DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 3-13 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20110274251 A1 and US 20050169425 A1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,044,811. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 2017127444 A) in view of D2 (US 20110274251 A1) and D3 (US 20050169425 A1).
With regards to claims 1 and 9-11, D1 discloses a control apparatus for a radiation imaging system configured to capture a radiographic image and having a plurality of radiation detection/receptor fields for performing automatic exposure control (AEC) [0012-0013, 028-0029], wherein information is acquired regarding the radiation detection imaging system, namely orientation information, and selecting one or more receptor fields based on the acquired detector orientation information and the part of the subject to be imaged [0028-0031]. D1 fails to teach a detection unit configured to detect setting a radiation detection apparatus to be used for image capturing, selecting one or more of the plurality of receptor fields based on information of a subject and wherein the information regarding the radiation detection apparatus includes at least any one of a size of the radiation detection apparatus, a distance between two different receptor fields, and a size of the plurality of receptor fields. D2 teaches detection circuitry configured to detect the status of radiation detectors [0017-0020]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 to verify the status of the detectors in order to ensure that the intended detector is used for exposure to avoid imaging with an unintended detector. D3 teaches a radiographic imaging and control apparatus and method comprising acquiring patient information and selecting AEC regions based on information specific to the subject [0055-0058] and further wherein the positions and sizes of AEC regions are set for each sensor [0048-0050, 0073]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 to acquire the sensor specific AEC receptor field size information and to use subject information as taught by D3 in order to permit the system to identify and select the appropriate AEC receptor fields for a particular patient, detector, and imaging procedure.
Claims 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3.
With regards to claim 12 and 13, D1 discloses a control apparatus for a radiation imaging system configured to capture a radiographic image and having a plurality of radiation detection/receptor fields for performing automatic exposure control (AEC) [0012-0013, 028-0029], and a control apparatus configured to communicate with the radiation detection apparatus to perform operation control, wherein information is acquired regarding the radiation detection imaging system, namely orientation information, and selecting one or more receptor fields based on the acquired detector orientation information and the part of the subject to be imaged [0012, 0013, 0028-0031]. D1 fails to teach selecting one or more of the plurality of receptor fields based on information of a subject and wherein the information regarding the radiation detection apparatus includes at least any one of a size of the radiation detection apparatus, a distance between two different receptor fields, and a size of the plurality of receptor fields. D3 teaches a radiographic imaging and control apparatus and method comprising acquiring patient information and selecting AEC regions based on information specific to the subject [0055-0058] and further wherein the positions and sizes of AEC regions are set for each sensor [0048-0050, 0073]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 to acquire the sensor specific AEC receptor field size information and to use subject information as taught by D3 in order to permit the system to identify and select the appropriate AEC receptor fields for a particular patient, detector, and imaging procedure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art teach a determination unit configured to determine an inclusive relationship between a subject area that is determined using the information of the subject and the information of the part of the subject to be imaged, and a receptor field area that is determined using the information regarding the radiation detection apparatus and the information of the part of the subject to be imaged, wherein the selection unit selects the one or more of the plurality of receptor fields based on the inclusive relationship between the subject area and the receptor field area determined by the determination unit.
Conclusion
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884