DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on 8/26/2026 to the Application filed on 07/01/2024.
Claims 1-8, 10-19, and 21-22 are pending in this action. Claims 1, 10, and 21 are independent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Takeda et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20220131669, published on 2022-04-28 (hereinafter Takeda), in view of Khoshnevisan et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20220021498, published on 2022-01-20 (hereinafter Khoshnevisan).
As for independent claim 1, Takeda discloses a system with a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories storing instructions that are executable by the one or more processors, configured individually or in any combination, to cause the UE
(Takeda paragraph [0008] discloses a UE with the discloses structural elements, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled (e.g., operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, and/or electrically) with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive, from a base station”)
establish a connection with a primary cell (PCell)
(Takeda paragraph [0101] discloses a UE establishing a communications link with a primary cell (called a first serving cell), “For example, the UE 115-a may establish wireless communications with the first serving cell”)
receive, from the PCell, an indication of a synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration associated with a secondary cell (SCell)
(Takeda paragraphs [0103] and [0104] disclose the UE receiving an SSB message from the PCell associated with a secondary cell, “In some cases, the UE 115-a may receive, from the base station 105-a via the first serving cell 205-a, an indication to activate the second serving cell… The set of resources may include a set of time resources (e.g. a slot where the reference signal 240 is located), a set of frequency resources (e.g., a carrier where the reference signal 240 is located), resource mapping of the reference signal 240, a power offset (e.g., a power difference between the reference signal 240 and one or more other communications on the second component carrier 215-b such as data or SSB transmissions)”)
monitor for at least one signal from the SCell
(Takeda paragraph [0102] discloses the UE monitoring for a signal from the SCell based on the signal from the PCell, “For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the UE 115-a may receive the DCI message 225 from the base station 105-a via the first serving cell 205-a (e.g., via the first component carrier 215-a). The DCI message 225 may be transmitted via physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources…. In some cases, the DCI message 225 may include an indication that the reference signal 240 (e.g., temporary reference signals) associated with the second serving cell 205-b, have been activated (e.g., triggered, initiated). In this regard, the UE 115-a may be configured to determine that it may monitor for the reference signal 240 on the second serving cell 205-b, based on the indication in the DCI message 225.”)
establish a connection with the SCell based on the at least one signal.
(Takeda paragraph [0113] discloses the UE establishing a connection with SCell, (called activating SCell) based on the SSBs received, “the UE may use signals provided with SSBs 315 to perform measurements and activate the SCell”)
Takeda does not appear to disclose a system and method wherein the indication includes an index value that identifies the SSB configuration from among a plurality of preconfigured SSB configurations that differ from one another in which one or more of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is to be transmitted by the SCell in an SSB.
However Khoshnevisan does disclose a system and method wherein the indication includes an index value that identifies the SSB configuration from among a plurality of preconfigured SSB configurations that differ from one another in which one or more of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is to be transmitted by the SCell in an SSB.
(Khoshnevisan discloses a UE receiving an indication (inside a signal called a MAC CE), an SSB index which indicates which one of a series of predetermined SSBs should be used (differing by which beam they use) and expect a PSS, SSS, and PBCH, “The aspect may include receiving a MAC CE from a network entity indicating a SSB set and a SSB index within the SSB set as a RS for spatial relation information of SRS resource, wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of SSB sets corresponding to a plurality of PCIs in a serving cell; and updating spatial relation information for one or more SRS resources within a SRS resource set based on the MAC CE.” [0026], “Specifically, one SSB is 4 OFDM symbols and includes PSS, SSS, and PBCH/MIB. For example, the SSB set corresponds to a set of SSB indices associated with the same PCI (e.g., physCellId) in a given serving cell (CC) which is confined to a 5 ms time interval (e.g., first or second half of a frame). The periodicity of SS burst set may correspond to 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, . . . , 160 ms (e.g., default periodicity=20 ms). The max number of SSBs within a 5 ms SS burst set may correspond to 4 (sub-3 GHz), 8 (sub-7 GHz), or 64 (FR2). The SSBs may be transmitted with different beams, and they are indexed with SSB-index and may correspond to 0, 1, . . . 63 (e.g., for 64 SSBs). Further, the time domain location (e.g., slots/OFDM symbols) of each SSB (within the 5 ms) is from a fixed set of patterns (e.g., depending on subcarrier spacing: 15 or 30 KHz for FR1; 120 or 240 KHz for FR2).” [0060])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Khoshnevisan, adding an indication of SSB index, to the network manager of Takeda, in order to have a more accurate cell connection.
As for claim 4, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein the one or more memories further store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors, configured individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: establish the connection with the SCell further based on a frame boundary based on a signal from the PCell.
(Takeda paragraphs [0052] and [0070] disclose the SCell activation message having slot location information which is later defined to be frame boundary information, “an SCell activation message may indicate one or more parameters for the temporary reference signal, such as a carrier for the temporary reference signal, a slot location of the temporary reference signal… Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration.”)
As for claim 8, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein the SCell is a primary SCell (PSCell).
(Takeda paragraph [0096] discloses the secondary cell (called a second serving cell) being a PSCell, “the wireless communications system 200 may include a first serving cell 205-a (e.g., a PCell) supported by the base station 105-a, and a second serving cell 205-b (e.g., a SCell) supported by the base station 105-a. The serving cells 205 may also be primary-secondary cells (PSCells) of a secondary cell group (SCG), or any combinations of PCells, SCells, or PSCells of a SCG.”)
As for independent claim 10, Takeda discloses a network unit, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories storing instructions that are executable by the one or more processors, configured individually or in any combination, to cause the network unit to:
(Takeda paragraph [0024] discloses a network unit (called a base station) with the discloses structure, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled (e.g., operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, and/or electrically) with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.”)
establish a connection with a user equipment (UE)
(Takeda paragraph [0101] discloses a network unit (called a base station) connecting with a UE, “For example, the UE 115-a may establish wireless communications with the first serving cell 205-a. In some cases, the UE 115-a may establish the wireless communications with the first serving cell 205-a by initiating or otherwise performing a setup procedure with the first serving cell 205-a. In some cases, the UE 115-a may receive a control message 220 from the base station”)
transmit, to the UE, an indication of a synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration associated with a secondary cell (SCell)
(Takeda paragraphs [0103] and [0104] disclose the UE receiving an SSB message from the PCell associated with a secondary cell, “In some cases, the UE 115-a may receive, from the base station 105-a via the first serving cell 205-a, an indication to activate the second serving cell… The set of resources may include a set of time resources (e.g. a slot where the reference signal 240 is located), a set of frequency resources (e.g., a carrier where the reference signal 240 is located), resource mapping of the reference signal 240, a power offset (e.g., a power difference between the reference signal 240 and one or more other communications on the second component carrier 215-b such as data or SSB transmissions)”)
wherein the SSB configuration is based on at least one of: a co-location status of the SCell with the network unit, or a subframe number (SFN) alignment status between the network unit and the SCell.
(Takeda paragraphs [0104] discloses the second cell activation including an indication of co-location status (called quasi-co-location assumption) “The set of resources may include a set of time resources (e.g. a slot where the reference signal 240 is located), a set of frequency resources (e.g., a carrier where the reference signal 240 is located), resource mapping of the reference signal 240, a power offset (e.g., a power difference between the reference signal 240 and one or more other communications on the second component carrier 215-b such as data or SSB transmissions), a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption of the reference signal 240, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the reference signal, a set of spatial resources, or any combinations thereof.”)
Takeda does not appear to disclose a system and method wherein the indication includes an index value that identifies the SSB configuration from among a plurality of preconfigured SSB configurations that differ from one another in which one or more of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is to be transmitted by the SCell in an SSB.
However Khoshnevisan does disclose a system and method wherein the indication includes an index value that identifies the SSB configuration from among a plurality of preconfigured SSB configurations that differ from one another in which one or more of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is to be transmitted by the SCell in an SSB.
(Khoshnevisan discloses a UE receiving an indication (inside a signal called a MAC CE), an SSB index which indicates which one of a series of predetermined SSBs should be used (differing by which beam they use) and expect a PSS, SSS, and PBCH, “The aspect may include receiving a MAC CE from a network entity indicating a SSB set and a SSB index within the SSB set as a RS for spatial relation information of SRS resource, wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of SSB sets corresponding to a plurality of PCIs in a serving cell; and updating spatial relation information for one or more SRS resources within a SRS resource set based on the MAC CE.” [0026], “Specifically, one SSB is 4 OFDM symbols and includes PSS, SSS, and PBCH/MIB. For example, the SSB set corresponds to a set of SSB indices associated with the same PCI (e.g., physCellId) in a given serving cell (CC) which is confined to a 5 ms time interval (e.g., first or second half of a frame). The periodicity of SS burst set may correspond to 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, . . . , 160 ms (e.g., default periodicity=20 ms). The max number of SSBs within a 5 ms SS burst set may correspond to 4 (sub-3 GHz), 8 (sub-7 GHz), or 64 (FR2). The SSBs may be transmitted with different beams, and they are indexed with SSB-index and may correspond to 0, 1, . . . 63 (e.g., for 64 SSBs). Further, the time domain location (e.g., slots/OFDM symbols) of each SSB (within the 5 ms) is from a fixed set of patterns (e.g., depending on subcarrier spacing: 15 or 30 KHz for FR1; 120 or 240 KHz for FR2).” [0060])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Khoshnevisan, adding an indication of SSB index, to the network manager of Takeda, in order to have a more accurate cell connection.
As for claim 18, the limitations of the parent claim 10 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein the SCell is a primary SCell (PSCell).
(Takeda paragraph [0096] discloses the secondary cell (called a second serving cell) being a PSCell, “the wireless communications system 200 may include a first serving cell 205-a (e.g., a PCell) supported by the base station 105-a, and a second serving cell 205-b (e.g., a SCell) supported by the base station 105-a. The serving cells 205 may also be primary-secondary cells (PSCells) of a secondary cell group (SCG), or any combinations of PCells, SCells, or PSCells of a SCG.”)
As for independent claim 21, claim 21 is directed to a method for implementing the system of claim 1, and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 22, the limitations of the parent claim 21 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system and method wherein the SSB configuration is associated with at least one of a co-location status of the SCell with the PCell or a subframe number (SFN) alignment status between the PCell and the SCell.
(Takeda paragraphs [0104] discloses the second cell activation including an indication of co-location status (called quasi-co-location assumption) “The set of resources may include a set of time resources (e.g. a slot where the reference signal 240 is located), a set of frequency resources (e.g., a carrier where the reference signal 240 is located), resource mapping of the reference signal 240, a power offset (e.g., a power difference between the reference signal 240 and one or more other communications on the second component carrier 215-b such as data or SSB transmissions), a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption of the reference signal 240, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the reference signal, a set of spatial resources, or any combinations thereof.”)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Axmon et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20150327198, published on 2015-11-12 (hereinafter Axmon) in further view of Luo et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210045170, published on 2021-02-11 (hereinafter Luo).
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein: the at least one signal includes the PSS and the SSS.
(Takeda paragraph [0119] discloses a signal with an SSS and PSS, “For example, the temporary reference signal 455 may be an aperiodic CSI-RS, a periodic or semi-persistent CSI RS (P/SP-CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), a reference signal based on a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) or primary synchronization signal (PSS), or combinations thereof.”)
Neither Khoshnevisan nor Takeda appear to disclose a system and method wherein the SCell is not colocated with the PCell,
However Axmon does disclose a system wherein the SCell is not colocated with the PCell.
(Axmon paragraph [0036] discloses a PCell and SCell not colocated, “However, for this scenario it is assumed that the cells may not be co-located and that the UE will have to cope with a propagation delay difference between PCell and SCell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Axmon, adding the option to have the cells not co-located, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to allow this system to work for a broader range of setups.
Neither Takeda, Khoshnevisan, nor Axmon appear to disclose the SSB configuration identifies a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) with no associated physical broadcast channel (PBCH) message,
However Luo does disclose a system wherein the SSB configuration identifies a PSS and a SSS with no associated PBCH message
(Luo paragraph [0070] disclose an SSB with PSS and SSS but optionally without a PBCH, “The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH; may omit a PBCH; and/or may utilize a different number of symbols and/or nonconsecutive symbols for an SSB, within the scope of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have no PBCH, to the network manager of Axmon, Khoshnevisan, and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Axmon.
As for claim 3, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein the at least one signal includes at least one of a tracking reference signal (TRS) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)
(Takeda paragraph [0088] discloses the reference signal including a CSI-RS, “The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide”)
Neither Khoshnevisan nor Takeda appear to disclose a system wherein the SCell is colocated with the PCell.
However, Axmon discloses a system wherein: the SCell is colocated with the PCell,
(Axmon paragraph [0035] a PCell and SCell colocated, “In practice, to meet these requirements, the PCell and SCell must be co-located”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Axmon, adding the option to have the cells co-located, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to allow for an easier and faster handover.
Claims 5-7, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Luo.
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Luo discloses a system wherein the at least one signal further includes a non-PBCH reference signal.
(Luo paragraph [0070] discloses an SSB but optionally without a PBCH, “The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH; may omit a PBCH; and/or may utilize a different number of symbols and/or nonconsecutive symbols for an SSB, within the scope of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have no PBCH, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic.
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 5 have been discussed. Luo discloses a system wherein the non-PBCH reference signal is at least one of a tracking reference signal (TRS) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
(Luo paragraphs [0069] and [0070] disclose an SSB but optionally without a PBCH, “a channel state information—reference signal (CSI-RS); a primary synchronization signal (PSS); and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)…The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH; may omit a PBCH; and/or may utilize a different number of symbols and/or nonconsecutive symbols for an SSB, within the scope of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have no PBCH, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic and to enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels.
As for claim 7, the limitations of the parent claim 6 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein the one or more memories further store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors, configured individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: based on the reference signal, perform at least one of: beam management; time tracking; or frequency tracking.
(Takeda paragraph [0052] discloses an SSB sent to a UE to activate an SCell including beam management (called beam configuration), “an SCell activation message may indicate one or more parameters for the temporary reference signal, such as a carrier for the temporary reference signal, a slot location of the temporary reference signal, a reference signal configuration, a beam configuration for the temporary signal, or any combinations thereof.”
Neither Khoshnevisan nor Takeda appear to disclose the reference signal being non-PBCH.
However, Luo does disclose a system wherein the reference signal being non-PBCH.
(Luo paragraph [0070] discloses an SSB but optionally without a PBCH, “The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH; may omit a PBCH; and/or may utilize a different number of symbols and/or nonconsecutive symbols for an SSB, within the scope of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have no PBCH, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic.
As for claim 16, the limitations of the parent claim 10 have been discussed. Luo discloses a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates the SCell will not transmit a PBCH signal associated with a SSB, and the SCell will transmit a non-PBCH reference signal, wherein the non-PBCH reference signal includes at least one of a tracking reference signal (TRS) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
(Luo paragraphs [0069] and [0070] disclose an SSB with a CSI-RS but optionally without a PBCH, “a channel state information—reference signal (CSI-RS); a primary synchronization signal (PSS); and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)…The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH; may omit a PBCH; and/or may utilize a different number of symbols and/or nonconsecutive symbols for an SSB, within the scope of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have no PBCH, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic and to enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels.
As for claim 17, the limitations of the parent claim 10 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein: the SCell is a PCell for one or more other UEs
(Takeda paragraph [0096] discloses the secondary cell (called a second serving cell) being a PSCell, “the wireless communications system 200 may include a first serving cell 205-a (e.g., a PCell) supported by the base station 105-a, and a second serving cell 205-b (e.g., a SCell) supported by the base station 105-a. The serving cells 205 may also be primary-secondary cells (PSCells) of a secondary cell group (SCG), or any combinations of PCells, SCells, or PSCells of a SCG.”)
Takeda does not appear to disclose a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates a PSS, a SSS, and a PBCH signal are transmitted by the SCell associated with an SSB.
However Luo does disclose a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates a PSS, a SSS, and a PBCH signal are transmitted by the SCell associated with an SSB.
(Luo paragraphs [0069] and [0070] disclose an SSB with a PSS, SSS, and PBCH, “a channel state information—reference signal (CSI-RS); a primary synchronization signal (PSS); and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)…The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding a PSS, SSS, and PBCH in combination, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic and to enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels.
As for claim 19, the limitations of the parent claim 18 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein: the SCell is a PCell for one or more other UEs
(Takeda paragraph [0096] discloses the secondary cell (called a second serving cell) being a PSCell, “the wireless communications system 200 may include a first serving cell 205-a (e.g., a PCell) supported by the base station 105-a, and a second serving cell 205-b (e.g., a SCell) supported by the base station 105-a. The serving cells 205 may also be primary-secondary cells (PSCells) of a secondary cell group (SCG), or any combinations of PCells, SCells, or PSCells of a SCG.”)
Takeda does not appear to disclose a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates a PSS, a SSS, and a PBCH signal are transmitted by the SCell associated with an SSB.
However Luo does disclose a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates a PSS, a SSS, and a PBCH signal are transmitted by the SCell associated with an SSB.
(Luo paragraphs [0069] and [0070] disclose an SSB with a PSS, SSS, and PBCH, “a channel state information—reference signal (CSI-RS); a primary synchronization signal (PSS); and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)…The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding a PSS, SSS, and PBCH in combination, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic and to enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Luo in further view of Kedalagudde et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210058784, published on 2021-02-25 (hereinafter Kedalagudde).
As for claim 11, the limitations of the parent claim 10 have been discusses. Luo discloses a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates no physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is transmitted by the SCell associated with an SSB.
(Luo paragraph [0070] discloses an SSB but optionally without a PBCH, “The synchronization signals PSS and SSS, and in some examples, the PBCH and a PBCH DMRS, may be transmitted in a synchronization signal block (SSB) ... Other nonlimiting examples may utilize greater or fewer than two synchronization signals; may include one or more supplemental channels in addition to the PBCH; may omit a PBCH; and/or may utilize a different number of symbols and/or nonconsecutive symbols for an SSB, within the scope of the present disclosure.”)
Neither Khoshnevisan, Takeda, nor Luo appear to disclose the network unit and SCell have a subframe number (SFN) alignment, but Kedalagudde discloses a system wherein the network unit and SCell have a subframe number (SFN) alignment.
(Kedalagudde paragraph [0128] discloses a PCell (managed by a network unit called an AN) and SCell having aligned SFN, “For example, the UE 502 and RAN 504 may use carrier aggregation (CA) to allow the UE 502 to connect with a plurality of component carriers, each corresponding to a PCell or SCell … When CA is deployed frame timing and SFN are aligned across cells that can be aggregated”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Kedalagudde, adding the option to have SFN alignment, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to allow for an easier and faster handover.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Luo in further view of Kedalagudde in further view of Hu et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20230337033, published on 2023-10-19 (hereinafter Hu).
As for claim 12, the limitations of the parent claim have been discussed. Luo discloses a system wherein the network unit is colocated with the SCell.
(Luo paragraph [0031] discloses co-located PCell (managed by a network unit) and SCell “The scheduling entity may determine that a second PCI of a second cell co-located with the first cell has been assigned to the scheduling entity, for example, as a result of a PCI collision.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have co-location of the cells, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to allow for an easier and faster handover.
Neither Takeda, Luo, Khoshnevisan nor Kedalagudde appear to disclose the SSB configuration indicates no primary synchronization signal (PSS) and no secondary synchronization signal (SSS) are transmitted by the SCell.
However, Hu does disclose a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates no primary synchronization signal (PSS) and no secondary synchronization signal (SSS) are transmitted by the SCell.
(Hu paragraph [0093] discloses an SCell sending a signal (called an RS) in which the PSS and SSS can be left out, “The light RS may also include the CSI-RS which is optional for transmission point (TRP) selection in MTRP SCells. Additionally, or alternatively, the light RS may include the CSI-RS only, the PSS only, or the SSS only.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Hu, adding the option to not have a PSS and SSS, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan, Kedalagudde, Luo, and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Luo in further view of Kedalagudde in further view of Axmon.
As for claim 13, the limitations of the parent claim 11 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system wherein: the SSB configuration indicates a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) are transmitted by the SCell.
(Takeda paragraph [0119] discloses a signal with an SSS and PSS, “For example, the temporary reference signal 455 may be an aperiodic CSI-RS, a periodic or semi-persistent CSI RS (P/SP-CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), a reference signal based on a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) or primary synchronization signal (PSS), or combinations thereof.”)
Neither Khoshnevisan nor Takeda appear to disclose the network unit is not colocated with the SCell.
However Axmon does disclose a system wherein the network unit is not colocated with the SCell.
(Axmon paragraph [0036] discloses a PCell (managed by a network unit) and SCell not colocated, “However, for this scenario it is assumed that the cells may not be co-located and that the UE will have to cope with a propagation delay difference between PCell and SCell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Axmon, adding the option to have the cells not co-located, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to allow this system to work for a broader range of setups.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Luo in further view of Yi et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20160204927, published on 2016-07-14 (hereinafter Yi).
As for claim 14, the limitations of the parent claim 10 have been discussed. Luo discloses a system wherein the SSB configuration indicates a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is transmitted by the SCell associated with an SSB.
(Luo paragraph [0056] discloses a base station sending a signal to a UE including a PBCH, “In some examples, the base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Luo, adding the option to have a PBCH, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to decrease network traffic and to enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels.
Neither Khoshnevisan, Takeda, nor Luo appear to disclose a system wherein the network unit and SCell do not have a subframe number (SFN) alignment.
However Yi discloses a system wherein the network unit and SCell do not have a subframe number (SFN) alignment.
(Yi paragraph [0105] discloses a PCell (managed by a network unit) and an SCell not aligned, “As shown with dotted line in FIG. 11, uplink subframes of PCell and SCell are not aligned.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Yi, adding the option to have no SFN alignment, to the network manager of Luo, Khoshnevisan, and Takeda, in order to allow this system to work for a broader range of setups.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Khoshnevisan in view of Luo in further view of Yi in further view of Axmon.
As for claim 15, the limitations of the parent claim 14 have been discussed. Takeda discloses a system the SSB configuration indicates a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) are transmitted by the SCell.
(Takeda paragraph [0119] discloses a signal with an SSS and PSS, “For example, the temporary reference signal 455 may be an aperiodic CSI-RS, a periodic or semi-persistent CSI RS (P/SP-CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), a reference signal based on a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) or primary synchronization signal (PSS), or combinations thereof.”)
Neither Khoshnevisan nor Takeda appear to disclose the network unit is not colocated with the SCell.
However, Axmon does disclose a system wherein the network unit is not colocated with the SCell.
(Axmon paragraph [0036] discloses a PCell (managed by a network unit) and SCell not colocated, “However, for this scenario it is assumed that the cells may not be co-located and that the UE will have to cope with a propagation delay difference between PCell and SCell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Axmon, adding the option to have the cells not co-located, to the network manager of Khoshnevisan and Takeda, in order to allow this system to work for a broader range of setups.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant asserts “Applicant submits that the Notice of References Cited serves as an acknowledgement that the Office conducted a full search and examination regarding the application and claims, and that no further search or examination of the claims is required in this application”, (Remarks page 11).
In response to applicant’s statement it is noted that "Following the first Office action, the examiner need not ordinarily make a second search of the prior art, unless necessitated by amendments to the claims by the applicant in a reply to the first Office action, except to check to determine whether any reference which would appear to be substantially more pertinent than the prior art cited in the first Office action has become available subsequent to the initial prior art search". (MPEP 904)
Examiner notes that a second search of prior art has been performed necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646