DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed on 3/20/26. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priebatsch, US Pub. No.20170193543.
As to claim 1, Priebatsch discloses a method comprising:
triggering, by at least one processor associated with a first party, in response to scanning a machine readable indicia by a user mobile (102 fig.2B) associated with a user, to retrieve, a data object (user information) , from a third-party service (merchant system service) associated with at least one user activity (initiating a payment transaction when the user presents the QR code stored in the mobile device 102 to the merchant system 108. The merchant system 108 may scan the code using, e.g., a POS integrated scanner, and thereupon transmits the scanned data along with the payment amount to the management server 106, see fig.2B, [0065] to [0066]), wherein the machine-readable indicia comprises encoded data identifying:
the data object and the third-party server (merchant server 106 fig.2B) ; wherein the machine-readable indicia is configured to trigger, via a software application loaded on the user mobile device, the at least one processor to retrieve the data object from the third-party server; wherein the data object comprises a plurality of data fields configured to be populated with user data associated with a user of the user mobile device (using the transaction server106 for permitting users to establish accounts with the transaction system by providing information including at least: some addressable information of the user, such as an email address, IP address, device identifier, phone number, or the like; and sonic financial account information, such as a debit or credit card account number, a prepaid credit card account number, a bank account number, or the like. Upon establishing an account, the transaction system assigns a user an identification token, which may be encoded or represented in the form of a bar code, see fig.2B, [0061]),
automatically modifying, by the at least one processor, the data object with the user data associated with the user, the modifying comprising populating the plurality of data fields of the data object with the user data based on a user account associated with the user: and transmitting, by the at least one processor to the third-party server, the data object to cause, on behalf of the user, the third-party server to perform the at least one user activity (allowing for new QR codes to be generated and pushed to the mobile device 102 on a periodic, per-transaction or time-out basis; the same key,
generated with respect to the unique QR code, can be used to validate any of these additional QR codes, see [0062]).
As to claim 2, Priebatsch discloses at least one quick response (QR) code (QR code, see [0066])..
As to claim 3, Priebatsch discloses causing the third-party server to generate, based on a long-term token, the machine- readable indicia such that the machine-readable indicia is associated with the at least one data object that corresponds to at least one activity
that is defined by the third-party server and is to be performed by an application end
user associated with the software application (submitting a charge to a financial account
associated with the user identification token using known methods for processing
electronic transactions, including through a payment processor, see [0055] and [0061]).
As to claim 4, Priebatsch discloses at least one data object comprises the long-term
token personalized to the application end user (user token processing, see [0061]-[0062]).
As to claim 5, Priebatsch discloses determining, by the ai least one processor, at least
one identifying attribute matches an application end user associated with the software
application (producing a list of user recipients with criteria matching the entered criteria,
see [0074]).
As to claim 6, Priebatsch discloses determining, by the at least one processor, a server
identifier matches a server associated with the at least one processor (using the
merchant server for updating its query on connection with the created promotion to
identify eligible recipients and deliver promotional offer notifications as receipt eligibility
criteria are satisfied in future transactions, see [0083] to [0084]).
As to claim 7, Priebatsch discloses the at least one data object includes a payment
service, an application service, or other services (a merchant payment system, see
[0084]-[0086]).
As to claim 8, Priebatsch discloses the third-party server includes a leasing company, a
real estate company, a service provider offering electronic bill payment, an organization
providing services, or an individual providing services (see [0084]-[0085]).
As to claim 9, Priebatsch discloses the machine-readable indicia include hyperlinks,
smart links, short message service (SMS) messages, or a combination thereof (a link to
a URL that directs the transaction server, see [0076]-[0077]).
As to claim 10, Priebatsch discloses generating, by the at least one processor, a short
term token having an expiration period after which the short term token is configured to
expire and triggering, by at least one processor, to retrieve, from the third-party server,
the data object associated with at least one user activity in response to the short term
token (generating a mature code or an authentication token later which is reset
periodically (e.g., in a predetermined period of time), or upon request or manual
intervention, see [0055]-[0056]).
Claims 11-20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1-10 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant assets that the reference does not disclose triggering, by at least one processor associated with a first party, in response to scanning a machine readable indicia by a user mobile associated with a user, to retrieve, a data object, from a third-party service.
Examiner respectfully disagree. Examiner respectfully point out that Priebatsch discloses the Applicant claimed invention. For example, Priebatsch discloses a method comprising: triggering, by at least one processor associated with a first party, in response to scanning a machine readable indicia by a user mobile (102 fig.2B) associated with a user, to retrieve, a data object (user information) , from a third-party service (merchant system service) associated with at least one user activity (initiating a payment transaction when the user presents the QR code stored in the mobile device 102 to the merchant system 108. The merchant system 108 may scan the code using, e.g., a POS integrated scanner, and thereupon transmits the scanned data along with the payment amount to the management server 106, see fig.2b, [0065] to [0066]) as rejected above.
As a result, cited prior art does disclose a system and method, as broadly claimed by the Applicants. Applicants clearly have still failed to identify specific claim limitations that would define a clearly patentable distinction over prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Khanh Dinh whose telephone number is (571) 272-3936. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.m. to 5:00 P.m.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Cheema Umar, can be reached on (571) 270-3037. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458