This office action is in response to the claims filed 7/1/24. Claims 1-12 are pending in the instant application.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the portable frame (claim 1).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the language “the infrasound range” (line 4-5) lacks antecedent basis in the claim but does not rise to the level of indefiniteness as one would recognize the inherency of an infrasound range (with regards to humans to which the application is directed); Examiner suggests amending to read –an infrasound range--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “vibration-inducing element” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term "substantially against the skull" in claim 1 line 9 (emphasis added) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not known what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being held substantially against the skull.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the user" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term "substantially against the fascia" in claim 9 line 2 (emphasis added) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not known what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being held substantially against the fascia.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, and 10-12 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner (2013/0303953) in view of Doochin et al. (2014/0276193) and Erikson et al. (7,633,835).
Regarding claim 1, Lattner shows a device for disrupting a vestibular system (see Fig. 2-13 for example) including a power source 130 (see para. 0049); a signal generator connected to the power source and configured to generate a signal comprising a tone at a user-selectable frequency in the infrasound range (see para. 0049-0051, microprocessor 110 generating signals, see para. 0019 which teaches frequency range of 1-40 Hz, including infrasound frequencies, thus being obvious to provide such frequencies as 1-30 Hz, completely encompassed by the disclosed range and to provide desired frequency level to the treatment signal); a vibration-inducing element connected to the signal generator and configured to convert the signal into physical vibrations (vibrating-inducing element 20, see para. 0049); the power source, signal generator, and vibration-inducing element disposed in a portable frame capable of being held substantially against the skull of an animal near the animal's ear, the vibration-inducing element configured to transmit the physical vibrations to a vestibular system of the animal via the animal's skull (see Fig. 3-9 and para. 0056 for example; Fig. 9 and para. 0085 in particular which discloses that the device 10a is self-contained within a frame as shown in Fig. 9). Lattner is silent as to the signal generator explicitly delivering signals having a sine wave pattern; however, a sinusoidal waveform is well-known in the art. Furthermore, Doochin teaches a similar device which includes a signal generator producing signals having a sine wave pattern (see Doochin para. 0006 which discloses various types of waveform signals, including sine waveform) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the Lattner device's signal generator to produce a sine wave, as taught by Doochin, as this is a well-known type of signal waveform in the art and one would expect the modified Lattner device to perform equally as well utilizing a sine waveform. The now modified Lattner device is silent as to the signal having an average output power level of between 100 and 150 decibels; however, Erikson teaches that providing low frequency signals at high decibel levels (including 100-150 dB range) provides audible tones (see Erikson col. 1 ln. 62-67) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device’s signal generator to produce an output power level of between 100 to 150 dB, as taught by Erikson in order to provide an audible tone treatment to provide a desired level of treatment to a particular user.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Lattner device's infrasound range includes frequency range of between 10 and 30 Hz (see Lattner para. 0019, it would have been obvious to choose values between 10 and 30 Hz in order to provide a particular treatment level/frequency).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Lattner device’s power source is a battery (see Lattner para. 0049).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Lattner device is silent as to the signal generator including an amplifier; however, amplifiers providing in such a device as modified Lattner device is well-known in the art. Furthermore, Doochin teaches a similar device which includes a signal generator having an amplifier (see Doochin para. 0023), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device to further include an amplifier, as taught by Doochin, in order to amplify the signal provided by the signal generator.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Lattner device’s vibration-inducing element is configured to be implantable under the animal’s skin and held substantially against fascia covering the skull (see Lattner para. 0015 & 0056 and Fig. 12-13).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, and Erikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shafieloo (2014/0350441).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lattner device is silent as to the power source being a USB port; however, this is a well-known type of power supply device in the art. Furthermore, Shafieloo teaches a similar device which includes a power supply in the form of a USB port (see Shafieloo para. 0015 & 0034), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device's power supply to be a USB port, as taught by Shafieloo, in order to provide the ability to both power the device and interface with a personal computer.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, and Erikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Veitl (2013/0237746).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lattner device is silent as to the output power level explicitly being able to be adjusted by the user; however, adjustable volume/power level is well-known in the art. Furthermore, Veitl teaches a similar device which includes user adjustable power levels (see Veitl para. 0044 and 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device's output power level to be adjustable by the user, as taught by Veitl, in order to provide the user the ability to tailor the treatment to his/her requirements.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, and Erikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kania (6,443,913).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Lattner device is silent as to providing an acceleration sensor in the portable frame such that the output level is varied in response to sensed acceleration/deceleration change. However, Kania teaches a similar treatment device which includes an acceleration sensor which is utilized in a feedback control of the therapy (see Kania col. 2 ln. 32-67 and col. 6 ln. 34-65 for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device to further include an acceleration sensor for feedback control of the device, as taught by Kania, in order to provide the ability of the device to treat a user who is traveling.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, and Erikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kania and Butnaru (5,966,680).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Lattner device is silent as to including an orientation sensor in the portable frame such that the output level is varied in response to sensed orientation change. However, Butnaru teaches a similar device which utilizes orientation sensors for control and Kania teaches a similar device which includes using positional sensors (acceleration sensor for example) for in a feedback control of the level of therapy (see Kania col. 2 ln. 32-67 and col. 6 ln. 34-65 for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device to include an orientation sensor, as taught by Butnaru, to provide for feedback control of the level of therapy provided by the device, as taught by Kania, in order to provide treatment to a user who is traveling.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, and Erikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mark (4,558,703).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lattner device is silent as to providing the frame to be configured to attach to or incorporated into a vehicle, helmet, seat, or headrest; however, Mark teaches a similar device which is configured to attach to or be incorporated into a vehicle, helmet, seat, or headrest (see Mark col. 1 ln. 47-58 and col. 2 ln. 11-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device to be attached/incorporated into a vehicle, helmet, seat, or headrest, as taught by Mark, in order to provide an alternative means of providing the therapy device to the patient (helmet of Mark versus the headset of Lattner).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, Erikson, and Mark as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kania.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Lattner device is silent as to providing an acceleration sensor in the portable frame such that the output level is varied in response to sensed acceleration/deceleration change. However, Kania teaches a similar treatment device which includes an acceleration sensor which is utilized in a feedback control of the therapy (see Kania col. 2 ln. 32-67 and col. 6 ln. 34-65 for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device to further include an acceleration sensor for feedback control of the device, as taught by Kania, in order to provide the ability of the device to treat a user who is traveling.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner, Doochin, Erikson, and Mark as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kania and Butnaru.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lattner device is silent as to including an orientation sensor in the portable frame such that the output level is varied in response to sensed orientation change. However, Butnaru teaches a similar device which utilizes orientation sensors for control and Kania teaches a similar device which includes using positional sensors (acceleration sensor for example) for in a feedback control of the level of therapy (see Kania col. 2 ln. 32-67 and col. 6 ln. 34-65 for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified Lattner device to include an orientation sensor, as taught by Butnaru, to provide for feedback control of the level of therapy provided by the device, as taught by Kania, in order to provide treatment to a user who is traveling.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,426 in view of Lattner and Doochin.
Regarding instant claim 1, patent claim 2 discloses each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see patent claim 2 which discloses infrasound range of the signal, patent claim 1 setting forth the power source, signal generation, and vibration inducing element to be secured to the skull and transmit physical vibrations to disrupt vestibular system), but is silent as to the signal having a sine wave pattern and to be user selectable frequency and the structural elements housed within a portable frame; however, Lattner and Doochin teach these features (see Lattner: para. 0049-0051, Fig. 3-9 and para. 0056 for example; Fig. 9 and para. 0085 in particular which discloses that the device 10a is self-contained within a frame as shown in Fig. 9; Doochin: para. 0006 which discloses various types of waveform signals, including sine waveform). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 2 device to include such features, as taught by Lattner and Doochin, in order to provide desired signal shape/waveform and structural element to house the components.
Also regarding instant claim 1, patent claim 1 discloses each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see patent claim 1 setting forth the power source, signal generation, and vibration inducing element to be secured to the skull and transmit physical vibrations to disrupt vestibular system), but is silent as to the signal having a sine wave pattern and to be user selectable frequency in the infrasound range and the structural elements housed within a portable frame; however, Lattner and Doochin teach these features (see Lattner: para. 0049-0051, para. 0019 which teaches frequency range of 1-40 Hz, including infrasound frequencies, Fig. 3-9 and para. 0056 for example; Fig. 9 and para. 0085 in particular which discloses that the device 10a is self-contained within a frame as shown in Fig. 9; Doochin: para. 0006 which discloses various types of waveform signals, including sine waveform). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 1 device to include such features, as taught by Lattner and Doochin, in order to provide desired signal shape/waveform and structural element to house the components.
Instant claims 2-3 correspond to patent claims 2-3, respectively. Instant claims 5-8 correspond to patent claims 5-8, respectively. Regarding instant claim 9, modified patent claim 2, in view of Lattner, discloses an implantable device (see Lattner para. 0015 & 0056 and Fig. 12-13). Instant claim 10 corresponds to patent claim 9.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,426 in view of Lattner, Doochin, and Shafieloo.
Regarding instant claim 4, patent claim 4 discloses the power source including an electrical port, but is silent as to the port explicitly being a USB port; however, this is a well-known type of power supply device in the art. Furthermore, Shafieloo teaches a similar device which includes a power supply in the form of a USB port (see Shafieloo para. 0015 & 0034), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified patent claim 4 device's power supply to be a USB port, as taught by Shafieloo, in order to provide the ability to both power the device and interface with a personal computer.
Claims 10-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,426 in view of Lattner, Doochin, and Mark.
Regarding instant claim 10, patent claim 7 or 8 include an acceleration sensor and orientation sensor, respectively, for controlling the signal processor based thereon, but is silent as to providing the frame to be configured to attach to or incorporated into a vehicle, helmet, seat, or headrest; however, Mark teaches a similar device which is configured to attach to or be incorporated into a vehicle, helmet, seat, or headrest (see Mark col. 1 ln. 47-58 and col. 2 ln. 11-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the modified patent claim 7 or 8 device to be attached/incorporated into a vehicle, helmet, seat, or headrest, as taught by Mark, in order to provide an alternative means of providing the therapy device to the patient.
Instant claim 11 corresponds to patent claim 7. Instant claim 12 corresponds to patent claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Gibson-Horn (2016/0051793), Lenhardt (2005/0201574), and Snow (2017/0135896).
/COLIN W STUART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785