DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PAN et al. (US 2025/0093924).
Regarding claim 1 PAN discloses:
A power supply, comprising:
a first cover (e.g. 2 FIG.1), having four first assembly holes (e.g. edge holes for covering 121b FIG.2) ;
a circuit board (e.g. 4 FIG.2), locked to the first assembly holes of the first cover (via 121b FIG.2); and
a second cover (e.g. 1 FIG.1), closed with the first cover, wherein the circuit board is located in a space formed by the first cover and the second cover, wherein
the first cover has a top wall (e.g. 21 FIG.1) and a pair of first side walls (e.g. 22 FIG.1), the pair of first side walls are located on opposite sides of the top wall, a normal line direction of the top wall is perpendicular to a normal line direction of the pair of first side walls (e.g. indicated FIG.1), and each of the first side walls is provided with a pair of the first assembly holes (e.g. shown at edges of 22 FIG.2).
Regarding claim 3 PAN discloses:
a bottom edge of the each of the first side walls further has a first folded edge that is folded toward the inside of the first cover (folding shown FIG.2), wherein a normal line direction of the first folded edge is parallel to the normal line direction of the top wall (e.g. inward over lip of 11 FIG.2), and the circuit board rests against the first folded edge and is locked to the first assembly holes (e.g. via 121b FIG.2).
Regarding claim 4 PAN discloses:
a side of the each of the first side walls further has a second folded edge that is folded toward the inside of the first cover (e.g. unlabeled perpendicular wall to 22 shown below 21 FIG.2) , wherein a normal line direction of the second folded edge is perpendicular to the normal line direction of the first folded edge and perpendicular to the normal line direction of the first side walls (e.g. shown FIG.2).
Regarding claim 5 PAN discloses:
each of the second folded edges has a pair of second assembly holes (e.g. at last two shown FIG.2), and the second cover has a plurality of third assembly holes corresponding to the second assembly holes (e.g. shown, un-numbered FIG.2).
Regarding claim 6 PAN discloses:
a fan assembled in the first cover (e.g. 3 FIG.2), the top wall having a plurality of air holes (e.g. 211 FIG.2), and the fan being disposed corresponding to the air holes (e.g. shown FIG.2).
Regarding claim 7 PAN discloses:
the top wall further has a plurality of fourth assembly holes (e.g. edge-most 211 FIG.2), and the fan is locked to the fourth assembly holes correspondingly (e.g. via 121a FIG.2).
Regarding claim 8 PAN discloses:
a connection between the top wall and the pair of first side walls is arc-shaped (e.g. arc to bend from 21 to 22 as shown FIG.2, consistent with bend from 114 to 116 of present application FIG.1).
Regarding claim 9 PAN discloses:
the second cover has a bottom wall (e.g. 11 FIG.2) and a pair of second side walls (e.g. 12 FIG.2), and the pair of second side walls are located on opposite sides of the bottom wall, wherein when the second cover is closed with the first cover (e.g. FIG.1), the bottom wall faces the top wall, and the second side wall overlaps the second folded edge correspondingly (e.g. FIG.1).
Regarding claim 10 PAN discloses:
a connection between the bottom wall and the pair of second side walls is arc-shaped (e.g. arc to bend from 11 to 12 as shown FIG.2, consistent with bend from 114 to 116 of present application FIG.1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-04-15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues with respect to the holes of former claim 2, now incorporated into claim 1. In particular applicant notes that the edge holes of the prior art that applicant points out in their arguments cannot accommodate screws and so cannot read on the claimed “assembly holes”.
As a first matter, the edge holes applicant points out in their rejection are not the elements utilized by the office to disclose assembly holes, although the labeled edge holes applicant points out would also disclose the argued limitation. In particular, as applicant argues, the limitation “assembly” which precedes “holes” is a functional limitation.
“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (MPEP 2114)
Even if the edge holes that applicant points out do not receive screws, the definition of “assembly” would not be limited exclusively to the capacity to receive screws, instead (as applicant has not acted as their own lexicographer) one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would understand the plan meaning (MPEP 2111.01) of “assembly” to mean: “the fitting together of manufactured parts into a complete machine, structure, or unit of a machine” (merriam-webster.com/dictionary/Assembly), and that as the edge holes that applicant points out fit together into the complete machine shown in FIG.1 then the edge holes disclose “assembly holes” as claimed.
It is, however, the square holes at the edges of 22 that read on the claimed assembly holes which, per the plain meaning of “assembly” pointed out above, fit together with e.g. 121 to form the complete structure thus reading on the claimed “assembly holes”. Furthermore because these holes interdigitate with 121 in order to cover and prevent removal of 121b, the square holes at the edges of 22 interdigitate with and thereby are locked (“to make fast, motionless, or inflexible especially by the interlacing or interlocking of parts” merriam-webster.com/dictionary/locked) to 41 via 121b, as was noted in the original office action.
Any/all remaining arguments repeat the arguments already addressed above, or addressed in the body of the rejection and so will not be repeated here.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841