DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different field of search and have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/26/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant utilizes the phrase “heat stake welding” in the application, such a phrase is understood to refer to the well-known process heat-staking.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhandare (US20190145041A1)
As to claim 1, Bhandare discloses a door of a laundry treating appliance (abstract), the door comprising: an inner frame (Fig.3 ref 130), a window (ref 132) in the inner frame [0053], a shield (combination of refs 104 & 102) outboard of the window, and an outer frame (ref 106) surrounding the shield, the door assembly configurated to be rotatably mounted to a cabinet of the laundry appliance (see Figs.1-2), wherein a cap is formed via coupling of the outer frame and the shield together via heat stake welding [0050-0052]. Thus, Bhandare teaches the method of heat stake welding the shield and outer frame to one another in order to form a cap.
As to claims 2-8, Bhandare teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a cylindrical boss is passed through a passage to form the cap via heat stake welding (see Figs.10 & 12A-12B & [0050-0052]). Further, a distal end of the cylindrical boss is heated and a forming tool (Figs.12A-12B ref 154) is applied to said distal end in order to form the cylindrical boss into the cap (see Figs.12-A-12B). The heating of the distal end of the cylindrical boss includes heating of the forming tool [0052] and application of the heated forming tool to the distal end of the boss heats said distal end. A proximal portion of the boss remains cylindrical after forming of the cap on the distal end of the boss (see Fig.12B). The proximal portion of the boss defines an outer diameter, the passage defines an inner diameter, and the cap defines a major dimension at a shoulder of the boss (see Figs.12A-12B). The shoulder of the boss abuts a distal end of the passage (see Figs.12A-12B). The major dimension of the cap is greater than the inner diameter of the passage (see Figs.12A-12B).
As to claims 9-10, Bhandare teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the shield and outer frame are comprised of a plastic material [0036-0037].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buso (US20200063328A1) showcases a door construction having an inner frame, window, shield, and outer frame without the presence of multiple parts comprising an intermediate frame (see Figs.9-10). Li (US20200270794A1; see Fig.3), Kim (US20150000200A1; see Figs.3-4), Hill (US20090320371A1; see Fig.2), and Park (US20240229339A1; see Fig.2) all disclose similar
Schuck (US20110023560A1) showcases a door having an inner frame (Figs.2A-2B ref 400A), a window (Figs.2A-2B ref 700A), a shield (Figs.2A-2B ref 300), and an outer frame surrounding the shield (Figs.2A-2B ref 200).
Da Riol (US20120086315A1) showcases a protective cover (ref 150) for a door window (ref 220) disposed in, and surrounded by, an outer frame (ref 210).
Mithal (US20160198875A1) discloses heat staking is a well-known means for attaching an element to a door [0062].
NPL1 and NPL2 both showcases that heat staking is a known process for joining of two elements (see attached NPL1 & NPL2).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711