DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 24, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US3498236A.
Reference 2 - US20220323850A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
________________________________________
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A cordage traversing device comprising: (L2) a chassis; (L3) a plurality of stationary sheaves coupled to the chassis; (L4) a movable sheave coupled to the chassis; and (L5) a tensioner structured to move the movable sheave between a locked position and an unlocked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses self-propelled traveling block 10, which traverses trolley cable 12 while hauling cable 14. (L2) Block 10 includes a chassis formed by the frame having side plates 16 and 18 and the associated frame members. (L3) Circumferentially grooved drive wheels 28 and 30 are journaled to the frame and remain stationary in position relative to the chassis while rotating about their axes. (L4) Circumferentially grooved idler wheel 86 is coupled to side plate 18 through arm 26 and pivot pin 24. (L5) Arm 26 and tension spring 106 act as a tensioner that moves idler wheel 86 from a lowered loading position to the operative raised position shown in Figure 1, where idler wheel 86 deflects cable section 84 upward between drive wheels 28 and 30 and holds cable 12 in rolling frictional engagement. The lowered and operative positions respectively meet the claimed unlocked and locked positions.
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave form a straight cordage path when the movable sheave is in the unlocked position, and (L3) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave form a zig-zag cordage path when the movable sheave is in the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) When idler wheel 86 is lowered for placement of block 10 on trolley cable 12, cable section 84 extends substantially straight between longitudinally spaced drive wheels 28 and 30. (L3) When arm 26 and spring 106 raise idler wheel 86 into the operative position, idler wheel 86 pushes cable section 84 upward between drive wheels 28 and 30, producing the zig-zag path shown in Figure 1.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein a wrap angle of the plurality of stationary sheaves and a wrap angle of the movable sheave increase in response to the tensioner moving the movable sheave toward the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Raising idler wheel 86 increases the upward deflection of cable section 84 and thereby increases the arcs of contact between cable 12 and drive wheels 28 and 30. Figure 1 likewise shows cable 12 wrapping around idler wheel 86 as the idler wheel is raised. Reference 1 expressly explains that greater upward deflection by idler wheel 86 produces a greater arc of contact with the drive wheels.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave are structured to simultaneously engage a cordage when the movable sheave is in the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) In the operative raised position of Figure 1, trolley cable 12 simultaneously occupies grooves 82 of drive wheels 28 and 30 and groove 102 of idler wheel 86. The three wheels therefore simultaneously engage the same cordage.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein the tensioner includes at least one of a lever structured to move the movable sheave toward the locked position or a screw structured to move the movable sheave toward the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Pivoting arm 26 is a lever carrying idler wheel 86. Rearward force applied at dogleg portion 96 and lateral flange 94 rotates arm 26 about pin 24 and raises idler wheel 86 toward its operative locked position. The alternative screw need not also be disclosed because the claim requires at least one of the stated alternatives.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein wrap angles of the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave are all less than 90 degrees.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Figure 1 clearly depicts the arcs of engagement of cable 12 with drive wheels 28 and 30 and idler wheel 86 as acute arcs, each less than 90 degrees. The disclosed three-wheel geometry therefore meets the recited wrap-angle relationship.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) comprising a motor structured to rotate a first stationary sheave of the plurality of stationary sheaves while the movable sheave is in the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Battery-powered motor 54 drives both drive wheels 28 and 30 through speed reducer 38 and the belt-and-pulley transmission. Motor 54 rotates drive wheel 28 while idler wheel 86 is raised into operative engagement with cable 12.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave are coupled to a same exterior side of the chassis.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above, including frame side plates 16 and 18, stationary drive wheels 28 and 30, movable idler wheel 86, pivoting arm 26, and tension spring 106. (L2) Reference 1 does not place all three wheels on the same exterior side. Reference 2 teaches the missing arrangement: Figures 2, 5, and 9 show fixed-position sheaves 110a-110d and movable gripping wheel 148 coupled to the same exterior face of side plate 118 of mount 102.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to mount Reference 1's stationary drive wheels and movable idler on the same exterior side of the chassis as taught by Reference 2 so the traversing device could be loaded onto a taut cordage at an intermediate point without threading a free end. The combination makes technical sense because both references use fixed-position sheaves and a movable clamping sheave to grip and traverse a loaded line, and Reference 2's exterior mounting provides direct side access while retaining the same traction-producing wheel relationship.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 8, (L2) wherein the stationary sheaves and the movable sheave are oriented in a same direction and are coplanar.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses every limitation of claim 8 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Figures 5 and 9 of Reference 2 show the rotational axes of sheaves 110a-110d and gripping wheel 148 parallel, their exposed faces oriented in the same direction, and their grooves aligned in the common operating plane followed by line 200.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to orient the same-side sheaves of the modified Reference 1 device in the common plane taught by Reference 2 so the cordage remains aligned through the successive wheel grooves while following the required traction path. The combination makes technical sense because coplanar, commonly oriented sheaves reduce lateral loading and cordage derailment while allowing the stationary and movable sheaves to cooperate on the same line.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The cordage traversing device of claim 1, (L2) wherein the tensioner includes a load attachment point and a pivot point coupled to the chassis.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Arm 26 includes dogleg 96 and opening 98 at its free end for attachment of hauled cable 14, thereby providing a load attachment point. The opposite end of arm 26 rotates about pivot pin 24 coupled to frame side plate 18.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A method for traversing a taut cordage, comprising: (L2) moving a movable sheave of a cordage traversing device to an unlocked position, the cordage traversing device including a plurality of stationary sheaves coupled to a chassis and a tensioner coupled to the movable sheave, the movable sheave being coupled to the chassis; (L3) positioning a taut cordage between the stationary sheaves and the movable sheave; (L4) moving the movable sheave from the unlocked position toward a locked position; and (L5) zigzagging the cordage using the stationary sheaves and the movable sheave.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses operating traveling block 10 to traverse taut trolley cable 12. (L2) Idler wheel 86 is moved downward to permit block 10 to be placed on cable 12. Drive wheels 28 and 30 are coupled to the frame, and arm 26 and spring 106 couple idler wheel 86 to side plate 18. (L3) Cable 12 is positioned between upper drive wheels 28 and 30 and lower idler wheel 86. (L4) Spring 106 and rearward tension from hauled cable 14 rotate arm 26 upward about pin 24, moving idler wheel 86 toward the operative locked position. (L5) Raised idler wheel 86 pushes cable section 84 upward between drive wheels 28 and 30 to form the zig-zag path shown in Figure 1.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves includes a first stationary sheave and a second stationary sheave, and (L3) wherein zigzagging the cordage includes applying a force to a midsection of the cordage between the first and second stationary sheave in response to moving the movable sheave toward the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Drive wheels 28 and 30 are the first and second stationary sheaves. (L3) Idler wheel 86 applies an upward force to cable section 84 located between drive wheels 28 and 30 as arm 26 moves the idler wheel toward the operative locked position.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein an orientation of the taut cordage includes a vertical component, and (L3) wherein the method comprises moving the cordage traversing device upwardly while the movable sheave is in the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Reference 1 states that the line-stringing block can string lines extending substantially horizontally or vertically between terminals. (L3) Motor 54 turns drive wheels 28 and 30 to propel block 10 uphill on trolley cable 12 while idler wheel 86 remains raised in operative engagement with the cable.
________________________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 13, (L2) wherein the cordage traversing device includes a motor coupled to the plurality of stationary sheaves, and (L3) wherein the motor moves the cordage traversing device upward by rotating the plurality of stationary sheaves.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 13 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Motor 54 is coupled through speed reducer 38 and the belt-and-pulley transmission to drive wheels 28 and 30. (L3) Motor 54 turns drive wheels 28 and 30 in the same direction and at the same speed to move block 10 upward along trolley cable 12.
________________________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave form a straight cordage path when the movable sheave is in the unlocked position, and (L3) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave form a zig-zag cordage path when the movable sheave is in the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Lowering idler wheel 86 for loading permits cable section 84 to extend substantially straight between drive wheels 28 and 30. (L3) Raising idler wheel 86 to the operative position pushes cable section 84 upward between drive wheels 28 and 30 and produces the zig-zag path shown in Figure 1.
________________________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein a wrap angle of the plurality of stationary sheaves and a wrap angle of the movable sheave increase while moving the movable sheave from the unlocked position toward the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) The upward movement of idler wheel 86 progressively deflects cable section 84 and increases the arcs of cable contact with drive wheels 28 and 30 and idler wheel 86. Reference 1 expressly relates increased idler-wheel deflection to increased frictional contact around the drive wheels.
________________________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein the tensioner includes at least one of a lever structured to move the movable sheave toward the locked position or a screw structured to move the movable sheave toward the locked position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Arm 26 is a lever that rotates about pin 24 and carries idler wheel 86 upward toward the operative locked position. This satisfies the claimed alternative-lever limitation.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein wrap angles of the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave, when in the locked position, are all less than 90 degrees.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Figure 1 clearly shows cable 12 engaging drive wheels 28 and 30 and idler wheel 86 over acute arcs, each less than 90 degrees, when idler wheel 86 is raised into the operative locked position.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein the plurality of stationary sheaves and the movable sheave are coupled to a same exterior side of the chassis, and (L3) wherein the stationary sheaves and the movable sheave are oriented in a same direction and are coplanar.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above, including lowering movable idler wheel 86, positioning taut trolley cable 12 between stationary drive wheels 28 and 30 and idler wheel 86, raising idler wheel 86, and forming the zig-zag cordage path. (L2) Figures 2, 5, and 9 of Reference 2 teach coupling fixed-position sheaves 110a-110d and movable gripping wheel 148 to the same exterior face of side plate 118. (L3) Figures 5 and 9 show the wheel axes parallel, the exposed wheel faces oriented in the same direction, and the grooves aligned in the common operating plane followed by line 200.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to perform Reference 1's cordage-traversing method using the same-side, commonly oriented, coplanar sheave arrangement taught by Reference 2 so the device could be placed directly onto an intermediate portion of the taut cordage and maintain the cordage in one operating plane during traversal. The combination makes technical sense because Reference 1 supplies the claimed unlocking, loading, locking, and zig-zagging sequence, while Reference 2 supplies a known physical arrangement that improves side access and cordage alignment without changing those operating steps.
________________________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, (L2) wherein the tensioner includes a lever including a load attachment point and a pivot point coupled to the chassis, and (L3) wherein moving the movable sheave from the unlocked position toward the locked position includes rotating the lever about the pivot point.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses every limitation of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. (L2) Arm 26 is a lever having dogleg 96 and opening 98 for attachment of hauled cable 14 and pivot pin 24 coupled to frame side plate 18. (L3) Rearward tension from cable 14 rotates arm 26 about pin 24 and raises idler wheel 86 from the lowered position toward the operative locked position.
________________________________________
Claim Disposition
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 102: 1-7, 10-18, and 20.
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 103: 8, 9, and 19.
Objected-to Claims: None.
Allowed Claims: None.
________________________________________
Conclusion
US20180214782A1 was not used because it discloses a zip-line trolley speed-control arrangement but does not provide the complete two-stationary-sheave, movable-sheave, and tensioner relationship disclosed by Reference 1. US4492168A was not used because its cable-clamping carriage is less direct than Reference 1 for the claimed three-sheave cordage path and wrap-angle changes.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615