DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the last two lines of the claim recite ‘ . . wherein more than 50% of the total mass is positioned outside the third set of planes more than 25% of the total mass is positioned outside the fourth set of planes.’ This language is considered unclear. Does the applicant intend for the language to read -- wherein more than 50% of the total mass is positioned outside the third set of planes and more than 25% of the total mass is positioned outside the fourth set of planes--? For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as noted above.
Regarding claims 11-20, claims are considered indefinite as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finney (USPN 4898387).
Regarding claim 1, Finney discloses a putter having a strikeface, rear opposite the strikeface, heel, toe opposite the heel, top rail, sole, hosel, and perimeter weighting. The perimeter weight includes a heel weight positioned heelward of the geometric center and a toe weight positioned toeward of the geometric center (See Fires 1 and 11). Finney also discloses the club head having a moment of inertia about a polar axis, equivalent to the vertical y-axis of the applicant, of about 8300 g-cm2, which is equivalent to about 1287 g-in2 (See Abstract). Finney also disclose the length of the putter being 5 inches (See Abstract and Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finney (USPN 4898387).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant does not disclose why the weight being cylindrical is critical in order to attain the invention. Finney discloses the heel weight being square in Figure 11 and well as showing the weight being asymmetrical in Figure 1 and while having a length of 5 inches. Considering that the applicant does not assert that the shape provides any unexpected result, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the shape of the weight to be an obvious choice of the design and would not differentiate from the results shown by Finney.
Regarding claim 8, See the above regarding claim 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-5, 7, and 10-20 of copending Application No. 18167043 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application claims the length of the putter being a ranged value and claim 1 of Application 18/167043 claims the length being a fixed value. Though Application 18/167043 claims a fixed value, the value falls within the range value of the instant application. In light of the above, claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of Application 18/167043. In addition, the difference between claim 10 of the instant application and claim 10 of Application 18/167043 is the range of the total mass outside of the third set of planes and fourth set of planes. Though the range is smaller in Application 18/167043, the range is encompassed within the range of the instant application. In light of the above, claim 10 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 10 of Application 18/167043.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711