DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
China Patent CN 113748920 to Li et al.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Li teaches a plant limb training apparatus, comprising: a first plate (Li Fig. 1 #2), wherein the first plate comprises a bar (Li Fig. 5 #13) extending outward at a first fulcrum portion, wherein the first plate comprises a first support arm (Li Fig. 1 #5) extending
outward from the first plant near a distal end of the first plate, wherein a pin (Li Fig. 5 #8) is disposed on the first support arm extending partially toward the bar; and a second plate (Li Fig. 1 #1), wherein the second plate comprises a hole (Li Fig. 4 #14) at a second fulcrum portion, wherein the second plate comprises a second support arm (Li Fig. 1 #6) extending outward from the second plate near a distal end of the second plate, wherein a rounded edge of the second plate near the second fulcrum portion comprises a partial gear (Li Fig. 4 #7), and wherein the bar of the first plate is disposed in the hole of the second plate thus creating a fulcrum point at the first and second fulcrum portions, and the pin on the first support arm is substantially close to the partial gear of the second plate (Li Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Li teaches the pin (Li Fig. 5 #19) is configured to rotationally
engage the partial gear (Li Fig. 4 #7 and Fig. 1; Fig. 2 angles a).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Li teaches when the second plate is disposed on the first
plate, the second plate rotates at the fulcrum point and is locked into place at each dedendum of
the partial gear (Li Fig. 3 #1 and #2 and Fig. 4 #7 and Fig. 5 #16, #8).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Li teaches one or more additional support arms are
disposed on the first plate and/or the second plate (Li Fig. 1 #5 at fulcrum area).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Li teaches wherein the first plate and the second plate are
one solid piece (Li Fig. 4 #1 and Fig. 5 #2).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Li teaches the bar (Li Fig. 5#13) and the first support arm
(Li Fig. 1 #5 are distal end of #2) each extend outward from the first plate at an approximately
90 degree angle, and the second support arm (Li Fig. 1 #6) extends outward from the second
plate at an approximately 90 degree angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by
China Patent CN 113748920 to Li et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 0115,063 to Keffer.
Regarding Claims 2, 3, 10 and 11, Li is silent on wherein one or more nubs are disposed
on the bar on the first plate; wherein the hole on the second plate comprises one or more
notches in the shape of the one or more nubs on the bar on the first plate. However, Keffer
teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is old and notoriously
well-known to provide one or more nubs on a bar that is received in a hole, and the hole
comprises one or more notches in the shape of the one or more nubs (Keffer Fig. 6 bar E, nub
g; Fig. 7 notch f). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
teachings of Li with the teachings of Keffer before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention with a reasonable expectation of success lock into position as taught by Keffer. The
modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for
improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are more detailed than the claim limitations and applicant references structure in the specification that is described in more structural detail than the structure presented in the claim limitations.
The examiner maintains that the first support arm is Li #6 and the second support arm is Li #5 (Li Fig. 3). Both support arms are extending outward from their respective plate near a distal end of each respective plate.
The examiner maintains that Li bar #13 is received in the hole #14 of the second plate. The claim language “outwardly extending” is not structurally descriptive. Li #13 is outwardly extending because applicant hasn’t claim how far it extends relative to other portions of the apparatus. Since Li #13 points in a direction away from the plate #2 it satisfies the broad claim language of outwardly extending. Also, the bar of Li #13 is not completely enclosed on all sides, the direction it is pointing towards is unobstructed.
Applicant argues that Li is an internal ratchet system, but applicant’s claim language does not distinguish from internal or external. Merely claiming a “partial gear” on the edge does not distinguish. For example, a partial gear could merely be one piece of the gear (one half) and the piece that mates with it (the second half) is another partial piece of the gear. Together the two pieces make a whole gear. The claim language lends to a broad interpretation. Applicant hasn’t claim teeth around only a portion of the outside edge of the plate. Applicant hasn’t claimed that the pin is on the surface of the first plate extending perpendicular and connected directly to the first support arm. Applicant doesn’t claim the pin is received in a space between adjacent teeth on the second plate. Applicant merely claims a pin disposed on the first arm substantially close to the partial gear on the second plate. The claim doesn’t even require them to touch, but merely to be close. The pin of Li #8 is disposed on the first support arm #6 via the first plate Li #2. The claim does not require the pin to be in direct contact and doesn’t structurally claim the connection between the two parts. “Disposed on” is satisfied via the plate Li #2. Li #8 and Li #6 are connected via Li #2 and are therefore disposed on each other. Applicant needs to provide more structural clarity to the claims as depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 1. Li satisfies the limitations of the claim arrangements taken as a whole. The examiner has demonstrated that the structure of Li reads on the broad nature of the claim limitations.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 197
The modification of Li with the teachings of Keffer merely takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made. The examiner provided motivation for the combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Li with the teachings of Keffer before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to lock into position as taught by Keffer. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.1).
The examiner maintains that applicant hasn’t patentably distinguished over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA M VALENTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
20 October 2026