DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 19, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the computing device.” Parent claim 1 is instead directed to “a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium.”
Claim 20 is rejected for depending on claim 19 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, 13-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2017/0048615 A1 – cited in IDS), hereinafter “Son,” in view of Lu et al. (US 2018/0068670 – cited in IDS), hereinafter “Lu.”
As to claim 1, Son discloses a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform a set of operations (¶0031) comprising:
analyzing a parameter of an audio signal associated with a first volume level to determine a classification group associated with the audio signal (¶0072-0074, Figs. 1b and 2. Processor checks the property information of the audio signal. Property information includes number of channels, audio quality, audio type (voice, music, etc.), and volume level.);
determining an input volume of the audio signal (¶0072-0074, Figs. 1b and 2. Processor checks volume level of the audio signal.);
applying a compression value to the audio signal, wherein the compression value modifies the second volume level to a third volume level that satisfies a target volume threshold (¶0074, Figs. 1b and 2. “The processor 160 may adjust the dynamic range corresponding to the volume level of the audio signal in such a way of increasing the dynamic range when the energy level of the input audio signal is greater than a predetermined energy level and of decreasing the dynamic range when it is less than or equal to the predetermined level.” The examiner takes official notice that using a compressor is a common tool for dynamic range control and is well-known in the art.).
Son does not expressly disclose a neural network; and
in response to the determining the classification group and the input volume, applying a gain value to the audio signal, wherein the gain value modifies the first volume level to a second volume level.
Lu discloses a neural network (Lu, ¶0108. “The audio classifier 200 is for classifying an audio signal into at least one audio type in real time. It automatically identifies the audio types of the content on playback. Any audio classification technologies, such as through signal processing, machine learning, and pattern recognition, can be applied to identify the audio content.” Neural network is a type of machine learning.); and
in response to the determining the classification group and the input volume, applying a gain value to the audio signal, wherein the gain value modifies the first volume level to a second volume level (Lu, ¶0018 and ¶0264. Volume leveler adjusts the volume level in a continuous manner based on the content type as identified. Son, ¶0074 already discloses the possibility of applying gain to the corresponding volume level to increase or decrease the volume of the audio signal.).
Son and Lu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to audio classification.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the volume, as taught by Lu. The motivation would have been to prevent the user from having to adjust the volume frequently (Lu, ¶0263).
As to claim 2, Son in view of Lu does not expressly disclose wherein applying a compression value to the audio signal further comprises: (i) if the gain value increases, the compression value is decreased; and (ii) if the gain value decreases, the compression value is increased.
However, Son (¶0074) does disclose applying gain to and adjusting the dynamic range of the audio signal.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to inversely adjust compression and gain. The motivation would have been it was obvious to try, choosing from the finite solutions of having the compression increase when the gain is increased, decrease when the gain is increased, or not adjusted when the gain is increased. All of which would have a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 3, Son in view of Lu discloses wherein the set of operations further comprises determining if a source of the input audio signal has changed (Son, ¶0071-0072. Audio signal detected during voice call, music playback, etc. The processor determining property information based on voice or music implies that a change in source (voice call or music playback) is determined.).
As to claim 5, Son in view of Lu discloses wherein the classification group comprises at least one of: (1) a genre of music represented by the input audio signal, (2) a time period of music represented by the input audio signal, and (3) a presence of an instrument in music represented by the input audio signal (Lu, ¶0118 and ¶0196. Music classified based on genre, instruments, tempo, etc.).
The motivation would have been for more specified adjustments.
As to claim 6, Son in view of Lu discloses wherein the set of operations further comprises determining a classification gain value based on the classification group and the input volume (Lu, ¶0018 and ¶0264. Volume leveler adjusts the volume level in a continuous manner based on the content type as identified.).
The motivation is the same as claim 1 above.
Claims 9 and 17 are directed towards substantially the same subject matter as claim 1 and are therefore rejected using the same motivation as claim 1 above.
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under claims 9 using the same motivation as claims 2-3 and 5-6 above.
Claim 18 is rejected under claim 17 using the same motivation as claim 2 above.
Claim 19 is rejected under claim 1 using the same motivation as claim 3 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-8, 12 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES K MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695