DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the remarks filed on June 2, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed June 2, 2026, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 4-6, filed June 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 8, 11 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of He have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as follows:
Xu does not disclose a WUR signal carrying the claimed indication information
Xu is directed to a PDCCH wake up signal (PDCCH WUS) and dormancy indication mechanisms associated with PDCCH operation. As characterized in the Office Action, Xu discusses transmitting "one of the PDCCH WUS outside the active time of the DRX cycle and/or the PDCCH inside the active time" and setting UE behavior depending on whether a dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH WUS or PDCCH is detected. Thus, Xu remains within the PDCCH framework.
That is not what is claimed here.
The present claims require that the indication information itself is received or transmitted "by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal." The application explains that the WUR signal is a signal receivable and demodulatable by a wake up receiver, and is distinct from a PDCCH signal. See, e.g., the Description at paragraphs [0091]-[0092], which explains that the WUR signal may be received in an envelope-detection-based manner and that receiving the indication information by using the WUR signal reduces the power consumed in receiving and demodulating the indication information as compared with monitoring a PDCCH signal. The application further emphasizes at paragraphs [0079]-[0083] that the wake up receiver receives a signal, waveform, modulation mode, and demodulation mode different from those of a PDCCH, and that relying on a PDCCH would require waking the primary receiver, thereby increasing power consumption.
Moreover, according to the existing standard definition in the 3GPP specifications, a Wake- Up Radio (WUR) signal is a distinct low-power signal designed to be received by a simple envelope-detection-based wake-up receiver, and is explicitly differentiated from the PDCCH- based wake-up signal (WUS) which operates within the PDCCH framework. The claimed WUR signal in the present application conforms to this standard definition and thus does not encompass a PDCCH WUS. Therefore, Xu's PDCCH WUS cannot be considered as the claimed WUR signal.
Accordingly, the claimed WUR signal is not merely any wake-up-related control signal, and certainly not a PDCCH WUS that still operates within a PDCCH signaling framework. Xu's PDCCH WUS does not disclose a WUR signal as claimed, nor does Xu disclose directly conveying the claimed SCell/SCG state-control indication information via such a WUR signal.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “The application explains that the WUR signal is a signal receivable and demodulatable by a wake up receiver, and is distinct from a PDCCH signal. See, e.g., the Description at paragraphs [0091]-[0092], which explains that the WUR signal may be received in an envelope-detection-based manner and that receiving the indication information by using the WUR signal reduces the power consumed in receiving and demodulating the indication information as compared with monitoring a PDCCH signal. The application further emphasizes at paragraphs [0079]-[0083] that the wake up receiver receives a signal, waveform, modulation mode, and demodulation mode different from those of a PDCCH, and that relying on a PDCCH would require waking the primary receiver, thereby increasing power consumption. Moreover, according to the existing standard definition in the 3GPP specifications, a Wake- Up Radio (WUR) signal is a distinct low-power signal designed to be received by a simple envelope-detection-based wake-up receiver, and is explicitly differentiated from the PDCCH- based wake-up signal (WUS) which operates within the PDCCH framework. The claimed WUR signal in the present application conforms to this standard definition and thus does not encompass a PDCCH WUS.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner notes Applicants claim language merely discloses receiving indication information by using a wake up radio signal. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claim language does not provide any details that would differentiate wake up signals or indicate anything regarding power related to the signal. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims the wake up radio signal merely needs to be a signal to wake up a radio.
Examiner notes that, if Applicant wishes to describe with more particularly the distinctions and functionality with regard to the wake up radio signal then such a meaning should specifically be positively recited in the claim language. Otherwise, Examiner maintains the broadest reasonable interpretation noted above.
Prior art reference Xu is directed to a method and apparatus for secondary cell (SCell) dormancy indications and reducing application delay times in wireless devices after receiving such dormancy indications (Xu Abstract). Prior art reference discloses in Figure 9 and Paragraph [0113-0116 and 0139-0142] Utilization of a wake up signal to be transmitting which includes a secondary (Scell) dormancy indication configured to indicate whether the Scell should be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated; and the at least one SCell is a first SCell or a first secondary cell group (SCG).
Thus the reference clearly discloses a wake up radio signal carrying the claimed indication information.
Applicant further argues as follows:
He does not remedy Xu's failure to disclose using a WUR signal itself to carry the claimed indication information
The Office cites He for teachings concerning SCell activation/deactivation and use of WUS in connection with activating SCells. But He likewise does not disclose the claimed subject matter.
As summarized in the Office Action, He teaches, for example, that a WUS on a PCell can be used to activate SCells from a deactivated state or a dormant state, and that a PDCCH conveying a DCI format detected on a scheduling cell can be used as a WUS for an SCell. Again, these teachings remain within a WUS/PDCCH/DCI signaling framework. He does not disclose a WUR signal that is distinct from the PDCCH framework and that itself carries the indication information used to instruct at least one SCell or SCG to enter dormancy, exit dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated.
Indeed, the distinction is fundamental. The present application addresses the specific problem that, when a terminal device includes a wake up receiver and the master transceiver is disabled, receiving dormancy-related or activation-related indications via PDCCH still requires first waking the primary receiver and then receiving the PDCCH, which increases power consumption and delay. See paragraphs [0082]-[0083], [030]-[031], [036]-[037], and [046]-[047] of the Description. The claimed solution is that the indication information itself is received via the WUR signal. Neither Xu nor He teaches or suggests this direct WUR-carried indication architecture.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As noted above in Argument A, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “See paragraphs [0082]-[0083], [030]-[031], [036]-[037], and [046]-[047] of the Description. The claimed solution is that the indication information itself is received via the WUR signal. Neither Xu nor He teaches or suggests this direct WUR-carried indication architecture.“) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner notes that, if Applicant wishes to describe with more particularly the distinctions and functionality with regard to the wake up radio signal then such a meaning should specifically be positively recited in the claim language. Otherwise, Examiner maintains the broadest reasonable interpretation noted above.
As stated above in Argument A, Prior art reference Xu discloses receiving indication information by using a wake up radio signal.
Xu readily discloses transmission and reception of a wake up radio signal including indication information of at least one secondary cell to be in dormancy but may not explicitly go into detail regarding activating and deactivating a Scell.
However, He more specifically teaches instructing at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated (Paragraph [0234-0239] a DCI format with indicating zero resource allocation (zero-RA) can be used to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs. Non-used fields in the zero-RA DCI format can be re-interpreted by specification. In another example, a new DCI format can be designed to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs; Paragraph [0272-0278] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu with the teachings of He. He provides a solution to reduce power consumption and avoids power consumption and throughput loss (He Abstract; Paragraph [0007-0012, 0065 and 0138-0139]).
Thus the references do teach “receiving indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal, wherein the indication information is used to instruct at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated; and the at least one SCell is a first SCell or a first secondary cell group (SCG).”
Applicant further argues as follows:
The rejection rests on the premise that Xu's PDCCH WUS and/or He's WUS corresponds to the claimed WUR signal. Respectfully, that premise is not supported.
The claims do not merely recite a generic "wake up signal" but recites a "wake up radio (WUR) signal." The Specification consistently uses WUR to denote a particular low-power radio signal that can be received and demodulated by a wake up receiver, and expressly distinguishes that signal from PDCCH-based signaling. The Examiner's cited passages from Xu and He do not disclose that distinction and therefore do not disclose the claimed feature.
Because this core limitation is missing from the applied art, the rejection of independent claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 cannot be sustained.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in Argument A and Argument B above, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “The Specification consistently uses WUR to denote a particular low-power radio signal that can be received and demodulated by a wake up receiver, and expressly distinguishes that signal from PDCCH-based signaling”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Prior art reference Xu is directed to a method and apparatus for secondary cell (SCell) dormancy indications and reducing application delay times in wireless devices after receiving such dormancy indications (Xu Abstract). Prior art reference He is primarily recited to disclose the optional limitations of activation or deactivation of a secondary cell based on received indication information by using a wake up radio signal.
Prior art reference He in the same field on endeavor is directed to a method and apparatus to reduce power consumption in response to an outcome of a signal reception. The outcome can indicate whether or not the UE needs to be active at a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The signal can also provide configurations of parameters for transmissions or receptions during the next DRX cycle and be used by the UE for measurements and to obtain channel state information (He Abstract). Prior art reference further discloses a WUS in the PCell (or in a scheduling cell) can indicate for all or subset of the configured serving cells whether or not there is any upcoming grant scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH for a UE in a respective serving cell. A benefit is that the UE needs to wake up only on the cell where the WUS is transmitted for detecting a WUS. The UE does not need to wake up on SCells other than the cell where the WUS is transmitted for detecting a WUS (He Paragraph [0258]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu with the teachings of He. He provides a solution to reduce power consumption and avoids power consumption and throughput loss (He Abstract; Paragraph [0007-0012, 0065 and 0138-0139]).
Thus the references do teach the Claims as presented and the rejection is maintained.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, supra, with regard to independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0171688, hereinafter Xu, in view of He et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0254110, hereinafter He.
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses a wireless communication method, wherein the method is applicable to a terminal device (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14) and the method comprises:
receiving indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal, wherein the indication information is used to instruct at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated; and the at least one SCell is a first SCell or a first secondary cell group (SCG) (Figure 9; Paragraph [0113-0116 and 0139-0142] Transmitting one of the PDCCH WUS outside the active time of the DRX cycle and/or the PDCCH inside the active time of the DRX cycle in the wireless communication system to the at least one UE as shown at block 904. After transmission of the PDCCH WUS or PDCCH, the behavior of the at least one UE is set such that the UE is operable according to various conditions dependent on whether or not the UE detects the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH WUS or the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH as shown in block 906.; method 900 may include determining the setting of behavior in the process 906 for activated SCells when a UE detects the PDCCH WUS prior to the next active time, but the SCell dormancy indication in the PDCCH WUS does not include an indication for an activated SCell including setting the activated SCell to a dormancy-like behavior, setting the activated SCell to a non-dormancy-like behavior, or allowing the dormancy behavior of the activated SCell to remain unchanged).
Xu readily discloses transmission and reception of a wake up radio signal including indication information of at least one secondary cell to be in dormancy but may not explicitly go into detail regarding activating and deactivating a Scell.
However, He more specifically teaches instructing at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated (Paragraph [0234-0239] a DCI format with indicating zero resource allocation (zero-RA) can be used to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs. Non-used fields in the zero-RA DCI format can be re-interpreted by specification. In another example, a new DCI format can be designed to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs; Paragraph [0272-0278] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu with the teachings of He. He provides a solution to reduce power consumption and avoids power consumption and throughput loss (He Abstract; Paragraph [0007-0012, 0065 and 0138-0139]).
Regarding Claim 2, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 1. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the receiving indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal comprises: receiving, on a primary cell (PCell) or a primary cell group (PCG), the indication information by using the WUR signal (Xu Paragraph [0111]; He Paragraph [0272-0274 and 0278] A WUS on the PCell can be used to activate SCells from a deactivated state as well as from a dormant state).
Regarding Claim 6, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 1. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy or exit from dormancy; and the receiving indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal comprises: when the at least one SCell is dormant, receiving the indication information by using the WUR signal (Xu Paragraph [0112-0168] PDCCH WUS may include one or more bit in a bit string. Various proposals can be made concerning how to interpret the dormancy indication bit string, such as what to the different binary states or values of the bits (i.e., 0 or 1 bit values) signify or communicate, and how many SCell's behavior states are being communicated. Accordingly, the present methods and apparatus may include an alternative wherein each bit in the dormancy indication field is used for a group of SCells. In such case one bit value (e.g., “0”) may be configured to indicate no change for the dormancy related behavior for activated SCells in the SCell group, whereas the other bit value (e.g., “1”) communicates a flip or switch where if activated SCells in the group are following a dormancy-like behavior, for example, the behavior will flip or switch to the other behavior (i.e., a non-dormancy-like behavior), or vice versa; He Paragraph [0272-0275] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
Regarding Claim 7, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 6. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the method further comprises: when the at least one SCell is non-dormancy, receiving the indication information by using a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or downlink control information (DCI) (Xu Paragraph [0132-0134] PDCCH WUS indication; PDCCH WUS includes a dormancy indication field containing indications for at least one or more deactivated SCells or an SCell group including at least one deactivated SCell for a UE in the one or more UEs, the UE ignores the indication for the at least one or more deactivated SCells and only applies indicated dormancy behavior to activated SCells of the one or more SCells configured to this UE; He Paragraph [0278] A PDCCH conveying a DCI format that the UE detects on a scheduling cell, such as the PCell, and schedules PDSCH/PUSCH on a SCell can be used as a WUS for the SCell).
Regarding Claim 8, Xu discloses a wireless communication method, wherein the method is applicable to a network device (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14), and the method comprises:
transmitting indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal, wherein the indication information is used to instruct at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated; and the at least one SCell is a first SCell or a first secondary cell group (SCG) (Figure 9; Paragraph [0113-0116 and 0139-0142] Transmitting one of the PDCCH WUS outside the active time of the DRX cycle and/or the PDCCH inside the active time of the DRX cycle in the wireless communication system to the at least one UE as shown at block 904. After transmission of the PDCCH WUS or PDCCH, the behavior of the at least one UE is set such that the UE is operable according to various conditions dependent on whether or not the UE detects the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH WUS or the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH as shown in block 906.; method 900 may include determining the setting of behavior in the process 906 for activated SCells when a UE detects the PDCCH WUS prior to the next active time, but the SCell dormancy indication in the PDCCH WUS does not include an indication for an activated SCell including setting the activated SCell to a dormancy-like behavior, setting the activated SCell to a non-dormancy-like behavior, or allowing the dormancy behavior of the activated SCell to remain unchanged).
Xu readily discloses transmission and reception of a wake up radio signal including indication information of at least one secondary cell to be in dormancy but may not explicitly go into detail regarding activating and deactivating a Scell.
However, He more specifically teaches instructing at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated (Paragraph [0234-0239] a DCI format with indicating zero resource allocation (zero-RA) can be used to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs. Non-used fields in the zero-RA DCI format can be re-interpreted by specification. In another example, a new DCI format can be designed to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs; Paragraph [0272-0278] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu with the teachings of He. He provides a solution to reduce power consumption and avoids power consumption and throughput loss (He Abstract; Paragraph [0007-0012, 0065 and 0138-0139]).
Regarding Claim 9, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 8. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy or exit from dormancy; and the transmitting indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal comprises: when the at least one SCell is dormant, transmitting the indication information by using the WUR signal (Xu Paragraph [0112-0168] PDCCH WUS may include one or more bit in a bit string. Various proposals can be made concerning how to interpret the dormancy indication bit string, such as what to the different binary states or values of the bits (i.e., 0 or 1 bit values) signify or communicate, and how many SCell's behavior states are being communicated. Accordingly, the present methods and apparatus may include an alternative wherein each bit in the dormancy indication field is used for a group of SCells. In such case one bit value (e.g., “0”) may be configured to indicate no change for the dormancy related behavior for activated SCells in the SCell group, whereas the other bit value (e.g., “1”) communicates a flip or switch where if activated SCells in the group are following a dormancy-like behavior, for example, the behavior will flip or switch to the other behavior (i.e., a non-dormancy-like behavior), or vice versa; He Paragraph [0272-0275] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
Regarding Claim 10, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 9. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the method further comprises: when the at least one SCell is non-dormancy, transmitting the indication information by using a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or downlink control information (DCI) (Xu Paragraph [0132-0134] PDCCH WUS indication; PDCCH WUS includes a dormancy indication field containing indications for at least one or more deactivated SCells or an SCell group including at least one deactivated SCell for a UE in the one or more UEs, the UE ignores the indication for the at least one or more deactivated SCells and only applies indicated dormancy behavior to activated SCells of the one or more SCells configured to this UE; He Paragraph [0278] A PDCCH conveying a DCI format that the UE detects on a scheduling cell, such as the PCell, and schedules PDSCH/PUSCH on a SCell can be used as a WUS for the SCell.).
Regarding Claim 11, Xu discloses a terminal device, comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured with the computer program (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14), to cause the terminal device at least to:
receive indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal, wherein the indication information is used to instruct at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated; and the at least one SCell is a first SCell or a first secondary cell group (SCG) (Figure 9; Paragraph [0113-0116 and 0139-0142] Transmitting one of the PDCCH WUS outside the active time of the DRX cycle and/or the PDCCH inside the active time of the DRX cycle in the wireless communication system to the at least one UE as shown at block 904. After transmission of the PDCCH WUS or PDCCH, the behavior of the at least one UE is set such that the UE is operable according to various conditions dependent on whether or not the UE detects the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH WUS or the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH as shown in block 906.; method 900 may include determining the setting of behavior in the process 906 for activated SCells when a UE detects the PDCCH WUS prior to the next active time, but the SCell dormancy indication in the PDCCH WUS does not include an indication for an activated SCell including setting the activated SCell to a dormancy-like behavior, setting the activated SCell to a non-dormancy-like behavior, or allowing the dormancy behavior of the activated SCell to remain unchanged).
Xu readily discloses transmission and reception of a wake up radio signal including indication information of at least one secondary cell to be in dormancy but may not explicitly go into detail regarding activating and deactivating a Scell.
However, He more specifically teaches instructing at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated (Paragraph [0234-0239] a DCI format with indicating zero resource allocation (zero-RA) can be used to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs. Non-used fields in the zero-RA DCI format can be re-interpreted by specification. In another example, a new DCI format can be designed to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs; Paragraph [0272-0278] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu with the teachings of He. He provides a solution to reduce power consumption and avoids power consumption and throughput loss (He Abstract; Paragraph [0007-0012, 0065 and 0138-0139]).
Regarding Claim 12, Xu in view of He disclose the terminal device according to Claim 11. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the terminal device is specifically configured to: receive, on a primary cell (PCell) or a primary cell group (PCG), the indication information by using the WUR signal (Xu Paragraph [0111]; He Paragraph [0272-0274 and 0278] A WUS on the PCell can be used to activate SCells from a deactivated state as well as from a dormant state).
Regarding Claim 16, Xu in view of He disclose the terminal device according to Claim 11. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy or exit from dormancy; and the terminal device is specifically configured to: when the at least one SCell is dormant, receive the indication information by using the WUR signal (Xu Paragraph [0112-0168] PDCCH WUS may include one or more bit in a bit string. Various proposals can be made concerning how to interpret the dormancy indication bit string, such as what to the different binary states or values of the bits (i.e., 0 or 1 bit values) signify or communicate, and how many SCell's behavior states are being communicated. Accordingly, the present methods and apparatus may include an alternative wherein each bit in the dormancy indication field is used for a group of SCells. In such case one bit value (e.g., “0”) may be configured to indicate no change for the dormancy related behavior for activated SCells in the SCell group, whereas the other bit value (e.g., “1”) communicates a flip or switch where if activated SCells in the group are following a dormancy-like behavior, for example, the behavior will flip or switch to the other behavior (i.e., a non-dormancy-like behavior), or vice versa; He Paragraph [0272-0275] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
Regarding Claim 17, Xu in view of He disclose the terminal device according to Claim 16. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the terminal device is further configured to: when the at least one SCell is non-dormancy, receive the indication information by using a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or downlink control information (DCI) (Xu Paragraph [0132-0134] PDCCH WUS indication; PDCCH WUS includes a dormancy indication field containing indications for at least one or more deactivated SCells or an SCell group including at least one deactivated SCell for a UE in the one or more UEs, the UE ignores the indication for the at least one or more deactivated SCells and only applies indicated dormancy behavior to activated SCells of the one or more SCells configured to this UE; He Paragraph [0278] A PDCCH conveying a DCI format that the UE detects on a scheduling cell, such as the PCell, and schedules PDSCH/PUSCH on a SCell can be used as a WUS for the SCell.).
Regarding Claim 18, Xu discloses a network device, comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured with the computer program (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14), to cause the network device at least to:
transmit indication information by using a wake up radio (WUR) signal, wherein the indication information is used to instruct at least one secondary cell SCell be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated and the at least one SCell is a first SCell or a first secondary cell group (SCG) (Figure 9; Paragraph [0113-0116 and 0139-0142] Transmitting one of the PDCCH WUS outside the active time of the DRX cycle and/or the PDCCH inside the active time of the DRX cycle in the wireless communication system to the at least one UE as shown at block 904. After transmission of the PDCCH WUS or PDCCH, the behavior of the at least one UE is set such that the UE is operable according to various conditions dependent on whether or not the UE detects the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH WUS or the dormancy indication transmitted in the PDCCH as shown in block 906.; method 900 may include determining the setting of behavior in the process 906 for activated SCells when a UE detects the PDCCH WUS prior to the next active time, but the SCell dormancy indication in the PDCCH WUS does not include an indication for an activated SCell including setting the activated SCell to a dormancy-like behavior, setting the activated SCell to a non-dormancy-like behavior, or allowing the dormancy behavior of the activated SCell to remain unchanged).
Xu readily discloses transmission and reception of a wake up radio signal including indication information of at least one secondary cell to be in dormancy but may not explicitly go into detail regarding activating and deactivating a Scell.
However, He more specifically teaches instructing at least one secondary cell (SCell) be in dormancy, exit from dormancy, be activated, or be deactivated (Paragraph [0234-0239] a DCI format with indicating zero resource allocation (zero-RA) can be used to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs. Non-used fields in the zero-RA DCI format can be re-interpreted by specification. In another example, a new DCI format can be designed to activate/deactivate a set of BWPs; Paragraph [0272-0278] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu with the teachings of He. He provides a solution to reduce power consumption and avoids power consumption and throughput loss (He Abstract; Paragraph [0007-0012, 0065 and 0138-0139]).
Regarding Claim 19, Xu in view of He disclose the network device according to Claim 18. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy or exit from dormancy; and the network device is specifically configured to: when the at least one SCell is dormant, transmit the indication information by using the WUR signal (Xu Paragraph [0112-0168] PDCCH WUS may include one or more bit in a bit string. Various proposals can be made concerning how to interpret the dormancy indication bit string, such as what to the different binary states or values of the bits (i.e., 0 or 1 bit values) signify or communicate, and how many SCell's behavior states are being communicated. Accordingly, the present methods and apparatus may include an alternative wherein each bit in the dormancy indication field is used for a group of SCells. In such case one bit value (e.g., “0”) may be configured to indicate no change for the dormancy related behavior for activated SCells in the SCell group, whereas the other bit value (e.g., “1”) communicates a flip or switch where if activated SCells in the group are following a dormancy-like behavior, for example, the behavior will flip or switch to the other behavior (i.e., a non-dormancy-like behavior), or vice versa; He Paragraph [0272-0275] The WUS used in activating SCells and the WUS used as wake-up signal for activated cells are respectively used in different cases of deactivated/dormant state and activated state in inactive mode of DRX cycle. The WUS used for activating SCells can also include an information field providing an index of an active BWP on which the corresponding SCell may operate).
Regarding Claim 20, Xu in view of He disclose the network device according to Claim 19. Xu in view of He further disclose wherein the network device is further configured to: when the at least one SCell is non-dormancy, transmit the indication information by using a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or downlink control information (DCI) (Xu Paragraph [0132-0134] PDCCH WUS indication; PDCCH WUS includes a dormancy indication field containing indications for at least one or more deactivated SCells or an SCell group including at least one deactivated SCell for a UE in the one or more UEs, the UE ignores the indication for the at least one or more deactivated SCells and only applies indicated dormancy behavior to activated SCells of the one or more SCells configured to this UE; He Paragraph [0278] A PDCCH conveying a DCI format that the UE detects on a scheduling cell, such as the PCell, and schedules PDSCH/PUSCH on a SCell can be used as a WUS for the SCell.).
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of He as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seo et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0232537, hereinafter Seo.
Regarding Claim 3, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 1. Xu in view of He briefly disclose different BWP and activation but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy; and the method further comprises: activating a dormant BWP on each of the at least one SCell.
However, Seo more specifically teaches wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy; and the method further comprises: activating a dormant BWP on each of the at least one Scell (Claim 1 and 15; Paragraph [0004, 0179 and 0285-0286] Activation of a specific BWP on a secondary cell according to indicated information activating a dormant BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu in view of He with the teachings of Seo. The method helps in activating a BWP of a terminal in consideration of power saving (Seo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Regarding Claim 4, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 1. Xu in view of He briefly disclose different BWP and activation but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the method further comprises: activating a non-dormancy BWP on each of the at least one SCell.
However, Seo more specifically teaches wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the method further comprises: activating a non-dormancy BWP on each of the at least one Scell (Claim 1 and 15; Paragraph [0004, 0179 and 0285-0286] Instructions to exit from dormancy and activation of a non-dormancy BWP on a secondary cell according to indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu in view of He with the teachings of Seo. The method helps in activating a BWP of a terminal in consideration of power saving (Seo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Regarding Claim 5, Xu in view of He disclose the method according to Claim 1. Xu in view of He briefly disclose different BWP and activation but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the method further comprises: maintaining an activated BWP on each of the at least one SCell.
However, Seo more specifically teaches wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the method further comprises: maintaining an activated BWP on each of the at least one Scell (Claim 1 and 15; Paragraph [0004, 0179 and 0285-0286] Instructions to exit from dormancy and maintaining of a activated BWP on a secondary cell according to indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu in view of He with the teachings of Seo. The method helps in activating a BWP of a terminal in consideration of power saving (Seo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Regarding Claim 13, Xu in view of He disclose the terminal device according to Claim 11. Xu in view of He briefly disclose different BWP and activation but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy; and the terminal device is further configured to: activate a dormant BWP on each of the at least one SCell.
However, Seo more specifically teaches wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell be in dormancy; and the terminal device is further configured to: activate a dormant BWP on each of the at least one Scell (Claim 1 and 15; Paragraph [0004, 0179 and 0285-0286] Activation of a specific BWP on a secondary cell according to indicated information activating a dormant BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu in view of He with the teachings of Seo. The method helps in activating a BWP of a terminal in consideration of power saving (Seo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Regarding Claim 14, Xu in view of He disclose the terminal device according to Claim 11. Xu in view of He briefly disclose different BWP and activation but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the terminal device is further configured to: activate a non-dormancy BWP on each of the at least one SCell.
However, Seo more specifically teaches wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the terminal device is further configured to: activate a non-dormancy BWP on each of the at least one Scell (Claim 1 and 15; Paragraph [0004, 0179 and 0285-0286] Instructions to exit from dormancy and activation of a non-dormancy BWP on a secondary cell according to indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu in view of He with the teachings of Seo. The method helps in activating a BWP of a terminal in consideration of power saving (Seo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Regarding Claim 15, Xu in view of He disclose the terminal device according to Claim 11. Xu in view of He briefly disclose different BWP and activation but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the terminal device is further configured to: maintain an activated BWP on each of the at least one SCell.
However, Seo more specifically teaches wherein the indication information is used to instruct the at least one SCell to exit from dormancy; and the terminal device is further configured to: maintain an activated BWP on each of the at least one Scell (Claim 1 and 15; Paragraph [0004, 0179 and 0285-0286] Instructions to exit from dormancy and maintaining of a activated BWP on a secondary cell according to indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu in view of He with the teachings of Seo. The method helps in activating a BWP of a terminal in consideration of power saving (Seo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409