DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears the “s” in “αs” should be a subscript. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “at least 90%”, and the claim also recites “at least 95%” and “at least 99%” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation “at least 90%”, and the claim also recites “at least 95%” and “at least 99%” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation “at least 95%”, and the claim also recites “at least 99%” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 19 recites the broad recitation “at least 90%”, and the claim also recites “at least 95%” and “at least 99%” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. (US 2006/0062885) in view of Barbarini (US 2023/0189833).
Regarding Claim 1, Jacobson (‘885) teaches a cheese or cheese-like product comprising a) about 0.2 to about 35% by weight of casein (See paras. 49, 50, no more than 6%.), b) one or more hydrocolloids, comprising at least one of a starch or a gum (See paras. 49, 50.), however, fails to expressly set forth the types and amounts of caseins.
It is noted that Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for providing caseins with any one particular profile over another.
Barbarini (‘833) teaches a product similar to Jacobson (‘885) that provides plant-based protein rich food produces wherein the casein proteins are alpha proteins (See Abs., paras. 4, 31, 66, 113, 120, 121, Claim 44.).
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earlies effective filing date since Barbarini (‘833) and Jacobson’s (‘885) cheese-like product are substantially similar as Applicant’s it would have been obvious to select a casein with the profiled as claimed and as taught by Barbarini (‘833) for Jacobson’s (‘885) product that is effective for providing a plant-based product that satisfies the preference of a user.
Regarding Claim 2, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the cheese or cheese-like product comprises at least one starch (See paras. 57, 75 and claim 9.).
Regarding Claim 3, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the at least one starch comprises a modified starch (See paras. 57, 75 and claim 9.).
Regarding Claim 4, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the modified starch is modified potato starch (See para. 57.).
Regarding Claim 5, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the cheese or cheese-like product comprises at least about 1% by weight starch (See para. 75, 2%.).
Regarding Claim 6, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the cheese or cheese-like product comprises from about 1% to about 30% by weight starch (See para. 75, 2%.).
Regarding Claim 7, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the cheese-like product is a vegetarian or vegan cheese (See para. 75.).
Regarding Claim 8, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the cheese or cheese-like product is a pasta filata cheese or pasta filata cheese-like product (See Abs. claim 1, no specific properties are set forth in the claim.).
Regarding Claim 9, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the pasta filata cheese or cheese-like product is a mozzarella or mozzarella-like product (See Abs. claim 1, no specific properties are set forth in the claim.).
Regarding Claim 10, Jacobson (‘885) teaches the product discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the α1-casein or α2-casein is recombinant α1-casein or recombinant α2-casein.
Barbarini (‘833) teaches a product similar to Jacobson (‘885) that provides plant-based protein rich food produces wherein the casein proteins are recombinant including are alpha proteins (See Abs., paras. 4, 31, 66, 113, 120, 121, Claim 44.).
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earlies effective filing date since Barbarini (‘833) and Jacobson’s (‘885) cheese-like product are substantially similar as Applicant’s it would have been obvious to select a casein as taught by Barbarini (‘833) for Jacobson’s (‘885) product that is effective for providing a plant-based product that satisfies the preference of a user.
Regarding Claim 11, Jacobson (‘885) teaches the product discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the recombinant α1-casein or recombinant α2-casein is a bovine α1-casein or α2-casein, or variant thereof.
Barbarini (‘833) teaches a product similar to Jacobson (‘885) that provides plant-based protein rich food produces wherein the casein proteins are recombinant including are bovine alpha proteins (See paras. 31, 66, 113, 120, Claim 43, 44.).
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earlies effective filing date since Barbarini (‘833) and Jacobson’s (‘885) cheese-like product are substantially similar as Applicant’s it would have been obvious to select a casein as taught by Barbarini (‘833) for Jacobson’s (‘885) product that is effective for providing a plant-based product that satisfies the preference of a user.
Regarding Claim 15, Jacobson (‘885) teaches the product discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein αs-casein comprises at least 95% or 99% by weight of total protein in the cheese or cheese-like product.
Barbarini (‘833) teaches a product similar to Jacobson (‘885) that provides plant-based protein rich food produces wherein the casein proteins are recombinant including are alpha proteins (See Abs., paras. 4, 31, 66, 113, 120, 121, Claim 44.).
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earlies effective filing date since Barbarini (‘833) and Jacobson’s (‘885) cheese-like product are substantially similar as Applicant’s it would have been obvious to select a casein as taught by Barbarini (‘833) for Jacobson’s (‘885) product that is effective for providing a plant-based product that satisfies the preference of a user.
Regarding Claim 16, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the cheese or cheese-like product comprises about 0.5 to about 30% by weight total protein (See paras. 49, 50, no more than 6%.).
Regarding Claim 17, Jacobson (‘885) teaches a cheese or cheese-like product comprising a) about 0.2 to about 35% by weight of casein (See paras. 49, 50, no more than 6%.), b) from about 1% to about 30% by weight of one or more starches (See paras. 49, 50.), however, fails to expressly set forth the types and amounts of caseins.
It is noted that Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for providing caseins with any one particular profile over another.
Barbarini (‘833) teaches a product similar to Jacobson (‘885) that provides plant-based protein rich food produces wherein the casein proteins are alpha proteins (See Abs., paras. 4, 31, 66, 113, 120, 121, Claim 44.).
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earlies effective filing date since Barbarini (‘833) and Jacobson’s (‘885) cheese-like product are substantially similar as Applicant’s it would have been obvious to select a casein with the profiled as claimed and as taught by Barbarini (‘833) for Jacobson’s (‘885) product that is effective for providing a plant-based product that satisfies the preference of a user.
Regarding Claim 18, Jacobson (‘885) teaches teaches the product discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the recombinant α1-casein is a mature bovine α1-casein.
Barbarini (‘833) teaches a product similar to Jacobson (‘885) that provides plant-based protein rich food produces wherein the casein proteins are recombinant including are bovine alpha proteins (See paras. 31, 66, 113, 120, Claim 43, 44.).
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earlies effective filing date since Barbarini (‘833) and Jacobson’s (‘885) cheese-like product are substantially similar as Applicant’s it would have been obvious to select a casein as taught by Barbarini (‘833) for Jacobson’s (‘885) product that is effective for providing a plant-based product that satisfies the preference of a user.
Regarding Claim 20, Jacobson (‘885) teaches wherein the pasta filata cheese or cheese-like product is a mozzarella or mozzarella-like product (See Abs. claim 1, no specific properties are set forth in the claim.).
Conclusion
/BRENT T O'HERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793 April 28, 2026