CTNF 18/761,031 CTNF 83669 DETAILED ACTION NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 October 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the Examiner herein. CLAIM STATUS Claim 1 was originally filed. Claim 1 was canceled by the preliminary amendment filed 10 September 2024. Claims 2-21 were newly added by the same preliminary amendment. Claims 2-21 are currently pending and have been examined herein. INITIAL REMARKS Applicant is reminded that in order to be entitled to reconsideration or further examination, the Applicant or patent owner must reply to the Office action. The reply by the Applicant or patent owner must be reduced to a writing which distinctly and specifically points out the supposed errors in the examiner' s action and must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action . The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. If the reply is with respect to an application, a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims, be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. The Applicant's or patent owner's reply must appear throughout to be a bona fide attempt to advance the application or the reexamination proceeding to final action. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Should the Applicant believe that a telephone conference would expedite the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant is invited to call the Examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA CLAIM INTERPRETATION 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. § 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. Claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph 1 : the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “apparatus…comprising: a processor configured to cause…” and a “product…comprising… at least one processor to cause…” in claims 2 and 18 respectivley. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph. CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. § 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schelstraete et al., US20160127019 (“SHELSTRAETE”) . Re claim 2, SHELSTRAETE discloses an apparatus comprising: a processor [0118] configured to cause a wireless communication station (STA) to: broadcast a Very High Throughput (VHT) Null-Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NDPA) to announce a VHT NDP over a channel bandwidth comprising a plurality of channels, the VHT NDP configured for a ranging measurement [0033-0034]; and broadcast the VHT NDP over the channel bandwidth by duplicating a plurality of NDP fields of the VHT NDP over the plurality of channels, the plurality of NDP fields comprising a first plurality of fields and a second plurality of fields after the first plurality of fields, wherein the first plurality of fields comprises Non-High- Throughput (non-HT) fields, the second plurality of fields comprises VHT fields configured for the ranging measurement [0033-0034]; and a memory to store information processed by the processor [0118] Re claim 3, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the second plurality of fields comprises a VHT Long Training Field (LTF) configured for the ranging measurement [0033-0034] Re claim 4, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 3, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to broadcast the VHT LTF over the plurality of channels by broadcasting a sequence of a plurality of duplicates of the VHT LTF over the plurality of channels, respectively [0033-0034], [0092] Re claim 5, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to duplicate the second plurality of fields over the plurality of channels according to a non-HT duplicate transmission format [0024-0025] Re claim 6, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the plurality of channels comprises a plurality of 20 Megahertz (MHz) channels [0030] Re claim 7, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the channel bandwidth is an integer multiple of 20 Megahertz (MHz) [0030] Re claim 8, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to broadcast the VHT NDP over a 40 Megahertz (MHz) channel bandwidth comprising two adjacent 20MHZ channels by duplicating the plurality of NDP fields over the two adjacent 20MHZ channels [0030] Re claim 9, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to broadcast the VHT NDP over an 80 Megahertz (MHz) channel bandwidth comprising four adjacent 20MHZ channels by duplicating the plurality of NDP fields over the four adjacent 20MHZ channels [0030] Re claim 10, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to broadcast the VHT NDP over a 160 Megahertz (MHz) channel bandwidth comprising eight adjacent 20MHZ channels by duplicating the plurality of NDP fields over the eight adjacent 20MHZ channels [0030] Re claim 11, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to broadcast the VHT NDP over a 80+80 Megahertz (MHz) channel bandwidth comprising first and second non- adjacent 80MHZ channels by duplicating the plurality of NDP fields over first four adjacent 20MHZ channels in the first 80MHz channel and over second four adjacent 20MHZ channels in the second 80MHz channel [0030] Re claim 12, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the second plurality of fields comprises at least one angular measurement field configured for an angular measurement [0102-0106] Re claim 13, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 12, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: configured to cause the STA to broadcast over each channel of the plurality of channels a plurality of duplicates of the angular measurement field [0030] Re claim 14, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the first plurality of fields comprises a non-HT Short Training Field (STF) (L-STF), a non-HT Long Training Field (LTF) (L-LTF) after the L-STF, and a non-HT Signal (L-SIG) field after the L-LTF [0033-0034] Re claim 15, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the second plurality of fields comprises a VHT Signal A (VHT-SIG-A) field, a VHT Short Training Field (STF) (VHT-STF) after the VHT-SIG-A field, and a VHT Long Training Field (LTF) (VHT-LTF) after the VHT-ST [0033-0034] Re claim 16, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: wherein the ranging measurement comprises at least one of a Time of Arrival (ToA) measurement or an angle of Departure (AoD) measurement [0101-0102] Re claim 17, SHELSTRAETE discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as shown above. SHELSTRAETE further discloses: comprising a radio to transmit the NDPA and the NDP from the STA, one or more antennas coupled to the radio, and another processor to execute instructions of an operating system [0090], [0112] Re claims 18-21, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that encompassed by claims 2-17. Accordingly, claims 18-21 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 2-17. Furthermore, the non-transitory storage media embodiment is further disclosed by SHELSTRAETE at [0011]. RELEVANT PRIOR ART The Examiner would like to make Applicant aware of prior art references, not relied upon in this action, but pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. They are as follows: WO2019190519A1, Abramovsky et al. – ranging measurement system using null data packets and very high throughput procedures US20170251449A1, Malik et al. – broadcast protocol for local area network ranging and direction finding US20170127412A1, Amizur – fine timing measurement system CONCLUSION Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS M HAMMOND III whose telephone number is 571-272-2215. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 0800-1700. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Peter Macchiarolo can be reached on 571-272-2375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. For more information about the PAIR system, see: https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair . Respectfully, /Thomas M Hammond III/Primary Examiner, GAU 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 7 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 8 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 9 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 10 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/761,031 Page 11 Art Unit: 2855 1 MPEP § 2181, subsection I