DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/25 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalman et al. (US 2021/0376932 A1) and Trezza (US 6,527,456 B1).
Re. Claim 1, Kalman et al. discloses a microLED-based communication system, comprising:
an array 311 of microLEDs 321 (Fig. 3; [0028]-[0029]);
an array 319 of photodetectors 320 (Fig. 3; [0028]-[0029]); and
an optical-fiber bundle 315 including a plurality of fiber elements, with first end faces of the fiber elements positioned to receive light generated by the array 311 of microLEDs 321, and with a second end face of the fiber elements positioned to provide light to the array 319 of photodetectors 320 (Fig. 3; [0028]-[0029]).
However, Kalman et al. does not disclose the bundle 315 having a structure wherein the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another, with the optical-fiber bundle having a 90 degree away from the end faces of the fiber elements, the fiber elements not fixed in position relative to one another within the 90-degree bend.
Trezza discloses an optical fiber bundle 1 including a plurality of fiber elements, with a first end face of the fiber elements positioned to receive light generated by an array of emitters 2, and with a second end face of the fiber elements positioned to provide light to the array of photodetectors 3 (Fig. 1; col. 11 lines 26-42). The first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another, with the optical-fiber bundle having a 90-degree away from the end faces of the fiber elements, the fiber elements not fixed in position relative to one another within the 90-degree bend (Fig. 2; col. 11 lines 56-67; col. 12 lines 1-11).
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Trezza discloses the arrangement enables ring network topology (col. 12 lines 1-11).
Re. Claim 6, Kalman et al. and Trezza render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Trezza also discloses a ferrule 5, the ferrule configured to maintain the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another (Fig. 2; col. 11 lines 62-67). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 7, Kalman et al. and Trezza render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Trezza also discloses a portion of an assembly fixture 5, the portion of the assembly fixture configured to maintain the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another (Fig. 2; col. 11 lines 62-67). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 8, Kalman et al. and Trezza render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Trezza also discloses the portion of the assembly fixture comprises a circumferential wall (e.g., surrounding bundle 1; Fig. 2). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 10, Kalman et al. and Trezza render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Trezza also discloses a frame 5, the frame configured to maintain the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another (Fig. 2; col. 11 lines 62-67). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 11, Kalman et al. and Trezza render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Trezza also discloses the frame includes a circumferential wall (e.g., surrounding bundle 1; Fig. 2), with the circumferential wall configured to maintain the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another (Fig. 2; col. 11 lines 62-67). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Claim(s) 2-5, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalman et al. (US 2021/0376932 A1) and Trezza (US 6,527,456 B1), in further view of Tourne (US 6,594,435 B2).
Re. Claim 2, Kalman et al. and Trezza render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. As discussed above, Trezza discloses a connector 5 housing a portion of the optical fiber bundle 1 about the first end faces of the fiber elements (Fig. 2; col. 11 lines 62-67).
However, Trezza does not disclose a connector arrangement wherein the optical-fiber bundle having a 90-degree bend within the connector.
Tourne discloses a connector 100 for coupling an optical fiber bundle to a backplane 200 (Figs. 1-2; col. 3 lines 1-11), wherein the connector houses a portion of the optical fiber bundle about the first end faces of the fiber elements, wherein optical fiber bundle has a 90-degree bend within the connector housed in cavity 120 (Fig. 3; col. 3 lines 12-19).
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Tourne discloses the connector cavity provides stable connection that reduces strain on the fiber bundle (Tourne: col. 1 lines 48-61).
Re. Claim 3, Kalman et al., Trezza, and Tourne render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Tourne also discloses the connector 100 includes at least one alignment pin 130 proximate to the first end faces of the fiber elements (Figs. 3-4; col. 3 lines 18-21). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 4, Kalman et al., Trezza, and Tourne render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Tourne also discloses a ferrule 110, the ferrule configured to maintain the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another (Fig. 3; col. 3 lines 14-16). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 5, Kalman et al., Trezza, and Tourne render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Tourne also discloses the ferrule is within the housing (Fig. 3; col. 3 lines 14-16). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 9, Kalman et al., Trezza, and Tourne render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Tourne also discloses the first end faces of the fiber elements are fixed in position relative to one another by adhesive (e.g., glue section; Fig. 3). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 12, Kalman et al., Trezza, and Tourne render obvious the microLED-based communication system as discussed above. Tourne also discloses the connector (e.g., “frame”) includes a circumferential wall and interior walls extending between different sides of the circumferential wall (e.g., silicon V-groove substrate 110 inherently comprise a circumferential wall and interior walls between different sides of the circumferential wall) with the circumferential wall and the interior walls configured to maintain the first end faces of the fiber elements fixed in position relative to one another (Fig. 3; col. 3 lines 14-16). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 6/18/26