DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 6/9/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Based on the Petition Decision, dated 9/18/26, claim 31 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "electrically conductive substrate" in line 6. There is insufficient literal antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-18 are rejected for failing to cure the deficiencies of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato et al (US 2013/0284244 A1).
Kato teaches a manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) comprising an electrically conductive adhesive layer (e.g., conductive layer); an electrically conductive coating (e.g., conductive metal mesh layer formed by coating); and a substrate (e.g., electrode), wherein said electrically conductive adhesive layer does not contact said substrate, said electrically conductive coating substantially fills a volume intermediate said substrate and said electrically conductive adhesive layer, and an area of an interface of said electrically conductive adhesive layer and said electrically conductive coating is significantly larger than an area of an interface of said electrically conductive coating and said substrate; wherein said electrically conductive coating comprises a plurality of cavities in matrix arrangement (e.g., mesh or grid), and a portion of said electrically conductive adhesive layer substantially fills said at Ieast one cavity (abstract, para 43, 113, 129; fig 2 & fig 2 rotated and relabeled below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14, 17, 18, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kato.
Kato teaches a manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) comprising an electrically conductive adhesive layer (e.g., conductive layer); an electrically conductive coating layer (e.g., conductive metal mesh layer formed by coating); and a substrate (e.g., electrode), wherein said electrically conductive coating substantially fills a volume intermediate said electrically conductive substrate and said electrically conductive adhesive layer, said electrically conductive coating comprises at least one cavity, a portion of said electrically conductive adhesive layer substantially fills said at least one cavity; wherein said at Ieast one cavity comprises a plurality of cavities in matrix arrangement (e.g., mesh or grid); wherein said electrically conductive adhesive layer does not contact said substrate (abstract, para 43, 113, 129; fig 2 & fig 2 rotated and relabeled below).
Kato teaches the conductive adhesive comprises a metal powder (i.e., said electrically conductive adhesive layer comprises electrically conductive particles selected from the group consisting of metal particles) (para 51, 98).
Regarding the limitation “said electrically conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one adhesive selected from -the group consisting of an acrylate-based adhesive, a polyurethane-based adhesive, a rubber-based adhesive and a silicone-based adhesive;” Kato does not expressly suggest “an acrylate-based adhesive.” However, Kato teaches the conductive adhesive comprises polyacrylamide; which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that of an acrylate-based adhesive.
Regarding claim 17, Kato teaches maximum thickness of the 10,000 nm (para 101); and the thickness of the conductive metal mesh layer 2 is especially preferably from 30 to 200 nm (para 34); so Kato would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention embodiments wherein a maximum depth of said at least one cavity is not greater than 70% of a thickness of said electrically conductive coating.
Regarding claim 29, Kato teaches maximum thickness of the 10,000 nm (para 101); and the thickness of the conductive metal mesh layer 2 is especially preferably from 30 to 200 nm (para 34); so Kato would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention embodiments wherein a maximum depth of said at least one cavity is not greater than 70% of a thickness of said electrically conductive coating. Kato further teaches a portion of said electrically conductive adhesive layer substantially fills said at least one cavity (abstract, para 43, 113, 129; fig 2 & fig 2 rotated and relabeled above).
Claims 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Garbar et al (US 2010/0200407 A1).
Kato teaches the manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) film of claim 12. Kato further teaches its transparent conductive films comprise a transparent base material (3) (para 33, 113; fig 2); and are for use in electronic applications (e.g. electromagnetic shielding) (para 189).
Kato fails to teach wherein a combined conductivity of said at least one adhesive and said electrically conductive particles is sufficient for a measurement of biosignals via said electrically conductive adhesive layer; wherein said at least one cavity comprises a plurality of cavities collectively exhibiting at least one of an irregular arrangement, a variety of depth profiles, and a variety of shapes; and, wherein said electrically conductive coating comprises an abraded surface that forms said at least one cavity.
Garbar teaches conductive metal coatings (e.g., electrically conductive coating) for use in electromagnetic wave shielding applications; wherein the enhanced transparent conductive metal coating is applied to a transparent polymer film; wherein transparent conductive transparent coating layer is characterized by a rough random pattern (abstract; para 4, 8-9, 27, 33; figs 1-6) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the coating comprises a multitude of rough cavities with a random arrangement, depth profile and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the transparent conductive metal coating of Garbar for the conductive metal mesh of Kato, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This substitution also provides the additional motivation of using a metal layer with enhanced transparency.
The limitation “abraded” of the instant claim is a product by process limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the process results in a product that is structurally distinct from the prior art. The process of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claim product differs in kind from those of the prior art (MPEP § 2113). No difference can be discerned between the product that results from the process steps recited in claim 16 and the product of Kato as modified by Garbar. Furthermore, Garber teaches its conductive metal coatings (e.g., electrically conductive coating) have rough surfaces (figs 1-6).
Regarding the limitation “a combined conductivity of said at least one adhesive and said electrically conductive particles is sufficient for a measurement of biosignals via said electrically conductive adhesive layer;” Kato as modified by Garbar suggest manufactures with structures and compositions of the instant claims, therefore the embodiments of Kato as modified by Garbar are deemed to possess this property.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2112.01 I). Furthermore, Kato teaches its transparent conductive film are low in surface resistivity and have enhanced conductivity (para 107-108) which would result in an impedance that would be good for biosensor applications.
Claims 19, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kato in view of Higuchi et al (JP 7359441 B2).
Regarding claims 19, 20, and 24, Kato teaches a manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) comprising an electrically conductive adhesive layer (e.g., conductive layer); an electrically conductive coating (e.g., conductive metal mesh layer formed by coating or printing); and a substrate (e.g., electrode); wherein said electrically conductive coating substantially fills a volume intermediate said substrate and said electrically conductive adhesive layer, said electrically conductive coating comprises at least one cavity, a portion of said electrically conductive adhesive layer substantially fills said at least one cavity; wherein said at least one cavity comprises a plurality of cavities in matrix arrangement (e.g., mesh); wherein said electrically conductive adhesive layer does not contact said substrate. (abstract, para 43, 113, 129; fig 2 & fig 2 rotated and relabeled below).
Kato fails to teach an electrical connector; and said electrical connector is electrically connected to said electrically conductive coating via a through-hole in said substrate.
However, Kato teaches its manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) may be used for a variety of electronic devices and applications (e.g., displays) (para 189).
Higuchi teaches in certain electronic applications (e.g., electrochromic devices used in display elements) it was known in the art at the time of invention to attach caulking members (e.g., fasteners) (150, 160) to electrodes comprising transparent conductive films; wherein the caulking members penetrate through (i.e., through a hole) the electrodes (120, 160) (page 2, 4; figs 1-2).
Therefore, per the prior art of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the transparent conductive films of Kato with caulking members so the transparent conductive films can be used as electrochromic devices in displays; therein resulting in a transparent conductive film with an electrical connector; and said electrical connector is electrically connected to said electrically conductive coating via a through-hole in said substrate.
Regarding claim 23, Kato teaches maximum thickness of the 10,000 nm (para 101); and the thickness of the conductive metal mesh layer 2 is especially preferably from 30 to 200 nm (para 34); so Kato would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention wherein a maximum depth of said at least one cavity is not greater than 70% of a thickness of said electrically conductive coating.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato and Higuchi as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Garbar.
Kato as modified by Higuchi teaches the manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) of claim 19. Kato further teaches its transparent conductive films comprise a transparent base material (3) (para 33, 113; fig 2); and are for use in electronic applications (e.g., displays) (para 189).
Kato as modified by Higuchi fails to teach wherein said at least one cavity comprises a plurality of cavities collectively exhibiting at least one of an irregular arrangement, a variety of depth profiles, and a variety of shapes; and wherein said electrically conductive coating comprises an abraded surface that forms said at least one cavity.
Garbar teaches conductive metal coatings (e.g., electrically conductive coating) for use in various electronic applications (e.g., touch screens, i.e., displays); wherein the enhanced transparent conductive metal coating is applied to a transparent polymer film; wherein transparent conductive transparent coating layer is characterized by a rough random pattern (abstract; para 4, 8-9, 27, 33; figs 1-6) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the coating comprises a multitude of rough cavities with a random arrangement, depth profile and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the transparent conductive metal coating of Garbar for the conductive metal mesh of Kato as modified by Higuchi, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This substitution also provides the additional motivation of using a metal layer with enhanced transparency.
The limitation “abraded” of the instant claim is a product by process limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the process results in a product that is structurally distinct from the prior art. The process of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claim product differs in kind from those of the prior art (MPEP § 2113). No difference can be discerned between the product that results from the process steps recited in claim 16 and the product of Kato as modified by Higuchi and Garbar. Furthermore, Garber teaches its conductive metal coatings (e.g., electrically conductive coating) have rough surfaces (figs 1-6).
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Garbar.
Kato teaches the manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) film of claim 25. Kato further teaches its transparent conductive films comprise a transparent base material (3) (para 33, 113; fig 2); and are for use in electronic applications (e.g. electromagnetic shielding) (para 189). Kato further teaches a portion of said electrically conductive adhesive layer substantially fills said at least one cavity (abstract, para 43, 113, 129; fig 2 & fig 2 rotated and relabeled above).
Kato fails to teach wherein said at least one cavity comprises a plurality of cavities collectively exhibiting at least one of an irregular arrangement, a variety of depth profiles, and a variety of shapes; and wherein said electrically conductive coating comprises an abraded surface that forms said at least one cavity.
Garbar teaches conductive metal coatings (e.g., electrically conductive coating) for use in electromagnetic wave shielding applications; wherein the enhanced transparent conductive metal coating is applied to a transparent polymer film; wherein transparent conductive transparent coating layer is characterized by a rough random pattern (abstract; para 4, 8-9, 27, 33; figs 1-6) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the coating comprises a multitude of rough cavities with a random arrangement, depth profile and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the transparent conductive metal coating of Garbar for the conductive metal mesh of Kato, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This substitution also provides the additional motivation of using a metal layer with enhanced transparency.
The limitation “abraded” of the instant claim is a product by process limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the process results in a product that is structurally distinct from the prior art. The process of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claim product differs in kind from those of the prior art (MPEP § 2113). No difference can be discerned between the product that results from the process steps recited in claim 16 and the product of Kato as modified by Garbar. Furthermore, Garber teaches its conductive metal coatings (e.g., electrically conductive coating) have rough surfaces (figs 1-6).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kato as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Higuchi.
Kato teaches the manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) film of claim 25. Kato further teaches its manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) may be used for a variety of electronic devices and applications (e.g., displays) (para 189).
Kato fails to teach an electrical connector; wherein said electrical connector is electrically connected to said electrically conductive coating, and said electrical connector is structured to be manually connectable to an external device.
Higuchi teaches in certain electronic applications (e.g., electrochromic devices used in display elements) it was known in the art at the time of invention to attach caulking members (e.g., fasteners) (150, 160) to electrodes comprising transparent conductive films; wherein the caulking members penetrate through (i.e., through a hole) the electrodes (120, 160) (page 2, 4; figs 1-2).
Therefore, per the prior art of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the transparent conductive films of Kato with caulking members so the transparent conductive films can be used as electrochromic devices in displays; therein resulting in a transparent conductive film with an electrical connector; said electrical connector is electrically connected to said electrically conductive coating, and said electrical connector is structured to be manually connectable to an external device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the prior art of record fails to suggest said electrically conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one adhesive selected from the group consisting of an acrylate-based adhesive, a polyurethane-based adhesive, a rubber-based adhesive and a silicone-based adhesive, and said electrically conductive adhesive layer comprises electrically conductive particles selected from the group consisting of metal particles, carbon particles, and metal-coated particles.
This is not persuasive. Kato teaches the conductive adhesive comprises a metal powder (i.e., said electrically conductive adhesive layer comprises electrically conductive particles selected from the group consisting of metal particles) (para 51, 98).
Regarding the limitation “said electrically conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one adhesive selected from -the group consisting of an acrylate-based adhesive, a polyurethane-based adhesive, a rubber-based adhesive and a silicone-based adhesive;” Kato does not expressly suggest “an acrylate-based adhesive.” However, Kato teaches the conductive adhesive comprises polyacrylamide; which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that of an acrylate-based adhesive.
Applicant contends that the prior art of record fails to suggest said electrically conductive adhesive layer does not contact said substrate. This is not persuasive.
Kato teaches a manufacture (e.g., transparent conductive film) comprising an electrically conductive adhesive layer (e.g., conductive layer); an electrically conductive coating (e.g., conductive metal mesh layer formed by coating); and a substrate (e.g., electrode), wherein said electrically conductive adhesive layer does not contact said substrate (abstract, para 43, 113, 129; fig 2 & fig 2 rotated and relabeled below).
With regards to the Applicant’s contentions of the additional structures taught by claim 19, the Applicant is directed to the previously explained rejection(s) under 35 USC § 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783