DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,044,811. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (JP 2017127444 A).
With regards to claims 1 and 9-11, D1 discloses a radiation imaging system comprising:
a detection unit configured to detect setting a radiation detection apparatus to be used for image capturing [0037-0039], the radiation detection apparatus being configured to capture a radiographic image through detection of radiation [0028-0030] and including a plurality of receptor fields for performing automatic exposure control [0043-0045];
an acquisition unit configured to acquire information regarding the radiation detection apparatus to be used for image capturing [0037-0041]; and
a selection unit configured to select one or more of the plurality of receptor fields of the radiation detection apparatus to be used for image capturing [0046-0048] based on the acquired information regarding the radiation detection apparatus [0049-0051] and information of a subject as an image capturing target and information of a part of the subject to be imaged [0032-0035].
With regards to claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the acquired information includes at least any one of a size of the radiation detection apparatuses, a number of the plurality of receptor fields, positions of the plurality of receptor fields, a distance between two different receptor fields, and a size of the plurality of receptor fields [0043-0045].
With regards to claim 3, D1 discloses further comprising a determination unit configured to determine an inclusive relationship between a subject area that is determined using the information of the subject and the information of the part of the subject to be imaged, and a receptor field area that is determined using the information regarding the radiation detection apparatus and the information of the part of the subject to be imaged [0032-0035, 0046-0048], wherein the selection unit selects the one or more of the plurality of receptor fields based on the inclusive relationship between the subject area and the receptor field area determined by the determination unit [0046-0051].
With regards to claim 4, D1 discloses wherein if the determination unit determines that the subject area includes the whole of the receptor field area, the selection unit selects receptor fields set for the part of the subject to be imaged [0032-0035, 0046-0048].
With regards to claims 12 and 13, D1 discloses a radiation imaging system comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire information regarding a radiation detection apparatus to be used for image capturing [0037-0041], the radiation detection apparatus being configured to capture a radiographic image through detection of radiation [0028-0030] and including a plurality of receptor fields for performing automatic exposure control [0043-0045]; and
a selection unit configured to select one or more of the plurality of receptor fields of the radiation detection apparatus to be used for image capturing [0046-0048] based on the acquired information regarding the radiation detection apparatus [0049-0051] and information of a subject as an image capturing target and information of a part of the subject to be imaged [0032-0034].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art teach wherein the determination unit further determines an inclusive relationship between a receptor field area obtained by downsizing the receptor field area to eliminate the part not included and the subject area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884