35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 17, 18, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karjala 2021/0098945.
Regarding claim 17, Karjala (Figure 13) discloses a connector configured to connect cables so as to mitigate alien crosstalk, comprising: a body portion 400; an alien crosstalk mitigation portion 700 configured to provide a shield to the cables from alien crosstalk; wherein the alien crosstalk mitigation portion comprises a first shield connection portion 708 structurally configured to electrically connect to a first cable shield portion 1216 of the first cable (at 504) and a second shield connection portion 712 structurally configured to electrically connect to a second cable shield portion 1216 of the second cable (at 508); wherein the alien crosstalk mitigation portion is structurally configured to electrically connect with the first and second cable shield portions; and wherein the alien crosstalk mitigation portion is structurally configured to electrically connect with the first and second cable shield portions so as to mitigate alien crosstalk by 3 dB or more to the conductors of the cables from a cabling system.
Regarding claim 18, Karjala discloses the alien crosstalk mitigation portion 700 is structurally configured to fit within an opening portion in the body portion 400,808 and to be attached to the body portion.
Regarding claim 22, Karjala discloses the alien crosstalk mitigation portion 700 comprises a conductive material configured to provide the mitigation in alien crosstalk.
Regarding claim 23, Karjala discloses the body portion 400,808 comprises a non-conductive material configured to protect the alien crosstalk mitigation portion 700 from electrical contact.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjala.
Regarding claim 19, it would have been an obvious matter of design to form the body portion 400 of Karjala of a plastic material, for its good insulative properties.
Regarding claim 20, Karjala (Figures 12 and 13) discloses the body portion 400 further comprises a first connection portion structurally configured to electrically connect a first conductor of the first cable 504 to a first conductor of the second cable 508 and a second connection portion structurally configured to connect a second conductor of the first cable to a second conductor of the second cable.
Regarding claim 21, Karjala discloses the body portion 400 further comprises an urging portion (screws) structurally configured to urge the first and second conductors of the respective first and second cables 504,508 into electrical contact with the first and second connection portions.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the first body portion comprises a cover portion that is structurally configured to be selectively removed from the second body portion to expose the second body portion for connection of the cables to the second body portion; wherein the second body portion comprises a receiving portion configured to receive conductors of a first cable and conductors of a second cable; wherein the alien crosstalk mitigation portion comprises a first shield portion and a second shield portion; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834