DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 05/19/2026, filed with the office on 08/07/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendments of the claims, the provisional double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 9-11 and 13-15 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 13-15 are amended. Claims 3-8 and 12 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 7, 2026, with respect to rejection of claims for reciting an abstract idea under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been fully considered; but they are not found persuasive. Specifically, on page 6 of its reply, Applicant argues in first paragraph that the claims recite a practical application because the “wall of the pulp container is a material that, unlike glass, is diffuse and largely opaque and therefore cannot be reliably inspected using conventional transmission-based imaging”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language does not recite the material property of the container (i.e. being diffuse and opaque). Additionally, Applicant argues that the claims apply “a specific technical solution, including a particular concentric dual-illumination geometry combined with pulsed, sequential image capture, to a specific technical problem”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language recites “the first lighting device is configured in such a way that light from the light source is radiated through the mouth of the pulp container; a second lighting device configured to diffusely illuminate the side wall of the pulp container from the outside and arranged concentrically around the first lighting device”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language includes the use of any light fixture with multiple light sources (central and concentric lights) that illuminate an object from different angles. These additional elements (central and concentric lights) are merely regarded as adding insignificant extra-solution activities to the judicial exception, and do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception as an indication of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1 and 9, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “second lighting device” and “light source” in claims 1 and 9.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: schematics depicted in Fig. 3-4, and applicant’s specification: ¶0055: “the light sources 10 b can also be what are known as chip-on-board LEDs, which are arranged close together in order to achieve a high luminance” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 9-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1 and 9 recite an apparatus and a method for image-based container inspection. With respect to analysis of independent claims 1 and 9:
Step 1:
With regard to Step 1, the instant claims are directed to an apparatus and a method and therefore, the claims are directed to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One:
With regard to 2A, Prong One, consider independent claim 9, the steps of “illuminating a part of an inner wall of the pulp container”, “capturing a first image by means of a camera”, “diffusely illuminating the side wall of the pulp container from the outside by means of a second lighting device”, “capturing a second image by means of the camera by allowing the light from the second lighting device”5, as drafted, recite an abstract idea, such as a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers human activity. This is the concept that falls under the grouping of abstract ideas methods of organizing human activity, i.e., managing, planning, or conducting human behavior, which includes operating generic components i.e. two lights and a camera to collect data i.e. capturing an image.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The 2019 PEG defines the phrase “evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception”. Therefore, additional elements, or a combination of additional elements in the claim, are required to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception. In the instant case, the additional elements/limitations in the claims, i.e., first/second lighting device and a camera are merely regarded as adding insignificant extra-solution activities to the judicial exception, and do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception as an indication of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, the above-mentioned additional elements/limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; and therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
Because the claims fail under Step 2A, the claims are further evaluated under Step 2B. The claims herein do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into practical application, the additional elements/limitations to perform the steps, amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic components cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claims 1 and 9 are not patent eligible.
Further, with regard to dependent claims 2, 10, 11 and 13-15 viewed individually, these additional steps, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations as an abstract idea, and do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartrumpf et al. (US 2016/0072993 A1) in view of Dag (US 2024/0270433 A1”) and in further view of Vom et al. (US 2019/0064496 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hartrumpf teaches, Apparatus for optically inspecting (Hartrumpf, ¶0001: “Apparatuses and methods of the above mentioned type can be used for inspecting container glasses”) comprising: a first lighting device comprising a light source (Hartrumpf, ¶0001: “comprising at least one light source”) and an optical system having a reflector and/or a lens, (Hartrumpf, ¶0014: “use a reflector which reflects incident light”) wherein a mouth of the first lighting device (Hartrumpf, ¶0017: “the light source in the container or above the container opening”) such that light from the first lighting device can be emitted into the (Hartrumpf, ¶0017: “above the container opening since each point in the inner wall can be illuminated in this way”) and wherein the optical system of the first lighting device is configured in such a way that light from the light source is radiated (Hartrumpf, ¶0042: “a light cone 31, which is reflected into the capturing area 22 of the image capturing device 2 via a beam splitter”) through the mouth of the (Hartrumpf, ¶0017: “the light source in the container or above the container opening”) (Hartrumpf, ¶0029: “a different light source, which illuminates the object from different angles and/or from different directions”) a camera which is configured to register light (Hartrumpf, ¶0040: “the image capturing device 2 can be a generally known electronic camera”) from the first lighting device passing through a side wall of the (Hartrumpf, ¶0054: “light incident from the exterior via the side wall 53 is reflected on the reflector 6 and is reflected back to the image capturing device”) and thus to capture a first image of the side wall of the (Hartrumpf, ¶0055: “and therefore different images of the side wall 53 can be taken”) to detect a damage in the side wall, (Hartrumpf, ¶0002: “thus detect contaminations, cracks or irregularities of form”) and wherein the first lighting device and the second lighting device are configured to emit pulsed light, and (Hartrumpf, ¶0028: “light source can be switched on or off”) wherein the camera is configured to capture a second image (Hartrumpf, ¶0029: “use an image capturing device for the second image”) by allowing the light from the second lighting device (Hartrumpf, ¶0029: “second image can be produced using a different light source, which illuminates the object from different angles”) to be reflected or scattered on the outside of the side wall to strike the camera. (Hartrumpf, ¶0049: “a second image capturing device is available which captures the light emitted from the dark field illumination 7 and reflected on the object”). However, Hartrumpf does not explicitly teach, a pulp container and a second lighting device configured to diffusely illuminate the side wall of the pulp container from the outside and arranged concentrically around the first lighting device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Dag teaches a pulp container. (Dag, ¶0012: “the container made of fiber material, may be produced from an aqueous pulp”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf using the teachings of Dag to introduce a pulp container. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to substitute the glass container with the pulp container as described above and achieve the predictable result of inspecting a pulp container using images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf and Dag to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Hartrumpf and Dag does not explicitly teach, a second lighting device configured to diffusely illuminate the side wall of the pulp container from the outside and arranged concentrically around the first lighting device.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Vom teaches, a second lighting device configured to diffusely illuminate (Vom, ¶0107: “outer ring of LEDs 180 are used to create an even ring of light which in preferred embodiments is passed through the diffuser 172”) the side wall of the pulp container from the outside (Vom, ¶0021: “defects such as scratches and packaging tears… projecting light at an angle to the surface of an object”) and arranged concentrically around the first lighting device. (Vom, ¶0107: “outer ring of LEDs 180 are used to create an even ring of light which in preferred embodiments is passed through the diffuser 172”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag using the teachings of Vom to introduce a second light arranged concentrically around the first light. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of an illuminating and inspecting both the inside and the outer surface of a container for defects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag and Vom to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Hartrumpf teaches, Method for optically inspecting (Hartrumpf, ¶0001: “methods of the above mentioned type can be used for inspecting container glasses”) comprising: illuminating a part of an inner wall (Hartrumpf, ¶0017: “each point in the inner wall can be illuminated in this way”; also see fig. 1) of the first lighting device, (Hartrumpf, ¶0017: “the light source in the container or above the container opening”) wherein the first lighting device comprises a light source (Hartrumpf, ¶0001: “comprising at least one light source”) and an optical system having a reflector and/or a lens, (Hartrumpf, ¶0014: “use a reflector which reflects incident light”) and wherein the optical system of the first lighting device is configured in such a way that light from the light source is radiated (Hartrumpf, ¶0042: “a light cone 31, which is reflected into the capturing area 22 of the image capturing device 2 via a beam splitter”) through the mouth of the , (Hartrumpf, ¶0017: “the light source in the container or above the container opening”) and capturing a first image by means of a camera (Hartrumpf, ¶0040: “the image capturing device 2 can be a generally known electronic camera”) by registering light from the first lighting device that passes through a side wall of the (Hartrumpf, ¶0054: “light incident from the exterior via the side wall 53 is reflected on the reflector 6 and is reflected back to the image capturing device”) and strikes the camera to (Hartrumpf, ¶0055: “and therefore different images of the side wall 53 can be taken”) detect a damage in the side wall, (Hartrumpf, ¶0002: “thus detect contaminations, cracks or irregularities of form”) and (Hartrumpf, ¶0029: “a different light source, which illuminates the object from different angles and/or from different directions”) and capturing a second image by means of the camera (Hartrumpf, ¶0029: “use an image capturing device for the second image”) by allowing the light from the second lighting device (Hartrumpf, ¶0029: “second image can be produced using a different light source, which illuminates the object from different angles”) that is reflected or scattered on the outside of the side wall to strike the camera, (Hartrumpf, ¶0049: “a second image capturing device is available which captures the light emitted from the dark field illumination 7 and reflected on the object”) wherein the first lighting device and the second lighting device emit pulsed light. (Hartrumpf, ¶0028: “light source can be switched on or off”). However, Hartrumpf does not explicitly teach, a pulp container and diffusely illuminating the side wall of the .
In an analogous field of endeavor, Dag teaches a pulp container. (Dag, ¶0012: “the container made of fiber material, may be produced from an aqueous pulp”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf using the teachings of Dag to introduce a pulp container. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to substitute the glass container with the pulp container as described above and achieve the predictable result of inspecting a pulp container using images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf and Dag to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 9. However, the combination of Hartrumpf and Dag does not explicitly teach, diffusely illuminating the side wall of the .
In another analogous field of endeavor, Vom teaches, diffusely illuminating (Vom, ¶0107: “outer ring of LEDs 180 are used to create an even ring of light which in preferred embodiments is passed through the diffuser 172”) the side wall of the (Vom, ¶0021: “defects such as scratches and packaging tears… projecting light at an angle to the surface of an object”) by means of a second lighting device, which is arranged concentrically around the first lighting device. (Vom, ¶0107: “outer ring of LEDs 180 are used to create an even ring of light which in preferred embodiments is passed through the diffuser 172”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag using the teachings of Vom to introduce a second light arranged concentrically around the first light. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of an illuminating and inspecting both the inside and the outer surface of a container for defects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag and Vom to obtain the invention in claim 9.
Claims 2, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartrumpf et al. (US 2016/0072993 A1) in view of Dag (US 2024/0270433 A1”), in further view of Vom et al. (US 2019/0064496 A1) and still in further view of Kress et al. (US 2018/0195974 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom teaches, Apparatus according to claim 1. However, the combination of Hartrumpf, Dag and Vom does not explicitly teach, wherein the camera is further configured to detect a label applied to the side wall of the pulp container or an imprint applied to the side wall of the pulp container.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kress teaches, wherein the camera is further configured to (Kress, ¶0031: “the cameras 118 are configured to simultaneously capture images of the first container”) detect a label applied to the side wall of the pulp container or an imprint applied to the side wall of the pulp container. (Kress, ¶0024: “detecting defects in labels applied to the sidewall of the container”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom using the teachings of Kress to introduce detecting a container label. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identification of container information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag, Vom and Kress to obtain the invention in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom teaches, Method according to claim 9. However, the combination of Hartrumpf, Dag and Vom does not explicitly teach, wherein a label attached to the side wall of the pulp container is detected by means of the camera.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kress teaches, wherein a label attached to the side wall of the pulp container is detected (Kress, ¶0024: “detecting defects in labels applied to the sidewall of the container”) by means of the camera. (Kress, ¶0006: “cameras capture respective images of the exterior surface of the sidewall of the container”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom using the teachings of Kress to introduce detecting a container label. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identification of container information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag, Vom and Kress to obtain the invention in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Hartrumpf in view of Dag, in further view of Vom and still in further view of Kress teaches, Method according to claim 10, wherein the pulp container is rotated about its longitudinal axis, (Hartrumpf, ¶0049: “the object 5 is either rotated with an assigned support”) and wherein simultaneously a label applied to the side wall of the pulp container or an imprint applied to the side wall of the pulp container is detected. (Kress, ¶0024: “detecting defects in labels applied to the sidewall of the container”).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Hartrumpf, Dag and Kress references presented in the rejection of claim 10, apply to claim 11 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 11 is met by Hartrumpf, Dag, Vom and Kress.
Regarding claim 13, Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom teaches, Method according to claim 9. However, the combination of Hartrumpf and Dag does not explicitly teach, wherein the first image and the second image are captured at a time interval of 100 µs or less.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kress teaches, wherein the first image and the second image are captured at a time interval of 100 µs or less. (Kress, ¶0006: “illuminated for a relatively short amount of time (e.g., on the order of tens of microseconds). The cameras capture respective images of the exterior surface of the sidewall of the container while such surface is being illuminated”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom using the teachings of Kress to introduce a strobe light. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of quickly inspecting the sides of a container using images from different angles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag, Vom and Kress to obtain the invention in claim 13.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartrumpf et al. (US 2016/0072993 A1) in view of Dag (US 2024/0270433 A1”), in further view of Vom et al. (US 2019/0064496 A1) and still in further view of Micheels et al. (US 7,840,360 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom teaches, Method according to claim 9. However, the combination of Hartrumpf, Dag and Vom does not explicitly teach, wherein the first light of the lighting device is or comprises near-infrared light.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Micheels teaches, wherein the first light of the lighting device is or comprises near-infrared light. (Micheels, col. 4, lines 15-16: “one or more NIR light sources disposed opposite the NIR imaging means”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag and in further view of Vom using the teachings of Micheels to introduce near-infrared light. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identifying defects and contaminants in an object being inspected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag, Vom and Micheels to obtain the invention in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Hartrumpf in view of Dag, in further view of Vom and still in further view of Micheels teaches, Method according to claim 14, wherein the first light of the lighting device has a wavelength range between 800 nm and 1500 nm. (Micheels, col. 7, lines 21-23: “one or more NIR light sources having a wavelength in the range of about 850-1700 nm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hartrumpf in view of Dag, in further view of Vom and still in further view of Micheels using the additional teachings of Micheels to introduce light with a specific near-infrared wavelength range. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of penetrating the surface of certain material for identifying defects/contaminants in the specific material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hartrumpf, Dag, Vom and Micheels to obtain the invention in claim 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662