DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in page 2, 3rd paragraph, the reply filed on 03/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 recites “an energy source to cure the non-cured layer and bond the non-cured layer” which include a structural placeholder of “an energy source” plus functional limitation of “to cure the non-cured layer and bond the non-cured layer”. Specification defines “light forms, such as infra-red, or ultraviolet light, or ultrasound” as a corresponding structure for claimed “energy source”. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “on a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media opposite a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media” which renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is not clear how “a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media” can be opposite of “a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media”. Does the claim in fact mean “on a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media opposite another side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media”? Clarification is requested.
Claim 9 recites “a uniform pressure to an uppermost one of the cured layers in the stack” wherein the term “uniform” is a relative term and renders the claim vague and indefinite. The term “uniform” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation of “the amount of pressure applied by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media in 1st line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation neither claims 1 and 10 define “an amount of pressure applied by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media”. Clarification is requested.
Claim 10 recites the limitation of “a build platform drive mechanism configured to drive the build platform to increase the pressure or decrease the pressure based on the pressure measurement received by the control device” (see lines 6-8) that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hull et al. (US 2008/0169586) in view of Rogen et al. (US 2021/0379820).
Hull et al. (US 2008/0169586) disclose a method for bonding a non-cured layer to a cured layer, comprising:
- mounting the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) on a first side of a substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]);
- positioning the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) on the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]) with the cured layer (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0066]);
- bringing the cured layer (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0065]) and the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) into contact (see Figs 1B – 1C);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (36))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Energy source 22)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Substrate 42)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Non-cured layer 39)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cured layer 26)]
- applying energy through the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]) to the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) from an energy source (¶ [0065]: a radiation source 22 provides focused solid imaging radiation 24 that is projected onto the build material-wetted surface 26 of a build 28 to cure selected portions of the fresh build material layer 39 in an image plane) to cure the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) and bond the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) to the cured layer (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0065]) to form a bonded cured multilayer stack;
- positioning a flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) on a second side of the substrate to apply pressure to the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) while the energy is being applied, the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media having a contact portion (see Figs. 1A – 1C); and
- creating relative movement between the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) and the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]) to move the contact portion along the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]) to exert pressure on the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) on the first side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]), wherein the contact portion is transparent (¶ [0067]: the image plane supporting plate will be made of transparent glass or suitably transmissive plastics) to the energy.
However, Hull et al. (US ‘586) is silent on disclosing the transparent contact portion also comprises a window portion to allow passage of energy through a contact portion of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media, as claimed in claim 1.
In the analogous art, Rogen et al. (US 2021/0379820) disclose a jetted material printer comprising a receiver device (204) to include a support frame (502) which provides mechanical support to permeable membrane (302). Support frame (502) exhibit a continuous sheet like structure which may be provided with apertures in which permeable membrane (302) may be installed. Further, support frame (502) is a discrete window frame like structure which surround permeable. Support frame (502) is a discrete window frame like structure which surround permeable membrane (302). Support frame (502) may be a separate structure or it may be affixed to permeable membrane (302). See ¶ [0043].
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A window portion (502))]
Therefore, as to claim 1, Rogen et al. (US ‘820) disclose a three-dimensional (3D) inkjet printer comprises a contact portion between the surround permeable membrane (302) and the receiver device (204) includes window portion (502, ¶ [0043]).
As to claim 8, Rogen et al. (US ‘820) disclose the energy source (¶ [0054]: the radiant energy can be IR radiation, UV radiation, electron beam, or other known radiation types) is configured to increase intensity of the energy applied through the window portion (502, ¶ [0043]) in the contact portion to increase from a first light level at a leading edge of the window portion (502, ¶ [0043]) to a second light level at a trailing edge of the window portion (502, ¶ [0043]) as the window portion (502, ¶ [0043]) is moved over the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the contact portion that is formed on the flexible compliant pressure media, as suggested by Hull et al. (US ‘586), so to form a window portion in order to preserve the fine resolution of inkjet technology, thus, improving speed of printing, as suggested by Rogen et al. (US ‘820): ¶ [0006].
As to claim 2, Hull et al. (US ‘586) discloses the contact portion is located between first and second leg portions (drive shafts 43, ¶ [0067]) on opposite sides of the contact portion, wherein the first and second legs (drive shafts 43, ¶ [0067]) of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) are held out of contact with the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]), and wherein the first and second legs (drive shafts 43, ¶ [0067]) of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) are opaque to the energy.
As to claim 3, Hull et al. (US ‘586) teach separating the bonded cured multilayer stack from the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]). See ¶ [0065] and ¶ [0068].
As to claim 4, Hull et al. (US ‘586) disclose the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) further comprises a pressure chamber located on a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) opposite a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) that contacts the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]).
As to claim 5, Hull et al. (US ‘586) teach the pressure chamber is inflatable to exert pressure on the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37).
As to claim 6, Hull et al. (US ‘586) disclose the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) is comprised of a conforming layer mounted on a rigid plate, the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) being located between the rigid plate and the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]).
As to claim 7, Hull et al. (US ‘586) teach the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]) and the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) are flexible, and wherein the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]) and the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) are held out of contact with the cured layer (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0066]) until the contact portion presses the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) onto the cured layer (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0065]) as the contact portion is positioned along the second side of the substrate (an image plane supporting plane 42, ¶ [0067]).
As to claim 9, Hull et al. (US ‘586) disclose a plurality of cured layers are mounted to form a stack of cured layers (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0065]), and an amount of pressure applied by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) is controlled to apply a uniform pressure to an uppermost one of the cured layers (the build surface 26 of a build 28, ¶ [0065]) in the stack regardless of how many of the cured layers are in the stack.
As to claim 10, Hull et al. (US ‘586) teach the amount of pressure applied by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37) is controlled by a feedback system comprised of a pressure sensor configured to provide a pressure measurement of the pressure applied to the non-cured layer (the fresh and uncured build material layer 39, ¶ [0066] - ¶ [0067]) by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (¶ [0066]: a build material transport surface 36 for conveying the build material layer-by-layer from a source thereof, reservoir 37), a control device (¶ [0150] - ¶ [0151]: a controller may be provided to control the exposure at the seams and for segmenting the projected image by the imager that produced the image segment) coupled to receive the pressure measurement from the pressure sensor, and a build platform drive mechanism configured to drive the build platform to increase the pressure or decrease the pressure based on the pressure measurement received by the control device (¶ [0150] - ¶ [0151]: a controller may be provided to control the exposure at the seams and for segmenting the projected image by the imager that produced the image segment).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 and 19-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,838. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance, the claimed method for bonding a non-cured layer to a cured layer, as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application, is not identical to claimed method for bonding a non-cured layer to a cured layer, as claimed in claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. ‘838. However, they are not patentably distinct from each other as set forth below:
As to claim 1 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) disclose a method for bonding a non-cured layer (105) to a cured layer (110), comprising:
- mounting the non-cured layer (105) on a first side of a substrate (120) (see claims 1 and 19: 3rd line);
- positioning the non-cured layer (105) on the substrate (120) with the cured layer (110) (see claims 1 and 19: 3rd line);
- bringing the cured layer (110) and the non-cured layer (105) into contact (see claims 1 and 19: 7th line);
- applying energy through the substrate (120) to the non-cured layer (105) from an energy source to cure the non-cured layer (105) and bond the non-cured layer (105) to the cured layer (110) to form a bonded cured multilayer stack (see claims 1 and 19: lines 9-14);
- positioning a flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (405) on a second side of the substrate (120) to apply pressure to the non-cured layer (105) while the energy is being applied, the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (405) having a contact portion (see claims 1 and 19: lines 20-32); and
- creating relative movement between the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media (405) and the second side of the substrate (120) to move the contact portion along the second side of the substrate (120) to exert pressure on the non-cured layer (105) on the first side of the substrate (120), wherein the contact portion includes a window portion that is transparent to the energy (see claims 1 and 19: lines 33-43).
As to claim 2 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) disclose the contact portion is located between first and second leg portions on opposite sides of the contact portion, wherein the first and second legs of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media are held out of contact with the second side of the substrate, and wherein the first and second legs of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media are opaque to the energy. (see claims 1 and 19: lines 22-26)
As to claim 3 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) disclose separating the bonded cured multilayer stack from the substrate. (see claim 2)
As to claim 4 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) teach the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media further comprises a pressure chamber located on a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media opposite a side of the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media that contacts the second side of the substrate. (see claim 10)
As to claim 5 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) disclose the pressure chamber is inflatable to exert pressure on the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media. (see claim 11)
As to claim 6 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) teach the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media is comprised of a conforming layer mounted on a rigid plate, the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media being located between the rigid plate and the second side of the substrate. (see claim 12)
As to claim 7 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) disclose the substrate and the non-cured layer are flexible, and wherein the substrate and the non-cured layer are held out of contact with the cured layer until the contact portion presses the non-cured layer onto the cured layer as the contact portion is positioned along the second side of the substrate. (see claim 13)
As to claim 8 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) teach the energy source is configured to increase intensity of the energy applied through the window portion in the contact portion to increase from a first light level at a leading edge of the window portion to a second light level at a trailing edge of the window portion as the window portion is moved over the second side of the substrate. (see claim 14)
As to claim 9 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) disclose a plurality of cured layers are mounted to form a stack of cured layers, and an amount of pressure applied by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media is controlled to apply a uniform pressure to an uppermost one of the cured layers in the stack regardless of how many of the cured layers are in the stack. (see claim 16)
As to claim 10 of the instant application, Vatani et al. (US ‘838) teach the amount of pressure applied by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media is controlled by a feedback system comprised of a pressure sensor configured to provide a pressure measurement of the pressure applied to the non-cured layer by the flexible compliant pressure conveyance media, a control device coupled to receive the pressure measurement from the pressure sensor, and a build platform drive mechanism configured to drive the build platform to increase the pressure or decrease the pressure based on the pressure measurement received by the control device. (see claim 17)
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thompson et al. (US 2021/0046695) disclose a method of operating an additive manufacturing apparatus that includes a stage, a support structure, a foil that extends between the stage and the support structure and that defines a build surface, and a foil separation device. (see claim 27)
Comb et al. (US 2020/0338825) disclose a selective deposition-based additive manufacturing system for printing a three-dimensional part, the additive manufacturing system comprising: an electro-statographic imaging engine configured to develop an imaged layer of a thermoplastic-based powder; a movable build platform; a transfer medium configured to receive the imaged layer from the imaging engine, and to convey the received imaged layer; a first heater configured to heat the imaged layer; and a transfusion element configured to transfer the heated imaged layer conveyed by the transfer medium onto the movable build platform by pressing the heated imaged layer between the transfer medium and the moveable build platform, the transfusion element comprising a compliant nip roller configured to deform when in contact with previously transferred layers of the part. (see claim 1)
Rogren (US 2020/0298477) disclose a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional object comprising: repeatedly forming patterned single-layer objects according to a predetermined sequence and predetermined patterns; and assembling the sequence of the patterned single-layer objects into the three-dimensional object on an assembly plate; wherein forming each of the patterned single-layer objects comprises: dispensing fluidized particles onto a carrier substrate to form a material layer; compacting the material layer to a predetermined compaction range; printing a binder material on the material layer according to a predetermined pattern; selectively fusing the material layer according to the predetermined pattern; removing non-fused portions of the material layer to form one of the patterned single-layer objects; and transferring the one of the patterned single-layer objects from the carrier substrate to the assembly plate.
Thresh et al. (US 10,086,558) disclose a three-dimensional (3-D) printing system comprising: an intermediate transfer belt (ITB); development stations positioned to electrostatically transfer build and support materials to said ITB; a transfer station adjacent said ITB; guides adjacent said transfer station; and platens moving on said guides, said guides are shaped to direct said platens to repeatedly pass said transfer station and come in contact with said ITB at said transfer station, said ITB transfers a layer of said build and support materials to said platens each time said platens contact said ITB at said transfer station to successively form layers of said build and support materials on said platens, said platens include first alignment projections, said ITB includes second alignment projections, said first alignment projections temporarily join with said second alignment projections at said transfer station, as said platens pass said transfer station, to align said platens with said ITB as said platens contact said ITB, and said platens include a height adjustment that moves a surface said platen away from said ITB as a stack of said layers on said platens becomes larger.
Teicher et al. (US 2014/0265032) disclose a method for preparing three-dimensional layer of a three-dimensional printing of the object comprising receiving two-dimensional image data of a cross section of the three-dimensional object, the image including a body region and a support region, wherein the support region is distinct from the body region; selectively depositing, on a transparent substrate, a layer that includes at least a first liquid photopolymer body material which covers and encloses the body region, and a liquid support material that is different from the first liquid photopolymer body material and which covers and encloses the support region; and selectively solidifying the first liquid photopolymer body material by irradiating the layer with curing radiation through the transparent substrate according to the body region, such that some of the liquid body material remains uncured.
Chillscyzn et al. (US 2013/0075013) disclose an additive manufacturing system for printing a three-dimensional part, the additive manufacturing system comprising: a rotatable multiple-layer belt configured to receive imaged layers of a thermoplastic-based powder from an imaging engine;a drive mechanism configured to rotate the multiple-layer belt at a rotational rate to transfer the received imaged layers;a build platform configured to receive the imaged layers from the multiple-layer belt in a layer-by-layer manner to print the three-dimensional part on the build platform; anda gantry configured to move the build platform in a reciprocating rectangular pattern that is synchronized with the rotational rate of the multiple-layer belt.
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
06/09/2026