This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 2-21 are pending in the case. Claim(s) 16-21 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments with regards to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 rejection of claim(s) 2-21 have been considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims are allowable due to the following:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the amended claims do not preclude “the number of accessed content items related to a topic” from being a single content item as disclosed by Chao.
Chao [59-61, 87, 166, 6] discloses based on determined access for a webpage (at least one access) within a period of time, bookmark mode may be enabled and bookmark category may be created, bookmark may be data structure for topic, webpage bookmarks may be added to existing categories (multiple webpages in same category)
and therefore sufficiently teaches based at least in part on the number of accessed content items related to the[[a]] topic and the time period: enabling, for the device, a bookmark mode for the topic; generating a bookmark data structure for the topic, wherein the bookmark data structure is configured for storing data for a plurality of bookmarks for the topic.
Regarding claim(s) 3-8 and 10-21, applicant argues that the claims are allowable for reasons similar to those references with regards to claims 2 and 9 above.
For reasons similar to those discussed above with regards to claim claims 2 and 9 examiner asserts that the previously cited art sufficiently teaches the amended claims 3-8 and 10-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites “wherein each of the plurality of bookmarks comprises at least one of a respective bookmark format, a respective bookmark title, a respective universal resource locator (URL), or a respective timestamp”.
The original specification does not teach bookmarks comprising ... a respective bookmark format, and therefore does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of bookmarks comprises ... a respective bookmark format”.
The original specification discloses ““wherein each of the plurality of bookmarks comprises at least one of ...a respective bookmark title, a respective universal resource locator (URL), or a respective timestamp”,
but is silent regarding “wherein each of the plurality of bookmarks comprises ... a respective bookmark format”.
Therefore the above noted limitations of claim 16 do not have support in the original specification.
Claim 21 recites “wherein the bookmark data structure comprises at least one of a tree, a hierarchy, a menu, a mind-map, a linked list, a chart, or a graph”
The original specification does not teach “wherein the bookmark data structure comprises at least one of ...a menu, a mind-map, ... a chart, or a graph”, and therefore does not teach “wherein the bookmark data structure comprises at least one of a tree, a hierarchy, a menu, a mind-map, a linked list, a chart, or a graph”
The original specification
discloses
- wherein the bookmark data structure comprises at least one of a tree, a hierarchy, ... a linked list, and
- wherein the bookmark data structure is displayed as a menu, a mind-map, ...a chart, or a graph,
but is silent regarding “wherein the bookmark data structure comprises at least one of ...a menu, a mind-map, ... a chart, or a graph”.
Therefore the above noted limitations of claim 21 do not have support in the original specification.
Applicant is requested to make appropriate amendments to the claims or clearly point of the specific portions of paragraphs in the specification that support the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 10, 11, 16, 18, 19, 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chao (US 20180052939 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chao teaches a method comprising (Chao [29, 30]):
detecting, during a time period, that a device associated with a user profile has accessed a number of content items related to a topic (Chao [59] number of web page accesses related to topic within a period may be determined);
based at least in part on the number of accessed content items related to the[[a]] topic and the time period: enabling, for the device, a bookmark mode for the topic; generating a bookmark data structure for the topic, wherein the bookmark data structure is configured for storing data for a plurality of bookmarks for the topic; (Chao [59-61, 87, 166, 6] based on determined access for a webpage (at least one access) within a period of time, bookmark mode may be enabled and bookmark category may be created, bookmark may be data structure for topic, webpage bookmarks may be added to existing categories (multiple webpages in same category)); and
detecting, while the bookmark mode is enabled for the topic, that the device is accessing an additional content item related to the topic; and based at least in part on (a) the bookmark mode being enabled for the topic, and (b) the detecting that the device is accessing the additional content item related to the topic: automatically adding, into the bookmark data structure for the topic, a link to the additional content item as a bookmark without a user interface input requesting bookmarking of the link to the additional content item (Chao [12, 31, 31, 56, 64, 73-75, 77, 78, 87, 96, 120, 145] while bookmark mode enabled for topic (category exists), based on request for topic content (navigation to webpage in existing category)- bookmark for webpage may automatically be created in data structure for webpage content category).
Regarding claim 3, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches enabling the bookmark mode based on determining that the number of accessed content items exceeds a threshold number for a predetermined time period (Chao [59] number of access for one webpage related to topic within a period may be determined, based on determined accesses bookmark mode may be enabled and bookmark data structure for topic created).
Regarding claim 4, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches the bookmark mode for the topic is further based on receiving a user interface confirmation for enabling the bookmark mode (Chao [59] user confirmation may cause bookmark data structure to be created for content and if new-topic).
Claim 9 is directed towards a system executing instructions similar in scope to the instructions performed by the method of claim 2, and is rejected under the same rationale. Chao further teaches a system comprising: input/output circuitry; and control circuitry configured (Chao [174]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are dependent on claim 9 above, is/are directed towards a system executing instructions similar in scope to the instructions performed by the method of claim(s) 2 and 3 respectively, and is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches wherein each of the plurality of bookmarks comprises ... a respective universal resource locator (URL) (Chao [57, 76] bookmark may include URL).
Regarding claim 18, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches generating the bookmark data structure for display as an interactive menu, wherein each of the plurality of bookmarks is selectable and selection of a respective bookmark of the plurality of bookmarks causes display of information indicative of the respective bookmark (Chao [60, 76] bookmark categories may be displayed, webpage(s) associated with categories may be displayed, selection of bookmark may open associated webpage).
Regarding claim 19, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of bookmarks for the topic was previously bookmarked by a user (Chao [59, 87, 165, 167] bookmarks may be added to categories by users, and bookmark information is retained).
Regarding claim 21, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches wherein the bookmark data structure comprises at least one of ... a tree, a hierarchy..., a linked list... (Chao [55, 56] bookmark structure may include navigation history, which may be a tree, a hierarchy or a linked list).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 12-15, 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao (US 20180052939 A1), in view of Malla (US20120216102A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao further teaches wherein: the detecting that the device is accessing the additional content item related to the topic comprises: determining that the additional content item related to the topic comprises a video (Chao [31, 46, 56, 62, 73-75] additional content may be video)
Chao does not specifically teach identifying a portion of the video that relates to the topic; and wherein the automatically adding, into the bookmark data structure for the topic, the link comprises: adding a link that points to the identified portion of the video
However Malla teaches identifying a portion of the video that relates to the topic; and wherein the automatically adding, into the bookmark data structure for the topic, the link comprises: adding a link that points to the identified portion of the video (Malla [17-19, 52, 56] portion of video related to topic may be identified and link to video portion of webpage may be added).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the concept taught by Malla of identifying a portion of the video that relates to the topic; and wherein the automatically adding, into the bookmark data structure for the topic, the link comprises: adding a link that points to the identified portion of the video, into the invention suggested by Chao; since both inventions are directed towards bookmarking content based on topics and storing bookmarks in data structure(s), and incorporating the teaching of Malla into the invention suggested by Chao would provide the added advantage of allowing bookmarks that are directed to videos to be created, and the combination would perform with a reasonable expectation of success (Malla [17-19, 52, 56]).
Regarding claim 6, Chao and Malla teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5 above.
Chao does not specifically teach wherein the automatically adding, into the bookmark data structure for the topic, the link comprises: adding a link that points to a portion of a web page relevant to the topic
However Malla teaches wherein the automatically adding, into the bookmark data structure for the topic, the link comprises: adding a link that points to a portion of a web page relevant to the topic (Malla [17-19, 52, 56] portion of video related to topic may be identified and link to video portion of webpage may be added).
Regarding claim 7, Chao and Malla teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5 above.
Chao does not specifically teach generating, based on the identified portion of the video, a preview upon a user interface interaction on the bookmark
However Malla teaches generating, based on the identified portion of the video, a preview upon a user interface interaction on the bookmark (Malla [57] preview may be viewed by user for bookmarked video or webpage portion).
Regarding claim 8, Chao and Malla teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5 above.
Chao does not specifically teach generating, based on the portion of the web page, a preview upon a user interface interaction on the bookmark
However Malla teaches generating, based on the portion of the web page relevant to the topic, a preview upon a user interface interaction on the bookmark (Malla [17-19, 52, 56] portion of video related to topic may be identified and link to video portion of webpage may be added, Malla [57] preview may be viewed by user for bookmarked video or webpage portion).
Claim(s) 12-15, is/are dependent on claim 9 above, is/are directed towards a system executing instructions similar in scope to the instructions performed by the method of claim(s) 5-8 respectively, and is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Chao does not specifically teach wherein the enabling, for the device, the bookmark mode for the topic is further based on receiving an indication of highlighted text
However Malla teaches wherein the enabling, for the device, the bookmark mode for the topic is further based on receiving an indication of highlighted text (Malla [78- 80] user may highlight text in a webpage to specify important information within a webpage to be captured in the creation of a bookmark).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the concept taught by Malla of wherein the enabling, for the device, the bookmark mode for the topic is further based on receiving an indication of highlighted text, into the invention suggested by Chao; since both inventions are directed towards bookmarking content based on topics and storing bookmarks in data structure(s), and incorporating the teaching of Malla into the invention suggested by Chao would provide the added advantage of allowing a user to specify important information within a webpage to be captured in the creation of a bookmark, and the combination would perform with a reasonable expectation of success (Malla [78- 80]).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao (US 20180052939 A1), in view of Murdock (US 20190340302 A1).
Regarding claim 17 Chao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above.
Claim 2 further teaches the bookmark data structure.
Chao does not specifically teach wherein the bookmark ...information... comprises a plurality of subtopics of the topic
However Murdock teaches wherein the bookmark ...information... comprises a plurality of subtopics of the topic (Murdock [54, 65-67] bookmark may be stored as topics with subtopics, Murdock [3] hierarchical bookmarking allows users to navigate to the content they previously added into the bookmarks, without having to sift through large volumes of irrelevant content).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the concept taught by Murdock of wherein the bookmark ...information...comprises a plurality of subtopics of the topic, into the invention suggested by Chao; since both inventions are directed towards bookmarking content based on topics, and incorporating the teaching of Murdock into the invention suggested by Chao would provide the added advantage of allowing users to navigate to the content they previously added into the bookmarks, without having to sift through large volumes of irrelevant content, and the combination would perform with a reasonable expectation of success (Murdock [3, 54, 65-67]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SANCHITA . ROY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2146
/SANCHITA ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146