DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 06/29/2026, filed with the office on 09/03/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment of the claim 13, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of record has been withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-3, 13, 19 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 3, 2026, with respect to rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been fully considered; but they are not found persuasive. Specifically, on page 8 of its reply, Applicant argues under the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Interpretation section that “persons of ordinary skill in the art reading the specification would understand the terms "contour extractor," "determination unit," "heel estimation unit," "toe estimation unit" and "foot length calculation unit" to have a sufficiently definite meaning. Examiner wants to clarify that the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked because the claim language recites means plus function without reciting sufficient structure (i.e. toe estimation unit is not a definitive known structure) and the definition from the specification i.e. a processor is used to identify the actual structure performing the function. Therefore, the claim interpretation is proper.
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1, 19 and 20, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “contour extractor” in claim 1, “determination unit”, “heel estimation unit in claims 1-8; “toe estimation unit” in claims 9-13 and “foot length calculation unit” in claims 14-18.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: algorithms (flow charts) depicted in Fig.2, Fig. 3 and applicant’s specification: ¶0025: “Each of the functional blocks shown in the diagrams, including Fig. 2, can be implemented by an element such as a processor” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (US 2023/0385894 A1) in view of Mclellan et al. (US 2025/0107591 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heo teaches, A heel position estimation device, comprising: (Heo, ¶0008: “foot size measurement information using smart device”; and ¶0102: “determining… the calcaneal bisection line from the foot image. The calcaneus is the heel bone”) a contour extractor configured to extract, (Heo, ¶0119: “extract only the outline area of the foot in the image through regression analysis”) from a one-foot image of a measurement subject (Heo, ¶0098: “a foot analysis processor 220 for analyzing the customer's foot image”) captured from a medial side or a lateral side of one foot, (Heo, ¶0094: “The side image of the foot may be an image obtained by photographing of a medial side of the foot”) a contour shape (Heo, ¶0121: “the outline and its coordinates are extracted from the boundary”) of a foot part that includes at least part of a heel portion; (Heo, ¶0137: “the inclination angle of the ankle, the inclination angle of the lower leg bisection line, and the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”) a determination unit configured to determine (Heo, ¶0136: “a foot type determination unit 224 that derives the foot type”) a type of the contour shape based on an inclination of the contour shape (Heo, ¶0094: “The height, width, inclination shape, and the like of the foot arch and instep may be used to determine the foot type”) ; and a heel estimation unit configured to estimate a heel point position in the contour shape, (Heo, ¶0133: “coordinate values of the inner ankle and the outer ankle may be set as the center point of the ankle”) based on the type of the contour shape determined. (Heo, ¶0142: “In the A-type foot, since the little toe is lifted higher than the big toe or the big toe is pressed down, the first calcaneal head accommodation portion 12 in the forefoot (FF) of the insole may be formed lower”). However, Heo does not explicitly teach an inclination of the contour shape with respect to a foot length direction.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Mclellan teaches, an inclination of the contour shape with respect to a foot length direction (Mclellan, ¶0045: “determining a calcaneal frontal plane position of the user's foot and assigning a value based on an angle of the calcaneus”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heo using the teachings of Mclellan to introduce measuring the angle of the calcaneus/heel. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of differentiating foot types using different angular measurements of the calcaneus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Heo and Mclellan to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the determination unit is configured to (Heo, ¶0136: “a foot type determination unit 224 that derives the foot type”) determine whether the contour shape is a first type having a maximum point when a heel side in the foot length direction of the one-foot image (Heo, ¶0047: “AI model structure of output values (foot type) according to input values (inner ankle, outer ankle, angle of lower leg bisection line, left and right area data of the heel, and foot image) in a model structure”) is defined as a positive direction, (Heo, ¶0059: “the D1-axis, the D2-axis, and the D3-axis may be perpendicular to one another, or may represent different directions that are not perpendicular to one another”) and when the contour shape is determined to be the first type, the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a maximum point to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0029: “the rearfoot of the insole applied to the A-type may be formed higher on the lateral side than on the medial side by an inclination angle of 5 to 15 degrees, in the forefoot, the second, third, fourth, and fifth calcaneal head receiving portions may be formed higher than the first calcaneal head receiving portion”; Heo correlates a foot type with detected foot characteristics).
Regarding claim 3, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 2, wherein, when the determination unit has determined the contour shape to be not the first type, the determination unit is configured to (Heo, ¶0036: “reading whether the foot type is suitable, and re-determining the foot type if it is determined to be unsuitable”) determine whether the contour shape is a second type in which a magnitude of the inclination of the contour shape with respect to the foot length direction or a degree of a change in the inclination satisfies a predetermined condition, (Heo, ¶0143: “The B-type is an eversion type foot in which the instep is low, the arch of the foot is low, and the foot leans inward, and it corresponds to a clinically mild foot”) and when the contour shape is determined to be the second type, the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a position in the contour shape that satisfies the predetermined condition to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0030: “the rearfoot of the insole applied to the B-type is formed higher on medial side than on the lateral side with a gentle inclination to prevent the foot from leaning inward… the big toe portion may extend from the first calcaneal head (mortons extension) and is formed slightly high, and the lateral calcaneus cuboid arch portion may be formed of a level 1 low support portion”; Heo correlates a different foot type with detected different foot characteristics).
Regarding claim 4, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 3, wherein, when the inclination of the contour shape with respect to the foot length direction changes, along the contour shape from a plantar side toward the heel side in the foot length direction, (Heo, ¶0127: “coordinate deviation of the extracted outline, ankle detection, region of interest (ROI) setting, foot inclination”) from a first inclination range to a second inclination range, which is greater than the first inclination range (Heo, ¶0127: “connecting the coordinate values of the distal end of the inner ankle and the coordinate values of the outline near the inside of the sole of the foot are set, and then the inclination angle with the highest angle among them may be used”) by a predetermined amount of inclination, (Heo, ¶0029: “the A-type may be formed higher on the lateral side than on the medial side by an inclination angle of 5 to 15 degrees”) the determination unit is configured to determine the contour shape to be the second type, (Heo, ¶0127: “the inclination angle with the highest angle among them may be used as the input data”) and when the contour shape is determined to be the second type, (Heo, ¶0136: “a foot type determination unit 224 that derives the foot type using a series of neural networks from input data”) the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a position in the contour shape at which the inclination changes from the first inclination range to the second inclination range, (Heo, ¶0019: “an inclination angle of the inner ankle, an inclination angle of the outer ankle, an inclination angle of the lower leg bisection line, and left and right area data of the heel divided to left and right by the lower leg bisection line may be learned using a deep neural network”) to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0137: “the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”).
Regarding claim 5, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 3, wherein, when the contour shape includes a position at which the magnitude of the inclination with respect to the foot length direction is a predetermined threshold or greater, (Heo, ¶0029: “the second, third, fourth, and fifth calcaneal head receiving portions may be formed higher than the first calcaneal head receiving portion”) the determination unit is configured to (Heo, ¶0136: “a foot type determination unit 224 that derives the foot type using a series of neural networks from input data”) determine the contour shape to be the second type, and when the contour shape is determined to be the second type, (Heo, ¶0143: “The B-type is an eversion type foot in which the instep is low, the arch of the foot is low, and the foot leans inward, and it corresponds to a clinically mild foot”) the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a position in the contour shape at which the magnitude of the inclination is greater than or equal to the threshold and that is located on a most plantar side, (Heo, ¶0030: “the rearfoot of the insole applied to the B-type is formed higher on medial side than on the lateral side with a gentle inclination to prevent the foot from leaning inward (eversion), the midfoot may be formed of a plantar fascia groove”) to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0137: “the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”).
Regarding claim 6, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 3, wherein, when the determination unit has determined the contour shape to be not the first type or the second type, the determination unit is configured to determine (Heo, ¶0036: “reading whether the foot type is suitable, and re-determining the foot type if it is determined to be unsuitable”) the contour shape to be a third type, and when the contour shape is determined to be the third type, (Heo, ¶0144: “The C-type corresponds to a foot type in which the instep is low and the arch of the foot is low, but the foot is generally not biased in any direction”) the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a position in the contour shape located on a most heel side in the foot length direction (Heo, ¶0127: “a series of virtual lines connecting the coordinate values of the distal end of the outer ankle and the coordinate values of the outline near the outside of the sole of the foot are set”) to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0137: “the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”).
Regarding claim 7, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 4, wherein, when the determination unit has determined the contour shape to be not the first type or the second type, the determination unit is configured to determine (Heo, ¶0036: “reading whether the foot type is suitable, and re-determining the foot type if it is determined to be unsuitable”) the contour shape to be a third type, and when the contour shape is determined to be the third type, (Heo, ¶0144: “The C-type corresponds to a foot type in which the instep is low and the arch of the foot is low, but the foot is generally not biased in any direction”) the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a position in the contour shape located on a most heel side in the foot length direction (Heo, ¶0127: “a series of virtual lines connecting the coordinate values of the distal end of the outer ankle and the coordinate values of the outline near the outside of the sole of the foot are set”) to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0137: “the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”).
Regarding claim 8, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 5, wherein, when the determination unit has determined (Heo, ¶0036: “reading whether the foot type is suitable, and re-determining the foot type if it is determined to be unsuitable”) the contour shape to be a third type, and when the contour shape is determined to be the third type, (Heo, ¶0144: “The C-type corresponds to a foot type in which the instep is low and the arch of the foot is low, but the foot is generally not biased in any direction”) the heel estimation unit is configured to estimate a position in the contour shape located on a most heel side in the foot length direction (Heo, ¶0127: “a series of virtual lines connecting the coordinate values of the distal end of the outer ankle and the coordinate values of the outline near the outside of the sole of the foot are set”) to be the heel point position. (Heo, ¶0137: “the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”).
Regarding claim 19, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, A heel position estimation (Heo, ¶0008: “foot size measurement information using smart device”; and ¶0102: “determining… the calcaneal bisection line from the foot image. The calcaneus is the heel bone”) method, comprising: extracting, (Heo, ¶0121: “The method for extracting the outline”) from a one-foot image (Heo, ¶0119: “extract only the outline area of the foot in the image through regression analysis”) of a measurement subject (Heo, ¶0098: “analyzing the customer's foot image”) captured from a medial side or a lateral side of one foot, (Heo, ¶0094: “The side image of the foot may be an image obtained by photographing of a medial side of the foot”) a contour shape (Heo, ¶0121: “the outline and its coordinates are extracted from the boundary”) of a foot part that includes at least part of a heel portion; (Heo, ¶0137: “the inclination angle of the ankle, the inclination angle of the lower leg bisection line, and the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”) determining the type of the contour shape based on an inclination of the contour shape (Heo, ¶0094: “The height, width, inclination shape, and the like of the foot arch and instep may be used to determine the foot type”) ; and estimating a heel point position in the contour shape, (Heo, ¶0133: “coordinate values of the inner ankle and the outer ankle may be set as the center point of the ankle”) based on the type of the contour shape determined. (Heo, ¶0142: “In the A-type foot, since the little toe is lifted higher than the big toe or the big toe is pressed down, the first calcaneal head accommodation portion 12 in the forefoot (FF) of the insole may be formed lower”). However, Heo does not explicitly teach an inclination of the contour shape with respect to a foot length direction.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Mclellan teaches, an inclination of the contour shape with respect to a foot length direction (Mclellan, ¶0045: “determining a calcaneal frontal plane position of the user's foot and assigning a value based on an angle of the calcaneus”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heo using the teachings of Mclellan to introduce measuring the angle of the calcaneus/heel. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of differentiating foot types using different angular measurements of the calcaneus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Heo and Mclellan to obtain the invention in claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Heo, ¶0086: “customer terminal 100 may be any device capable of display, data storage, and communication, such as a smartphone, tablet, or PC computer”) storing a program causing a computer to implement: (Heo, ¶0063: “microprocessors or other similar hardware, they may be programmed and controlled using software (e.g., microcode) to perform various functions”) extracting, from a one-foot image (Heo, ¶0119: “extract only the outline area of the foot in the image through regression analysis”) of a measurement subject (Heo, ¶0098: “analyzing the customer's foot image”) captured from a medial side or a lateral side of one foot, (Heo, ¶0094: “The side image of the foot may be an image obtained by photographing of a medial side of the foot”) a contour shape (Heo, ¶0121: “the outline and its coordinates are extracted from the boundary”) of a foot part that includes at least part of a heel portion; (Heo, ¶0137: “the inclination angle of the ankle, the inclination angle of the lower leg bisection line, and the ratio of left and right areas of the heel may be obtained”) determining the type of the contour shape based on an inclination of the contour shape (Heo, ¶0094: “The height, width, inclination shape, and the like of the foot arch and instep may be used to determine the foot type”) ; and estimating a heel point position in the contour shape, (Heo, ¶0133: “coordinate values of the inner ankle and the outer ankle may be set as the center point of the ankle”) based on the type of the contour shape determined. (Heo, ¶0142: “In the A-type foot, since the little toe is lifted higher than the big toe or the big toe is pressed down, the first calcaneal head accommodation portion 12 in the forefoot (FF) of the insole may be formed lower”). However, Heo does not explicitly teach an inclination of the contour shape with respect to a foot length direction.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Mclellan teaches, an inclination of the contour shape with respect to a foot length direction (Mclellan, ¶0045: “determining a calcaneal frontal plane position of the user's foot and assigning a value based on an angle of the calcaneus”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heo using the teachings of Mclellan to introduce measuring the angle of the calcaneus/heel. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of differentiating foot types using different angular measurements of the calcaneus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Heo and Mclellan to obtain the invention in claim 20.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (US 2023/0385894 A1) in view of Mclellan et al. (US 2025/0107591 A1) and in further view of Maezawa (US 2021/0345733 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Heo in view of Mclellan teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 1, further comprising: a toe estimation unit configured to estimate a toe position from the one-foot image; (Heo, ¶0032: “a big toe portion may be formed slightly high by extending from the first calcaneal head (mortons extension”). However, the combination of Heo and Mclellan does not explicitly teach, a foot length calculation unit configured to calculate a foot length based on the toe position estimated and the heel point position estimated.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Maezawa teaches, a foot length calculation unit configured to calculate (Maezawa, ¶0148: “control unit 21 can further comprise measuring means”) a foot length based on the toe position estimated and the heel point position estimated. (Maezawa, ¶0149: “foot length can be measured by measuring the length between the heel and the toe in a two-dimensional cross-section passing through the heel and the toe”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heo in view of Mclellan using the teachings of Maezawa to introduce measuring heel to toe. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of computing a foot size from heel to toe from a foot image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa to obtain the invention in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa references presented in the rejection of claim 9, apply to claim 10 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 10 is met by Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa.
Regarding claim 11, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa references presented in the rejection of claim 9, apply to claim 11 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 11 is met by Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa.
Regarding claim 12, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa references presented in the rejection of claim 9, apply to claim 12 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 12 is met by Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa.
Regarding claim 13, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa references presented in the rejection of claim 9, apply to claim 13 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 13 is met by Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (US 2023/0385894 A1) in view of Mclellan et al. (US 2025/0107591 A1), in further view of Maezawa (US 20210345733 A1), still in further view of Kagami et al. (US 2021/0015212 A1) and yet in further view of Ajima (US 2017/0332960 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Heo in view of Mclellan and in further view of Maezawa teaches, The heel position estimation device according to claim 9. Although Heo discloses the use of regression models- Heo, ¶0119: “extract only the outline area of the foot in the image through regression analysis”), the combination of Heo, Mclellan and Maezawa does not explicitly teach, a foot length correction unit configured to correct the foot length calculated by the foot length calculation unit, based on a multiple regression model using a size of a reference object in the one-foot image and an angle of a predetermined portion of the reference object, a parameter based on information on an actual size of the reference object and information on an actual angle of the predetermined portion of the reference object, and a coefficient based on the type of the contour shape.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kagami teaches, a foot length correction unit (Kagami, ¶0045: “foot shape data creating unit 106”) configured to correct the foot length calculated by the foot length calculation unit, (Kagami, ¶0050: “foot shape data creating unit 106 creates a foot shape data based on the corrected foot size”) based on a multiple regression model (Kagami, ¶0046: “foot shape data creating unit 106 holds a learned model obtained by performing supervised learning on a data set”) using a size of a reference object (Kagami, ¶0048: “calculates the image capturing distance based on the size of the reference marker”) in the one-foot image and an angle of a predetermined portion of the reference object, (Kagami, ¶0050: “based on the positions of the distortion correction markers 118, and corrects the size of a foot of which an image has been captured”) a parameter based on information on an actual size of the reference object (Kagami, ¶0048: “the size of the reference marker 114 is determined in advance”) and information on an actual angle of the predetermined portion of the reference object, (Kagami, ¶0050: “based on the positions of the distortion correction markers 118, and corrects the size of a foot of which an image has been captured”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heo in view of Mclellan, in further view of Maezawa using the teachings of Kagami to introduce using an object of known size. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of computing a foot length based on the size of the known object in the image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa and Kagami to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 14. However, the combination of Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa and Kagami does not explicitly teach, a coefficient based on the type of the contour shape.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Ajima teaches, a coefficient based on the type of the contour shape. (Ajima, ¶0179: “coefficients representing the shape characteristics of the contour”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heo in view of Mclellan, in further view of Maezawa and still in further view of Kagami using the teachings of Ajima to introduce assigning a coefficient based on a contour shape. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of optimizing the computation based on different contour shapes for more accurate computation results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima to obtain the invention in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima references presented in the rejection of claim 14, apply to claim 15 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 15 is met by Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima.
Regarding claim 16, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima references presented in the rejection of claim 14, apply to claim 16 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 16 is met by Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima.
Regarding claim 17, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima references presented in the rejection of claim 14, apply to claim 17 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 17 is met by Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima.
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima references presented in the rejection of claim 14, apply to claim 18 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in claim 18 is met by Heo, Mclellan, Maezawa, Kagami and Ajima.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662