claim 4, Claassen does not teach how the four corner clamps are movable. Ramnauth teaches of four corner clamps (welding units- 20) that are located on a first gantry and on a second gantry (guide rails- 26) and are shiftable linearly along lengths of the first gantry and the second gantry (“movable in the horizontal direction along suitable guide rails”) and the first gantry and the second gantry are shiftable relative to one another (via mounting rail 26a; [0037]-[0038]; see Figure 11). The advantage of so doing is that such a system is accommodating of window frames of different widths ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use the gantry suggestion of Ramnauth in the apparatus of Claassen for the advantage of being accommodating of window frames of different widths.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 17-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art of record is Claassen. Claassen teaches of a device for facilitates welding of polymer quadrilateral frame structures (pg. 1 lines 7-10) generally seen in Figure 7 comprising a part conveyor (conveyor belt- 50) to deliver parts from a location remote from the variable size welder (pg.5 lines 3-4), part staging stations (space areas) where parts (profiles 57-60; pg. 7 lines 33-36) are staged on adjacent carrier plates (carrier plates 62-65; pg. 8 lines 10-18); the carrier plates having end heaters one each of the four sides (heater swords/blades; pg. 8 lines 7-11). On the central part of these carrier plates are four corner clamping structures (clamping blocks 72-79; pg. 8 lines 1-5). Claassen further teaches four robotic part movers configured to reach the part conveyors and also to reach the part staging stations and end heaters (trolleys 111-114; pg. 8 line 29- pg. 9 line 6; see Figure 7). In reaching the part staging stations, the four robotic part movers are also configured to reach at least a portion of the four corner clamping structure, as the four corner clamping structures are on the part staging stations.
Claassen does not teach of having at least two part conveyors.
Since the four part staging stations and the four corner clamping structure are in the same position in Claassen, the apparatus of Claassen is unable and therefore does not teach or render obvious that the four robotic part movers are configured to place parts onto the four part staging stations and then transfer the parts to the four corner clamping structure.
10. The subject matter of dependent claim 18 is addressed in the above rejections of claims 2, 7, and 6; the subject matter of dependent claim 19 is addressed in above rejections of claims 3 and 4; and the subject matter of dependent claim 10 is addressed in the above rejection of claim 8.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745