DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaChappelle (US20220236417) in view of Welch (US5539571).
Regarding Claim 1, LaChappelle teaches an optical system for generating a combined light beam by combining a plurality of light beams, the optical system comprising:
a source laser (450, see FIG. 31);
an optical array chip (PIC 455) comprising a plurality of optical amplifiers (800a, 800b, 800c as shown in SOA 460 from FIG. 39, Claim 14 makes clear that a multi-junction SOA such as the one shown in FIG. 39 can take the form of multiple tapered optical waveguides) configured to receive light (440) from the source laser and output the plurality of light beams (125a, 125b, 125c), wherein an individual optical amplifier of the plurality of optical amplifiers comprises:
a first waveguide section (output port 1, as shown in FIG. 31) extending from a first end to a second end in a longitudinal direction and
a second waveguide section (463, see FIG. 31) extending from the second end to a third end in the longitudinal direction,
wherein the second waveguide section comprises a flared optical gain section that has an output lateral width at the third end larger than an input lateral width at the second end, (tapered optical waveguide 463 as shown in FIG. 31),
a second electrode disposed on the second waveguide section (anode 811 in FIG. 39),
an electronic system (controller 150, [0065] describes how controller 150 adjusts pulse energy or power) configured to adjust a voltage or current (adjusting power of a laser would require a change in voltage or current supplied to change power output, as discussed in [0065]) provided ([0065] describes increasing output power & FIG. 39 shows the use of combiner 920 to combine beams 125a-c emitted by multiple SOAs).
As indicated by the strike out above LaChappelle does not teach all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Welch teaches first and second electrodes where the second electrode is electrically isolated from the first electrode (FIG. 6 of Welch shows an SOA array can be configured with multiple isolated contacts/electrodes, see col 12 lines 1-8, in preamplifier sections 63 and amplifier gain regions 69, see also FIG. 2 showing the isolation regions 45 between pre-amplifier and amplifier sections 41) and also teaches wherein application of voltage or current to the first electrode increases a brightness / output (addition of current into preamplifier 19 increases energy and therefore an output of the laser).
Welch and LaChappelle both describe optical amplifier array configurations. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the teachings of LaChappelle to incorporate discrete electrodes for the preamplifier and flared amplifier sections as taught by Welch. Doing so would be obvious since Welch teaches at Col 6 lines 56-61 that the current density in the preamplifier (i.e. first contact) may require separate adjustment from that of the flared amplifier to avoid spatial hole burning in the flared amplifier.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, wherein the second waveguide section comprises a flared optical waveguide having a lateral width that increases along the longitudinal direction (Claim 14 of LaChapelle specifies that the multi-junction SOA includes one or more tapered optical waveguides with a width of the output end being bigger than a width of the input end).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, wherein the second electrode is a patterned flared electrode configured to generate an injection current distribution across the second waveguide section to selectively amplify a fundamental lateral mode of the second waveguide section (FIG. 7 of Welch illustrates the use of a patterned flared electrode made up of contacts 79 and how the individually addressable contacts allow for the electrodes to obtain a selected output profile, determined to be equivalent to amplifying a fundamental lateral mode of the waveguide section by e.g. applying a lower current density at the amplifier’s input end or alternatively by applying a higher current density at the inputs side than at the output side, see column 12 lines 22-39. Examiner notes that [0082] of the instant specification as published also describes how the flared patterned electrode 125 may comprise electrically insolated electrode segments).
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to incorporate the patterned flared electrode pattern described in FIG. 7 to the each of the SOA branches in the configuration shown in FIG. 6 of Welch as doing so would allow for tailoring the output profile of each of the SOAs.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch as applied to the optical system of claim 6 teaches wherein the second electrode extends in the longitudinal direction from a narrow end to a wide end, and a lateral width of the second electrode increases and decreases multiple times with position along the longitudinal direction, and wherein the narrow end is closer to the second end of the second waveguide section and has lateral width smaller than that of the wide end (FIG. 7 of Welch illustrates one example of how a distributed electrode made up of contacts 79 can be arranged within flaring waveguide region 77 so that a distance between the edges of the electrode and the boundary of the flaring waveguide varies or undulates, however Col 7 lines 39-42 of Welch make clear that contacts 79 can be arranged in any pattern that matches a profile of the propagating beam. For example, FIGS. 12A, 12B and 35g of Welch show case where discrete contacts separated by resistive regions or lenses resulting in increase and decrease in width of the contacts multiple times along its longitudinal length & Col 9 lines 36-39 shows how the shape of the contact elements are also shaped to match the light propagating through the flared amplifier region).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch as applied to the optical system of claim 6 teaches, wherein the lateral width of the second electrode varies periodically in the longitudinal direction with a width variation period (as described in the rejection of claim 7, FIGS. 12A and 12B teach periodic width variations due to the separation of electrode elements by regularly spaced resistive regions or lens elements).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, further comprising an optical distributor configured to receive light from the source laser and couple the received light to the plurality of optical amplifiers (FIG 39 of LaChapelle teaches the use of optical coupler 860 to receive seed light from laser diode 450 and couple the received light 440a-c to the SOAs 800a-c).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 12, wherein the optical distributor comprises a network of waveguides monolithically fabricated on a substrate ([0276] describes how optical coupler 860 can take the form of a PIC-based splitter configuration).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, further comprising a collimator configured to collimate the light received from the plurality of optical amplifiers ([0281] describes how lens 490 operates as a collimator to combine beams 125a-c output by SOAs 800a-c).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, further comprising a beam combiner configured to combine the plurality of light beams from the plurality of optical amplifiers ([0281] describes & FIG. 39 shows a combiner 920 for combining output-beam portions 125a-c).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light beams output from the plurality of optical amplifiers are phase-locked ([0212] of LaChappelle describes adjusting the input current to SOA 460 to change the phase of the light & [0283] of LaChapelle teaches that the SOA current should be supplied synchronously so that the pulses propagating through the SOAs arrive together and are combined into a single pulse, requiring the claimed phase locking).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 16, wherein the combined light beam comprises a coherent combination of the plurality of light beams ([0281] of LaChapelle in conjunction with FIG. 39 describes how combiner 920 and lens 490 combine beams 125a-c into a single collimated beam).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, wherein optical power of one of light beam of the plurality of light beams is from 0.1 Watts to 100 Watts ([0046] of LaChapelle describes average power outputs between 1mW and 10W, which would result in an average power output of at most 3W per light beam for a 10W configuration with the system shown in FIG. 39 with three beams).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of optical amplifiers comprises N optical amplifiers and a radiance of the combined light beam is greater than a radiance of a light beam of the plurality of light beams by at least a factor of N ([0283] of LaChapelle teaches that the SOA current should be supplied synchronously so that the pulses propagating through the SOAs arrive together and are combined into a single pulse, doing so would provide coherent mixing yielding a total radiance of greater than N x the number of output beams).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of LaChappelle and Welch as applied to claim 1 in view of Steinberg (US20200249324).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, further comprising a photodetector configured to receive at least a portion of an individual light beam of the plurality of light beams and generate at least one detector signal indicative of optical power or radiance of the individual light beam or the combined light beam (FIG. 31 of LaChapelle describes how light generated by SOA 460 and reflected off a target is received at a plurality of photodetectors 340a and 340b, which are configured to generate a signal indicative of the received optical power of output beam 125), wherein the electronic system adjusts the voltage or the current provided to the first electrode (Welch as indicated in the rejection of claim 1 describes how increasing voltage to the first electrode increases laser output)
The combination of LaChapelle and Welch are silent as to adjustment of a laser output based on at least one detector signal.
However, Steinberg at [0373] teaches that a laser output should be increased when the object-existence-certainty level as determined by at least one light sensor is below a threshold, the amount of light projected should be increased.
Steinberg and the combination of LaChapelle and Welch are both directed to LIDAR sensors relying upon light detection to identify light through the use of reflected laser light. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to implement the process taught by Steinberg at [0373] of causing more light to be projected by increasing an amount of voltage or current injected into the first electrode of the system taught by the combination of LaChapelle and Welch using a multi-pixel detector array (806 or 1316) as shown in FIGS. 8C and 13B of Steinberg.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of LaChapelle, Welch and Steinberg teaches the optical system of claim 2, wherein the photodetector comprises a plurality of detector elements configured generate at least two detector signals indicative of optical power or optical intensity combined light beam at two different spatial locations, wherein the electronic system adjusts the voltage or the current provided to the first electrode based at least in part on the at least two detector signals (FIG. 13B of Steinberg shows how reflected energy can be detected by multiple detector elements on sensor 1316).
Claims 4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of LaChappelle and Welch as applied to claim 1 in view of LaChapelle2 (US20220043202).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, wherein the electronic system adjusts a voltage or current provided ([0212] of LaChappelle describes adjusting the input current to SOA 460 to change the phase of the light & [0283] of LaChapelle teaches that the SOA current should be supplied synchronously so that the pulses propagating through the SOAs arrive together and are combined into a single pulse, requiring the phase adjustment discussed in [0212] of LaChapelle for them to arrive together & this would be done on the individualized SOA branch configurations described in FIG. 6 of Welch, articulated in the combination of LaChapelle and Welch in the rejection of Claim 1).
While the combination of LaChapelle and Welch fails to specifically call out which electrode would be used to adjust a phase of light entering the tapered portion of the SOA, LaChapelle2 in FIG. 34, which is almost identical to FIG. 31 from LaChapelle, shows how a phase modulator could be applied through electrode 496, which corresponds to the location of the first electrode in the combination of LaChapelle and Welch.
LaChapelle2 and the combination of LaChapelle and Welch are both directed to LIDAR configurations. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing seeing the similarity between FIGS. 34 of LaChapelle2 and FIG. 31 of LaChapelle would find it obvious to modify the combination of LaChapelle and Welch to apply phase modulation current to the first electrode in order to run the phase modulator. Doing so would be obvious since LaChapelle only teaches the application of phase modulation via a single electrode configuration of a multi-junction SOA and is silent as to the split electrode configurations taught by Welch and as taught by Welch allows the amplification of the tapered section to be decoupled from the current applied to the preamplification section.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1 and the combination of LaChapelle, Welch and LaChapelle2 as applied to claim 4 teaches wherein the first electrode controls a phase of light transmitted via the first waveguide section (see FIG. 34 of LaChapelle2 and the description of how the phase modulator 495 of LaChapelle2 would be fabricated by depositing electrode 496 in the waveguide section entering the flared section of SOA 460 as described in [0261] of LaChapelle2 and could therefore be applied to the preamplifier portion of the split electrode configurations taught by Welch in the rejection of claim 8 above).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1 and the combination of LaChapelle, Welch and LaChapelle2 as applied to claim 4 teaches wherein the first electrode controls a phase of light transmitted through the first waveguide section via a thermo-optical effect or an electro-optical ([0263] of LaChapelle2 characterizes phase modulator 495 as an electro-optical modulator).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of LaChappelle and Welch in view of Lang (US5936991).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 8, but fails to disclose the use of a single conductive layer for a the specifically claimed electrode.
However, FIG. 4 of Lang teaches the use of a soft-edged flared gain stripe 482 for an optical amplifier with a width that varies laterally with its longitudinal length.
Lang and the combination of LaChapelle and Welch both teach tapered geometry SOAs. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have looked to the teachings of Lang, which describes the use of a soft-edged flared gain stripe with undulating edges that increase and decrease the size of the electrode to improve the profile of the near-field laser profile as demonstrated in FIG. 3 of Lang. On doing so the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have realized the benefit of varying the injection density along the edges of the waveguide as taught by Lang and incorporated this change into a single layer electrode/stripe in the system taught by the combination of LaChapelle and Welch.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of LaChappelle and Welch in view of Muller (Muller et al, “The scaling potential of beam-splitter-based coherent beam combination”).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of LaChapelle and Welch teaches the optical system of claim 1, but is silent as to what a resulting beam propagation parameter would be.
However, Muller teaches that state of the art beam propagation techniques can attain be practiced while wherein a beam propagation parameter of the combined light beam is smaller than 1.2 times a beam propagation parameter a light beam of the plurality of light beams (page 10 of Muller states that state of the art beam combiners can operate with only a 10% loss in efficiency, therefore achieving a beam propagation parameter of smaller than 1.1 times a beam propagation parameter).
Muller and the combination of LaChapelle and Welch are both directed to combination of laser beams. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to use a high efficiency beam combiner yielding a reasonable beam propagation parameter change of less than 1.2 times a beam propagation parameter as doing so in a LIDAR environment would help achieve longer distance object detection.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645