DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13, and 18 have been amended. No claims have been added or canceled. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn in view of amendment. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection has been withdrawn in view of the improper prior art, and the rejection is non-final as a result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant contends Sadeghian merely discloses a number of legs that attach to a surface, which is not the same as the instant application, which forms a combination body with the robot, but does not elaborate further on why these limitations are exclusive and the attachment disclosed in Sadeghian does not also constitute a combination body. Examiner finds that the reference discloses the limitations as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadeghian et al. (US20240018942, referred to as Sadeghian).
Regarding claim 1: Sadeghian discloses: An arm-like robot comprising: a body having two ends, wherein the body comprises a plurality of actuated joints; a plurality of end-effectors, comprising an end-effector attached at each end of the body, wherein each of the plurality of end-effectors is independently configured for: anchoring the arm-like robot and forming a load-bearing base; and connecting to particular objects; and one or more controllers, wherein the one or more controllers are: configured to control at least one selected from the group consisting of motion of the body and motion of the plurality of end-effectors; anchor the arm-like robot nd form the load-bearing base, in part using the plurality of actuated joints, ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.) cause, in part using the plurality of actuated joints, a second end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors to latch to a target object; and enable a plurality of other arm-like robots to detachably latch onto the target object with respective end-effectors, creating a combination body. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 4: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 1,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the one or more controllers further comprise a communication component, wherein the one or more controllers are: capable of sending and receiving messages via the communication component; and configured to coordinate the motion of the body with motion of other robots based at least upon messages received via the communication component. ([0105] ROS is an open-source meta-operating software which is created based on a collection of tools, libraries, and conventions that aim to simplify the process of creating complex and robust robot behavior across a wide variety of robotic platforms. ROS provides common interface that allow users to code sharing and reuse. The proposed features of ROS help robotic researchers and developers to concentrate on new innovation instead of spending time to writing the standard programming libraries again. [0106]
Moreover, it provides an abstraction layer to hardware resources and reveal the data obtained from the hardware parts as a labeled data stream which is named Topic. [0107] ROS uses a peer-to-peer networking topology. The systems that are ROS based include a number of processes called nodes which are communicate with each other by sending messages. The ROSs' messages are simple data structures consist of typed fields. The communication between nodes will be done through ROS Master. The ROS Master main duties is to naming and registration services to rest of the nodes in ROS based system. In a ROS distributed network the master device will be considered as the ROS-core executer.)
Regarding claim 5: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 4,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the communication component coordinates the motion of the body with the motion of the other robots using a wireless connection. ([0042] As noted, one or more cameras for wirelessly transmitting visual images of performance of the repair system to a remote user may be provided. This can provide real-time visual feedback of the performance of the repair system. [0043] A user interface may be provided for providing remote control and/or commands to the repair arm by a remote user. This may enable real-time remote imitation of manipulation patterns demonstrated by the user, step-by-step monitoring of the repair process, detecting potential collision between the arm's end-effector and the blade surface, and overriding the autonomous commands, if required, remotely. This may be enacted using the internet or other wireless protocol for communicating between the user interface and the repair arm. The user interface allows for transfer of the remote user's tacit knowledge of the robotic repair process. [0044] A remote motion imitator for imitating movement of the repair arm through space may also be provided. Said remote motion imitator may replicate the commands and/or remote control provided by the remote user to the user interface in a visual manner to the remote user by visually simulating the commanded movement of the repair arm to the user on the remote imitator. Accordingly, the remote motion imitation may comprise an imitation repair arm that may be a multi segment arm.)
Regarding claim 6: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 4,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the one or more controllers are configured to use the communication component to: cause the second end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors to latch to the target object; and enable three additional robots to latch to the target object with a certain end-effector, creating a combination body. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 7: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 6,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to use the communication component to: synchronize movement of each part of the combination body; and cause the combination body to adopt a quadrupedal motion pose in which the first end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors and a second certain end-effector of each of the three additional robots are used to move the combination body in the quadrupedal motion pose. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 8: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 6,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the one or more controllers is configured to use the communication component to: cause the second end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors and the certain end-effector of each of the three additional robots to desynchronize from the combination body and detach from the target object once the combination body reaches a destination, wherein the destination is determined by messages received via the communication component. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used. [0105] ROS is an open-source meta-operating software which is created based on a collection of tools, libraries, and conventions that aim to simplify the process of creating complex and robust robot behavior across a wide variety of robotic platforms. ROS provides common interface that allow users to code sharing and reuse. The proposed features of ROS help robotic researchers and developers to concentrate on new innovation instead of spending time to writing the standard programming libraries again. [0106] Moreover, it provides an abstraction layer to hardware resources and reveal the data obtained from the hardware parts as a labeled data stream which is named Topic. [0107] ROS uses a peer-to-peer networking topology. The systems that are ROS based include a number of processes called nodes which are communicate with each other by sending messages. The ROSs' messages are simple data structures consist of typed fields. The communication between nodes will be done through ROS Master. The ROS Master main duties is to naming and registration services to rest of the nodes in ROS based system. In a ROS distributed network the master device will be considered as the ROS-core executer.)
Regarding claim 9: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 4,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein each end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors comprises: a latching mechanism comprising a plurality of sloped blades; and a locking mechanism that can be extended from the latching mechanism. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 10: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 9,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the one or more controllers: cause the first end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors to anchor the arm-like robot by sliding the plurality of sloped blades of the first end-effector into an anchor point; and cause the second end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors to latch to the target object by sliding the plurality of sloped blades of the second end-effector into a latching pattern. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 11: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 10,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein: the anchor point comprises a first plurality of slots on at least one of a floor, a ceiling, or a wall; and the latching pattern comprises a second plurality of slots on the target object. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 12: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 11,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein: the anchor point is located in a delivery vehicle; and the target object is an exterior of a delivery package. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 13: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 12,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein: the exterior of the delivery package is made out of at least one of cardboard, plastic, or Styrofoam; and the second plurality of slots comprises a series of cutouts made in the delivery package.
Regarding claim 14: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 9,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein each end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors further comprises at least one spacer configured to constrain the plurality of sloped blades to linear movements as the latching mechanism rotates. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 15: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 9,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein each end-effector of the plurality of end-effectors further comprises at least one sensor wherein the one or more controllers use the at least one sensor to determine whether the locking mechanism is ready to be extended. ([0045] The movement of the repair arm through space may be determined using the cameras and/or one or more sensors. Sensors may include proximity sensors to provide collision feedback. The collision detection sensor may include a collision detection sensor for detecting deleterious contact between the repair arm and the blade. The collision detection sensor may be an encoder on a motor of the system that detects overload in the motor.)
Regarding claim 16: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 15,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein a sensor of the at least one sensor is selected from the group consisting of a video camera, a light sensor, a depth sensor, and a proximity sensor. ([0045] The movement of the repair arm through space may be determined using the cameras and/or one or more sensors. Sensors may include proximity sensors to provide collision feedback. The collision detection sensor may include a collision detection sensor for detecting deleterious contact between the repair arm and the blade. The collision detection sensor may be an encoder on a motor of the system that detects overload in the motor.)
Regarding claim 17: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 9,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the plurality of sloped blades are attached to rotatable center islands.
([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 18: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 9,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein the locking mechanism comprises at least one of a deployable lock, a passive spring-loaded lock, a magnetic lock, and a pneumatically actuated lock. ([0096] FIG. 14 illustrates schematically details of the control system for the motion imitator and user interface. The user interface system, communicating with the arm through Wi-Fi 84, is comprised of a multi-segment motion imitation tool, a Touch Screen Display for monitoring and visualisation of the repair operations 80, and five self-locking latching buttons 83, which enable sending predefined commands to the arm, under a control system 79)
Regarding claim 19: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 1,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein: the body comprises one or more elbows; and the plurality of actuated joints comprises two actuated joints toward each end of the body and two actuated joints near the one or more elbows. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Regarding claim 20: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 19,
Sadeghian further discloses: wherein: each actuated joint of the plurality of actuated joints is moved using at least one of a base motor or an elbow motor; and each end of the body is attached to a wrist motor capable of rotating an orientation of the end. ([0008] a base translation system, said system comprising a multistage platform; a repair module, said module coupled to the translation system to move the module relative to the base translation system; an end effector selector system coupled to the repair module, said selector system comprising end effector repair tools, each tool configured to undertake a repair task on the surface; and deployable legs, said legs coupled to the base translation system and configured to engage and disengage from the surface to allow the system to walk along the surface. [0015] the deployable legs may be hingedly attached to the attachment means. The deployable legs may comprise motorised hinged connections to allow the legs to extend and retract. This can allow the robot to form a compact arrangement for transport and the like, or if inclement weather (such as high wind) is encountered during use on the surface such as a wind turbine blade. Additionally, this allows the system to be transformed between a stationary platform to a mobile platform. [0016] The legs may further allow the multistage platform to be moved both vertically towards and away from the surface and further allow the repair system to be moved across the surface of the blade. [0017] In embodiments the deployable legs may comprise attachment means for releasably engaging the repair system to the surface, such as the wind turbine blade. The attachment means may comprise suction discs. The suction discs may comprise a plurality of suctions cups, said cups provided between an inlet sealing block and a contact surface sealing block. The suction cups may be configured to engage the surface of the pipe, wind turbine blade or the like by compressing the inlet sealing block towards the contact surface sealing block. The inlet sealing block may be made with a material such as silicone rubber. This can provide conformity to the shape of the inlet to provide better sealing. The contact surface sealing block may be made from a soft material, such as a foam material and further such as a EPDM foam material. [0018] The attachment means is broadly a multi-modal anchoring module. Said module may comprise 2 or more mechanisms for attachment of the system to a surface. For example, the module may comprise suction means such as cups of the suction discs, grappling hooks, magnets or micro or nano structure elastomeric surfaces. Said mechanisms for attachment may comprise one or more mechanisms, for example 3 suction cups on each leg and combinations of such mechanisms may be used.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghian et al. (US20240018942, referred to as Sadeghian) in view of Hutcheson (US20150210329, referred to as Hutcheson).
Regarding claim 2: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 1,
Sadeghian does not explicitly disclose the following limitations: [further comprising: a first set of one or more motorized wheels attached to a first end of the body; and a second set of one or more motorized wheels attached to a second end of the body.]
Sadeghian does not disclose the following limitations, however Hutchinson, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: further comprising: a first set of one or more motorized wheels attached to a first end of the body; and a second set of one or more motorized wheels attached to a second end of the body. ([0017] The preferred embodiment (shown in FIG. 1) has four motorized wheels for ground-contacting modules. Two motorized wheels are connected to the rear base and two motorized wheels are connected to the front base. The preferred embodiment includes independent front drive and rear drive mechanisms. The front and rear drive mechanisms may be operated in one of several modes including: (1) a combined drive mode using the front and rear drive mechanisms in combination when operating in the low Center of Mass con figuration, (2) arear-only drive mode using only the rear drive mechanism when operating in the high Center of Mass con figuration, and (3) a transition mode for transitioning between the combined drive locomotion mode and the rear drive loco motion mode.)
Sadeghian and Hutcheson are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of mobile robotic mounts with arm appendages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the mobile base system described in Sadeghian to enable the motorized wheel system described in Hutcheson.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the same modular method disclosed in Sadeghian with the method applied to robots outside of the realm of vertical climbing suction repair and capable of using wheeled end effector motion as taught in Hutcheson.
Regarding claim 3: Sadeghian discloses: The arm-like robot of claim 2,
Sadeghian does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however further teaches: wherein the one or more controllers are: capable of causing the body to adopt a bipedal motion pose in which each set of motorized wheels makes ground contact in a self-balancing manner; and configured to independently control each motorized wheel, wherein controlling the motion of the body comprises using at least one selected from the group consisting of the first set of one or more motorized wheels and the second set of one or more motorized wheels to move the body in the bipedal motion pose. ([0017] The preferred embodiment (shown in FIG. 1) has four motorized wheels for ground-contacting modules. Two motorized wheels are connected to the rear base and two motorized wheels are connected to the front base. The preferred embodiment includes independent front drive and rear drive mechanisms. The front and rear drive mechanisms may be operated in one of several modes including: (1) a combined drive mode using the front and rear drive mechanisms in combination when operating in the low Center of Mass con figuration, (2) arear-only drive mode using only the rear drive mechanism when operating in the high Center of Mass con figuration, and (3) a transition mode for transitioning between the combined drive locomotion mode and the rear drive loco motion mode.)
As previously stated, Sadeghian and Hutcheson are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of mobile robotic systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the mobile base system described in Sadeghian to enable the motorized wheel system described in Hutcheson.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the same modular method disclosed in Sadeghian with the method applied to robots outside of the realm of vertical climbing suction repair and capable of using wheeled end effector motion as taught in Hutcheson.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A